We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was very confortable and the staff really nice. The only two points that I did not like too much are:

1) the breakfast. I stayed there 4 days and the breakfast was a little bit repetitive and no too many options. What it was really disappointing is that I was only able to have coffee one day, the other days, nobody brough me the coffee, even I asked for it two days, the last one I surrendered.

2) The shared computer lacks of pdf reader to print out documents.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My main complaint for this hotel is that it is not possible to open windows so the quality of the air can be quite bad. The reason for this choice is difficult to understand as I have even stayed at the 1st floor, so no suicide risk, if that is a concern for finns. Apart from this the hotel is very clean, good breakfast and beds are comfortable. There is the possibility to use sauna for free in the late afternoon and free internet access is provided.
I visit this hotel and the sister hotel (Sokos Albert) quite often so I have been at least in 6-7 rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitoa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and also thank you for visiting our hotels in Albertinkatu. The hotel has an automatic air-conditioning. Opening the windows will not help to cool the room. The concequence might be opposite. The most efficient way to get the room cool is with this air-conditioning system that a customer can use in the room.

Our maintenance will vacuum air-conditioning valves before the summer that will help the system to cool rooms faster.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sleek hotel in the middle of Punavuori district of Helsinki , 10min walk from the trainstation.

+ Service was polite, happy and fast
+ Breakfast was a normal hotel breakfast, nothing fancy. Radissons breakfast is better by a mile.
+ Room was nice and well insulated from the noise of the street.
- Lots of dust on top of the cabinet
- Regular check-in time at 15:00, so ask for early check-in!

After all a pretty nice hotel, but I was definately expecting more after reading about their "Solo" advertisements how the hotel is unique and so on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00kiksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friendly hotel with a large group of regular visitors thanks to its location close to Helsinki's business district. The hotel offers everything to be expected from a business hotel. The rooms are OK, don't expect extreme luxury, but everything you need is present. Since it is Finland, the insulation is excellent, no worries about street noise.
The breakfast is good, and the city centre is within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I really liked this place and, since I went to two other Sokos hotels first by mistake, I could see that this one was by far the best. It's either recently been refurbished (indeed, a new section of the dining room was opened the day after I arrived) or it's particularly well-looked-after. Rooms (think I was in 405) are all dark wood and soft lighting, fast wifi, good water pressure, and heavy wood doors and brick walls keep things real quiet. Staff were friendly, breakfast was very good with a wide choice for carnivores and vegetarians.

I'm sitting here and wondering why I'm not giving it five out of five.

I didn't pay for a room so can't judge the value for money but for a chain hotel, I was very impressed.

Room Tip: 4th floor at the back of the hotel is exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sokos Hotel chain has had some changes and we are happy that you enjoyded our new Solo Sokos Hotel -brand. Our unique restaurant was opened on 1st March and at the same time breakfast selection and e.g. minibar, bathroom and bed/pillow selection became more variable.

Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri is centrally located but peaceful for sleeping.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
Kati Jousimies
Solo Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This very friendly hotel allowed us an early checkin after an early morning flight from Hong Kong. Comfortable, friendly, and well appointed with an excellent breakfast prior to an early morning flight out again the following day. An excellent base for a short stay in Helsinki and acclimatising to winter weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you Alex for your review. We hope to see you soon again in Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri. Perhaps in summer time?

Greetings from a snowy Helsinki. Still winter but sun is shining.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Solo Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been here a few times and are quite satisfied with the hotel. Rooms are normal Finnish hotel rooms. Nothing fancy. Service has been ok and the breakfast normal. If you want something special then this hotel is not for you.

Best part of this hotel is the location. It's just 0,5 km to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Address: Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing