We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Espoo

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Espoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Espoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otaranta 2, Espoo 02150, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Espoo
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good:
1.The staff of reception and restaurant is very warm and polite.
2. The breakfast is very good.

Neutral:
The hotel is located near the bay. It will be beautiful in summer, but unfortunately I visited there in April.

Bad:
1. The bed is so narrow that I always worried that I would drop from it.
2. The hotel is far from downtown, so it is difficult to find a proper restaurant or market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback!
For the future you can also reserve a Superior class room with Queen size bed (160cm) or Junior Suite (180cm). We do also have daily offers to higher room classes upon check in - just ask if you are interested in!
More restaurants and markets will be found either in Helsinki (15min by bus or taxi)
or in Tapiola area (5min by bus or taxi) or in Leppävaara (10min by bus or taxi).
We are happy to assist you whenever needed!

Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    102
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
37
10
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Relatively new hotel, with modern rooms. Nice Italian style restaurant, you will end up eating here as there are no alternatives in the area. The hotel is situated in middle of the campus, nothing of any interest in the area. However if you are on a business trip to the area it's a good alternative if you prefer to stay local and not have a need to explore Helsinki. There's no gym, so you need to bring running shoes if you enjoy exercising.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments. It´s true that we do not have an own gym, but co-operate very closely with Unisport Gym next to us (1 min walk, behind hotel building). Fee is 7e for hotel guests and you can get the ticket from hotel reception. Gym is opean daily. Jogging tracks in the area are excellent! For more information, just ask us in the reception.
We also have free bikes for our gests during summer time!

Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you need to go to Otaniemi then this is the best hotel location wise. All Otaniemi & Keilaranta location within more or less walking distance. Normal Radisson standard but with one good addition, only hotel which I have been into which has Tempur matresses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments, especially regarding the bed! Our "Magic Dreams" -bed has been taylor made for Radisson Blu Hotels in Finland only by famous finnish company called Finlayson. Idea and function in our mattress is similar than in Tempur mattresses.

Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location is mixed: Near pretty lake but in an industrial area, however conveniently close to the conference facilities at Aalto etc. The hotel presents itself as a design hotel but to my opinion the building is sterile and not interesting outside nor inside, lobby and common areas uninspiring.

Check-in was annoying. Favouring rooms with a view I asked for a such. The receptionist explained the hotel was full and gave me a room in the corner with view to the ugly opposite wing and only a glimpse of the lake if leaning out of the window. An hour later I asked the reception (another receptionist) if no other rooms were available. He was surprised that I had been given the corner room: “We usually don’t put guests in that room”. Kindly assisted by the front desk manager (?) I immediately got a room facing the lake. Although the view was blocked by trees outside the window, it was better than the first room view. May I suggest the entire staff is instructed about the check-in policy.

Rooms (one size) feels in the small end in spite of 20 m2. Not much floor space, maybe due to placement of bed. Equipment not very functional. The odd bed table useless and annoying. Guest needs to find a place to store it somewhere in the small room to be able to walk around the bed and to avoid collisions during night. Lamp above table is placed so you hit it with your head when rising from the chair. No desk in room, which is strange as guests are mainly business travellers. Bathroom very small but modern and quite functional.

Hotel restaurant serves tasty food, selection OK, quick and attentive service. Breakfast is the wellknown high Radisson standard. Front desk service efficient with one exception. Free and efficient wifi. Did not try pool/wellness area.

Room Tip: Ask for a (real) lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback!
I apologize for the inconvenience with your room, but I´m happy to hear the problem was solved on the spot. I´ll make sure each one of our front office staff knows how the rooms are located.
Hopefully we will see you soon again!
Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

On a business trip in Espoo, I stayed for a couple of nights in the hotel. If you have work in Espoo, this is a great location, otherwise, you should probably stay somewhere in downtown Helsinki.

The rooms are quite nice, I stayed on the third floor with a nice view of the lake/sea(?). The room is very clean and well furnished, all the usual things one expects from a hotel like this are available.

I found the hotel staff to be very helpful, and the hotel has a nice Italian restaurant where I had dinner one day (separate review). The breakfast buffet in the morning was fantastic (even for a vegetarian like me!)

The hotel being located very close to the Aalto university, it is a nice location for a walk or a jog after a day's work.

Room Tip: Rooms with the waterfront view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback!
It´s true that most of the biggest and well know finnish companies are with in 10-15 min walking distance from the hotel: e.g Dipoli congress centre, Aalto Univeristy, Nokia headquaters, Kone, Fortum, Neste, IBM, Huhtamaki, Rovio etc...
Free shuttle bus service to Keilaranta and Karaportti business areas leaves the hotel Tue-Fri 8.05 a.m.
Have a nice spring and see you soon!
Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nicely located, but not a tourist hotel. Perfect for business in Espoo and a short trip to the town.

Evening menu was very limited but portions were pretty good, especially the pizza. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. There is nothing to do around the hotel so you're pretty much stuck there.

The rooms were warm, fairly large and it has a very quiet feel. Worth a look.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the courtyard. 1st or second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments!
Yes, our pizzas are delicious! We have an ultimate oven for them, which makes them taste like a rock oven baked pizza.
For free time there´s perhaps nothing to see, but plenty of options for sports activities: excellent jogging and nordic walk routes, Unisport Gym and Massage in the neigbour building (1min walk from the hotel), sauna and swimming pool free of charge. During summer time you can borrow a bike - free of charge as well!
Have a nice spring and see you soon.
Kind regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location by a lake and in the "middle of nowhere". Perfect if you're doing business in the Espoo area, but not to be recommended if you are there on vacation and want to explore Helsinki. The hotel and rooms are clean and comfy. Missed a bathrobe in my room, but else from that a good place when on business. Didn't try the sauna, pool or restaurant, but breakfast is pretty good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view towards the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niina H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Espoo, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback!
For the future: we will bring you the bathrope free of charge when ever needed!
Bathrope is ready in Suites and Superior -class rooms, standard rooms by request.

Bus to Helsinki will take aprox. 15min (9km). Perhaps it´s not in a walking distance but easily reachable anyway.

Kind Regards,
Niina Hakkola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Espoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Espoo

Also Known As:
Radisson Espoo
Radisson Blu Hotel Espoo
Espoo Radisson
Address: Otaranta 2, Espoo 02150, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Espoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Espoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Espoo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Espoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Espoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.