We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine with room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Break Sokos Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holstinsalmentie 29 | Nallikari, Oulu 90500, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Oulu
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Genuine with room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reception was warm, excellent, was very well informed about hotel facilities at arrival. Superior room with balcony towards the sea was what we expected, spacious and clean, although the bathroom could do with a face lift. Facilities were good. The spa was relaxing and enjoyable, although the pool was a bit on the small side. The treatments, massage etc., were fully satisfactory - again, could prolong the opening hours and include Sunday. The restaurant served good salads for light dinners, but the breakfast arrangement left a lot to be desired: not enough personnel to keep the place tidy and fully functional, coffee from a machine is not up to par.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony and view to the sea is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward seeing you again!

With kind regards,

Jaana Järvinen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel requires renovation very soon. Room was big enough to take our family in 4 pers. Beds very comfortable and clean room. Spa restaurants offered a lot of choices, they have very good burgers! Try it. Free parking behind the hotel. 4km away of Oulu center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at Sokos Hotel Eden. I appreciate the feedback about your stay.

Our Scandinavian rooms have been renovated in 2009. Generally hotel rooms are in a heavy daily use and so updating and refurbishing them is an ongoing process for us.

But I am pleased to hear that everything went well and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope seeing you again at Sokos Hotel Eden in Oulu

With kindest regards,

Jaana Järvinen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is a basic Finnish hotel with big, clean rooms but must say they are a little bit out of date. I dont know of all the rooms but cheapest ones where I and my family have stayed should be renovated. The rooms are still quiet and ok.

Service has always been very good and nothing to complain about that. In the reception there is a small shop where you can buy souvenirs.

The breakfast is a normal Finnish breakfast, nothing special. The breakfast room is big with nice views.

The spa has also gone a little bit old. There is almost nothing to do to children of age 0-7. Just a little pool but thats all. There is two jacuzzis and a pool which leads outside and that was quite unike. The saunas and showers are ok.

Location to Oulu is poor because you cannot walk from hotel to center. You have to take a taxi or take your car. Location to the sea is of course great.

As a summary I strongly recommend this hotel and spa. This is definitely the best spa in northern Finland but still little oldish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Greetings from Oulu!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I´m happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope seeing you again in the future and we wish you all the best!


With kind regards,

Jaana Järvinen/Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianza
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good rooms large and clean very comfortable.
Inside the Hotel there is a big sminning pool with wave,slides,sauna and jacuzzi ecc.
Unfortunately I was not aware about that and I had not time to try tthat but a I saw all of that from the big windows from the Restaurant.
Mybe the name EDEN come for this big dome where you can find all of that.
For sure next time I'll reserve time to go into that.
About the restaurant, I had only brekfast and it was ok

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel/spa had clean spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Dinner buffee was great, especially the starters. Kids had so much fun at the spa, but there was a lot to do for grown-ups too. Altogether a successful visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish you a Happy New Year and we hope seeing you again at Sokos Hotel Eden in Oulu,

With best regards,

Jaana Järvinen/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very nice for families with children. Play room with toys, microwaves along the corridors for warming up milk even during the night. Nice spa area with a couple of water slides. Decent restaurants, beach is close in case weather is warm enough for swimming in the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

After staying at the Sokos in Vaasa I then stayed here fro 1 night. This hotel is more modern than the Vaasa hotel. the rooms are more contemporary.
Restaurant serves a reasonable varity of French dishes at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Eden

Address: Holstinsalmentie 29 | Nallikari, Oulu 90500, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Eden is a versatile spa hotel in the seaside landscape of Nallikari, Oulu, offering fun and excitement to guests of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.