We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for average price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Oulu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Oulu Hotel to your Saves list
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kajaaninkatu 17, Oulu 90100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Oulu
Salo, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel for average price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, beds were so soft that we didn't sleep much.
Traffic noise didn't bother at all, but the hotel isn't in the center, so that's the reason.
Breakfast was ok. On the second morning they hadn't brougt any new fruits, so the oranges and grapes they run out of yesterday, were still missing.
All in all, an ok place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
15
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed just one night at the hotel. The customer service was friendly at the reception, the room was small and basic, but clean. Free wireless internet was provided by the hotel. The breakfast buffet was good, but there was nothing extra. Had one beer at in the hotel bar, it was comfortable and the atmosphere was nice, the client service friendly there.

Nothing to complaint, average, good value for money for one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was really easy and smooth. I was going there by train, and while travelling I already paid the hotel. I came at 23:30, and got the key cards very fast. Breakfast wasn't very good to be honest, but not bad either. It was just 68€ / night, which is very cheap in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed for one night. Room was pretty basic and simple with a small bathroom. Breakfast was good, quite basic.

OK place for a one night stay but maybe not more than that. Nothing to complain, nothing to praise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We booked a "Superior" room for a weekend, traveling with an 11 year old child, sharing the room with us in an extra bed. When we got to the room there was only a mattress for the kid. We couldn't get another room with an extra bed, but after quite a long discussion with the reception desk, we finally got the mattress changed into an extra bed. This made the room really cramped. Graciously we were not charged extra for this.

The staff was friendly all the time and obviously did what they could, but the hotel reservation desk clearly had given us incorrect information when I booked the room.

The hotel was fully booked for the weekend and the breakfast setup was far too small to cater all guests when hotel is fully booked. It was also interesting that the hotel bar was open only in the evening, so to get an afternoon drink on Saturday, we had to walk downtown.

Sauna and the pool were nice and clean, as the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Check before booking what kind of room you are actually getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Unfortunatetely our room was very cold and there was no possibility to change that.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I have stayed here every summer for the last 4 years due to work.
The rooms are set up in a classicaly efficient Finnish fashion with no frills. Everything always works and is always clean.
Th sauna and pool in the basement are clean and inviting and the (free) breakfast is stellar. The staff is always extremely accommodating and, moreover, tolerant when we come back drunk and noisy from a night out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Oulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Oulu Hotel

Address: Kajaaninkatu 17, Oulu 90100, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Oulu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern downtown hotel with diverse restaurants, near Rotuarri Pedestrian Street, the market square & Tietomaa Science Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cumulus Oulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hotel Oulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Oulu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.