We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our holiday unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruka Ski School

Ruka Ski School
Rukakylantie 17, Kuusamo 93825, Finland
+358-400-101 635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Kuusamo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From Ruka Ski School you can get lessons for alpine skiing, snowboard, telemark, cross country and skiing for disabled persons. There are lessons for groups but also private lessons.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Made our holiday unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I had a beginners group class with Jakob (hope not to confuse the name, sorry if I did). He's really great at what he does. He motivates, he teaches skiing through skiing. We were, I believe 10 students in a group and he had an individual approach to all of us. We never missed his attention. Guys commented he's giving better classes than their Courchevel instructors. We hadn't pre-planned the class, enrolled by chance and it happened to be the best thing we did!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Jarno is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were lucky to have Jarno who runs the ski school as our instructor and he was brilliant despite the -30 temperatures he made sure we kept warm and toook us all over the resort making sure we got the best out of our stay and taught us carving which is exactly what we wanted to be learning next so helped us progress our skiing no end, Thanks Jarno

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Only reason it is a 4 is that there were 12 people in the one group to one instructor but quality of tuition very good

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic instruction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked the beginner course, our instructor Janne was great, he was very patient and gave 1 to 1 help if and when required. He had time for everyone and gave us all individual feedback. Although as with any beginner course some pick it up quicker than others, he never held any of us back or made the 1's that needed more help feel like they were a hinderance. All in I would recommened the ski school, all the instructors we spoke with were very friendly and helpful

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruka Ski School also viewed

Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia Region
Lapland, Finland
 
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia Region
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia Region
 

Been to Ruka Ski School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruka Ski School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.