We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great if you have young children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments

Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuusamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments
Save
You added Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments to your Saves list
Hiihtokouluntie 16-18, Kuusamo 93825, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great if you have young children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked these apartments through Thomson/crystal ski and while I agreed with previous reviews regarding the standard of the apartments I think a number of things should be taken into consideration if booking with children. The walk to Ruka while not far is up and extremely steep hill which my 4 year old and 6 year old struggled with. This became a real bone of contention every morning morning and evening when walking to the village with two children who struggled and moaned the whole way.
Also on arrival to the apartments the bus could only park at the top of the hill. This meant that we were left to carry 4 suitcases, 2 pieces of hand luggage and 2 boot bags as well as 2 tired children down the hill to our apartments with little or no help except directions from the rep....not ideal!!!! This was the same on the way home except we had to wait at the top of the hill, outside in the cold until the bus arrived.
Having said all the that don't be put off. These apartments are of a high standard but you should really consider if you would be better located in ruka village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked through crystal and could not have asked for better. The apartments are of a good standard and contain everything and more that you would need for the perfect holiday. The sauna, dishwasher and washing machine were those extra touches that make the apartments such a high standard. I enjoyed the walk to Ruka centre every day through the beautiful snowy landscape. Loved the whole holiday and could not thank the crystal team more for making the holiday unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked our accommodation through Thomson/Crystal Ski and couldn't have been more pleased. We are a family of four and opted for the six person apartment which comprised of two bedrooms, one with two single beds and the other with a bunk bed (bottom bunk being one and a half times the size of a single) and a double good quality sofa bed. All the beds are unmade when you arrive, but there are mattress toppers and crisp clean linen. There is a fully equipped kitchen, along with a coffee filter machine (no toaster but you can use the grill in the oven), fridge freezer and a dishwasher. In the bathroom there is a sauna, two showers, washing machine and toilet (there is another separate toilet next to the bathroom). If you're skiing you will find the drying cabinet a huge bonus. We were situated in apartment H2 which looked out over the bottom of the ski slope (blue run) that takes you up to Ruka village and the connecting chair lift onto the rest of the slopes. The walk from the apartment into Ruka village is not a long one, but it is fairly steep - especially if you're carrying ski gear or you've got little ones. We opted for self catering which was ideal especially when you've got to be at ski school for 10am. We loved it, and plan to return next year - can't wait.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Aurinkorinne 33 apartments are located beyond the central Ruka village – 4 minutes’ walk uphill or about 8 minutes along a curvy road. The location is perfect if you are seeking to get away from car noise, people talking and smoking, smell of food and music going from the bars. That’s exactly what we wanted. Living in the center would have made us very unhappy. NB! Be prepared to rent a locker for alpine skies at 6 euro per day as carrying them daily up and downhill is quite a burden.

The house would not be easy to locate for the first time after dark, so, upon suggestion of hotel’s reception, we took a taxi, paying for this laughable distance 20 euro. To compare, we paid same price for both of us to get from the airport in Kuusamo to Ruka on a chartered bus (25 km).

Dear Hotel Management,
we suggest that considering the intricate location of the apartments and, at the same time, short distance to it, the first transfer from the center of Ruka to the apartment can be complimentary or no more than 10 euros fixed price.

The apartment itself is neat with a well equipped kitchen (almost all we needed except a toaster, and no food stuff as in previous reviews), nice sauna, fireplace, individual parking slot and a storage area. Nice linen, bed-covers and towels. What I would say I did not entirely like were pillows, beds and sofa. To my liking, the pillow was too hard, while the bed not new and a little squeaky and the sofa looked a little older than on the picture. Besides sound isolation could have been a little better (we were lucky to have quiet neighbors, though). There’s no wifi in apartments, but a wired connection NB! Make sure you have a laptop for wired Internet, if you want to stay connected. Wifi Internet in designated areas leaves much to be desired in terms of speed and stability.

You don’t expect much obvious service living in an apartment on a self-catered basis. But you occasionally contact receptionists for one or another reason. Some girls are really helpful and ready to explain, others not too much. One funny occasion we had in the beginning of our stay – we came to reception to ask how to rent a toaster. The place was crowded, so we left and emailed our question (previously responses were reactive). Next day, since response did not follow, we came in person and finally got the toaster for the rest of our stay. Response came just before our holiday was over – they regretted but the only toaster they had, was already in rent by someone. NB! If you would like to rent their toaster it will cost you 10 euro per week and hurry up, they only have one. Otherwise bring your own on you.

The other case – we asked if they can print out our boarding passes, to which we were suggested to turn to tourist information center, pay for the use of their computer and print them ourselves. It was surprising and went against the ordinary hotels practice we had before and we told about that, so without much insisting from our side, the reception girl did kindly print the boarding passes for us.

A few words about Ruka. It was our first experience of skiing vacation and we were full of positive impressions. It was easy to get from and to the Kuusamo airport. Ruka has beautiful nature around, a decent ski school, convenient ski rental, a food store better than we imagined judging by the pictures. And too many Russians. No offense guys, but we got a feeling that we never left Russia.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in a house most far from the big parking area. 8 apartment per 2-storeyed hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in 33 apartment. It was big enough for 2-4 person. All services were so clouse. The skitrack and slopes were just a few meters from the door. Excallent! There are also many restaurants about 200-300m from our resitence. Although all were so close the apartments were silence and there are nice view to the lake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely stay in Ruka. The apartments were very well furnished an equipped including fire-place and sauna. As a couple it Aurinkorinne 33 apartment was the perfect size but if you needed to squeeze a couple more in it would accommodate (but you would need to be comfortable cosing up). It was a bit of a mission to get to Ruka from the UK using normal airlines at the start of the season but once in Kuusamo things were straight forward. The staff were very efficient and attentive and every place we went into help and advice was on hand. If staying in the apartment a 10 minute walk the the lift so worth hiring a ski locker at rental shop. Take warm clothes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Ski lift only 50m from cabin. Close all slopes and ruka villige

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments

Address: Hiihtokouluntie 16-18, Kuusamo 93825, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia Region > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kuusamo
Number of rooms: 90

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski-Inn Aurinkorinne Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.