We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend Kelorinne cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Club Salla

Save Saved
You added Holiday Club Salla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Club Salla
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Revontulentie 2, Salla 98900, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We recommend Kelorinne cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

To stay in a Kelorinne cottage was a good choice. Cottage was cosy, clean and well-equipped. When booking, ask for location next to the slope. So easy to go skiing, both downhill and crosscountry skiing!

The only minus was smoke that came in from our neighbour's fireplace (each cottage includes two apartments). Inconvenient and dangerous also. The reception promised to control this will be checkedso hopefully does not happen to anybody else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Club Salla for a week in April 2013. We were in one of the newer cottages/chalets by the hotel. The accommodation was not huge (we were 6), but it was tidy, well equipped and the space was well organised and worked for us - it even had a small sauna.

The staff at the main reception were friendly and helpful.

Sallatunturi is an ideal resort for families as the slopes are kept in good condition and it doesn't get as busy as some of the other resorts in Lapland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Club for two nights, but kept coming back to the resort for the skiing, the shop and the food. The rooms themselves are clean, spacious, fitted with all the amenities you could wish for, including a heated cupboard which is great both for wet clothes and just to get your clothes toasty before you go out into the cold. we loved the choice at breakfast, and ate here several times, the portions are huge, the food is tasty and the drinks are great. We enjoyed the spa, which is probably better well-described as a pool and sauna (there is nothing else which would indicate a spa-label to me?!), but as it was quite reasonable priced we didn't mind that.
The big bonus of this place is the location, Salla is out in the middle of nowhere, which is great! It's peaceful, beautiful and ideal for Aurora spotters. And this particular resort is well-located between a reindeer park, the village of Salla, the ski-slopes and other places to go from for activities such as Huskies and snowmobiling (all within minutes walk).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Salla Holiday club in February 2013. It is connected to the ski resort in Salla and has a great many activities for everyone to do. You can ski in and out of your cabin as the resort is 3 minutes from the slopes. The cabin was very nice. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin with a kitchen, living room, sauna and bath area and it was much nicer than any hotel room in the area. There is a store near the amin office and there are two markets in Salla so you can easily purchase food and eat in your cabin. There are also two restaurants at the resort if you would prefer to eat out.
It is a great place.

Room Tip: All of the cabins seemed to be the same and were very nice inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent a week in Holiday Club Salla's Sallas apartments and had a wonderful time.

Just a few metres from the main black run of the resort, you can ski in / ski out from these apartments but you need to have a reasonable amount of ability to do so though. It is possible to access the apartments via a blue run but you then have to ski down a narrow-ish track or walk down. The road to the apartment from the holiday club's main reception is a little windy and can be fun in snowy conditions but is fine. The walk is more direct and will take around 10 mins.

If you want somewhere closer, the Kelorinne apartments (also run by the Holiday Club) are just off the main front slope.

If you want to go in to Salla itself (Holiday Club Salla is at the ski resort, Sallatunturi), bear in mind that it is 10km away so if you are using taxis plan your trips wisely in order to minimise the costs or alternatively hire a car.

The apartments themselves are generally good with all that you need - including a decent sauna which is welcome after a day on the slopes. The apartment we were in also had a basic computer system and its own wireless internet access, both of which were free to use.

Down the hill from the apartment is a lake with a kota on one side. Grab some logs supplied at your apartment and head down with some sausages for cooking if you fancy doing something a little more different.

We also had a lovely meal at the Holiday Club's Revontuli Hotel which was very nice - though the choice may be a little limited for some.

We would definitely return to both this resort and these apartments in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2003

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Salla, Lapland- why spend 2 weeks in Lapland in the summer I hear you cry - so did our friends!!Well if you want a holiday that gets away from it all then Lapland is the place to go - at the end of August, the weather is just starting to turn the trees "Ruska" - which makes for beautiful scenery - especially as there are so many trees - and lots of beautiful lakes to fish, canoe and have fires.We caught a flight to Helsinki 2.5hrs and then a connecting flight to Rovaniemi 1 hr - one thing to remember - if you only have a short time between connecting flights then your luggage will arrive on a later flight - this meant we had no luggage until the next morning- although Finnair were fantastic and delivered the cases to our cabin by taxi, approx 150km away, but just remember to pack some kit to freshen up with.We stayed at Holiday Club Salla - which has its reception at the Hotel Revontuli - there are swimming pool, tennis, badminton, squash and gym facilities on site.Salla, approximately 150km from Rovaniemi, is a Ski resort in the winter, as it is one of the most hilly places in Finland (although we are not talking mountains just steep hills), this makes it ideal for walking. The routes are very well marked along all of the walks that we found, along with distance - so that you can choose walks to suit your fitness level. There are also lots of "kotas" (lappish teepees) and fireplaces with ready chopped wood, axes to cut more and cabins that house outside toilet !! (yes really). This means that you can spend all day walking, having packed some provisions in your rucksack and then stop by a lake etc and grill a sausage on a stick and drink blackpot coffee - as is the Lappish way.Everyone asked what we would fill our time with - but we had no problem with this - I mentioned the walking but over the two weeks we also Fished Canoed on the rapids Swam Played Tennis Sauna ( I think this is compulsory!! apparently there is one sauna for every 3 people in Finland) Pony Trekking Canoed on a lake on the Russian border Visited Rovaniemi Visited the Reindeer ParkRELAXED!!(and of course we did call into Santa Village, Rovaniemi - although we had no kids with us ! but we did buy them some pressies- unfortunately though Santa doesn't take visitors personally until 23rd November)There are lots of organised programmes as well if you don't feel comfortable finding a walking route and going off on your own. You will need sturdy walking boots and pack a few layers as the weather can be tempremental. We were lucky and had temperatures of 13/16 in the first week but this did drop to 7 in the latter part of the second week.The Finnish people are extremely friendly, with a dry sense of humour - proboably form spending most of the year in the semi-darkness and snow from October to May with temps dropping to Minus 30/40 degrees.They live in a unspoilt, clean environment and like to promote this to all visitors - you can walk and drive for miles and only meet reindeer.You will need a car, as things are spread out, and make sure that you don't run low on fuel in case the next petrol station is miles away. (Diesel is extremely cheap - worth considering when you hire your car).We found the amenities ie supermarkets very well stocked although a little more expensive than at home and you will need to buy your wine and spirits from the "Alko" - as supermarkets are restricted on what they can sell - but you will fing one of these in every town - but you can buy beer from them. The evenings are fairly quiet as most places cater for more people in the winter - but you can relax in your cabin with a glass of wine and a book by the fire - when you have been walking all day, then this is about as much as you can manage !!We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our holiday and plan to go back for the snow next time - if you enjoy an outdoor activity type of holiday - with not a lot of people around - just enough to be sociable then go to LAPLAND!!Victoria and Sean

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Club Salla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Salla

Address: Revontulentie 2, Salla 98900, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Salla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Salla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Club Salla 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Club Salla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Club Salla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.