We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhannuskalliontie 2, Rovaniemi 96400, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magical Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We planned this 3 night holiday through Thomsons as a surprise for our 8 year old daughter!. The holiday was all we wished for. The hotel itself although a bit dated was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the foodhere. The views from the hotel are beautiful. The hotel was a great place to return to after a day full of activities aswell as temps falling as low as -30 degrees!!!!!!!. Would love to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
24
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vreeswijk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location of the hotel could be the most important thing for choosing this hotel.
Ski-area in the bag yard, walking route across the wood, nice view over the city and good also be very important; free view to the sky searching for the aurora borealis!
Breakfast is good (when I good have my yoghurt and muesli)).
Restaurant is chic, try’s to make beautiful dishes from te simple named menu and with overall good resultsyoghurt).
Just be informed when they have bigger groups… because they have obviously priority above there own guests.

The lobby is very simple and shoot have a warm attractive refressing! ust as the rooms.
In my opinion a hotel directed to active families, groups.

Room Tip: Good not found any difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent last Christmas in this hotel as part of a Thompson’s package holidays. There were no reviews of this hotel on Thompson’s website so we were a bit hesitant. We later discovered that the name of the hotel was in fact Sky Ounasvaara and no Forest Heights as advertised. Little technicalities aside, I feel we made the right choice. The hotel is on top of a hill from where you can see Ronvaniemi. The best views are from the Restaurant. This was also the best feature of the hotel. Not only because the food was very good but also because it was so peaceful. After a day adventuring out, going back for dinner was very relaxing. Music plays in the background and candles are light on each table. The city is quite close and there are taxis available from the main door. We were too busy with our schedule of activities that could not explore the City. If you do the Christmas package as we did, you are picked up and drop off each time you go out. So although the hotel is further away than others from Rovaniemi, it did not matter and we had the benefit of the forest around us. This is a ski resort hotel. So you can rent equipment and even book lessons. Again no time for this . The rooms are of a good size and so is the bathroom with a bonus of your own sauna! The beds weren’t very good if I have to point at a negative but all in all a nice room. You get your kettle and coffee and tea but no milk. The restaurant gave us you a glass of milk daily to take to our room. We did this after dinner to have a cuppa at night and another in the morning and all with a smile.
Internet cost only 5 Euros for the 5 days per room for as many devices as you wanted (we had 4!) They are informative and attentive at reception. Special mention for the night shift at reception and bar – Peter- really nice who told us lots of interesting things about Finland and Finish people.
I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are not such a recent travellers, but eventhough we have seen allready enough hotels of different star rates to say that Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara is the worst one we ever stayed in.
The reason we have chosen this hotel for our trip was good experience 5 years ago with the same hotel chain (Sirkantahti, Levi). This time it was a complete disaster. We stayed in junior suite and the price was including the following: very cold room (even after the heating system in living room was fixed by reception lady with the hammer), complete absence of mini-bar and safe in suite, non-stopping cold air blow from the tidely closed windows, absence of room service (service included only bed-making and cleaning the dust bin so you should bring with you your vacuum cleaner and daily consumables such as cofee, sugar and cups in order to have some hot drinks in room), the beds are only single so be prepared to fall between the beds during the night while trying to heat-up with your husband/wife, not to mention the need of renovation awaiting for years. In addition the room price includes additional payment for internet access (although 5 euros per stay but nevertheless), additional payment for electric socket for car heating, nothing-to-do hotel facilities, expensive food and not always fresh (especially bread served) and so on and so on...
So for the conclusion I wish to state that we will never stay in this hotel again and will recommend it only to our enemies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location, food choice limited to 2 mains on the buffet but what is there is excellent.

Staff superb, main hotel rooms a little dated but clean and warm.

Views are stunning and just 4 km from centre being a EUR 15 taxi ride.

Would recommend for families good kids food.

Bonus is in room sauna.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent Christmas 2013 here in Lapland at, as Thompson calls it "Forest Heights" hotel. 2 ad, 1 2yr old. I have no complaints on ANYTHING. We booked a double room with a tub and sauna. The sauna is electric so more of a dry feeling than a normal sauna but still did the job. There is a lapland safaris kiosk at the front desk to book activities once you arrive and they'll pick you up right at the hotel. There is an area where you can go on the roof and look over the city and river, just stunning when covered in snow. We had a pretty warm vacation, hovered right around 0 but it was just right with the little guy. There are NOT ski rentals available from the hotel even through we are situated right next to the slopes. The restaurant was amazing. Friendly staff, buffet style food, drinks normally extra but not too expensive. Keeping in mind Finland has a bit higher price tag on everything and a cup of apple juice will run you 3.50Euro. We took a taxi to city center for 15 Euro and stocked up on drinks at a supermarket and purchased souvenirs at the pop up shops, they ended up being cheaper than Santa Clause village or Santa Park with a bigger selection. We plan to come next year and will probably book through Thompson again. Just fantastic all around. Next year will bring our own sled"ge" and skies. If you're looking for a hotel with a pool and rentals etc go to Santa Sport. If you're looking for a relaxing intimate get away with a few family friendly perks come here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We traveled to Lapland on Dec 15th,lucky the temp by Lapland standards wasnt very cold only -7ish daily..the week before was -32!
every thing about this holiday was utterly magical.The views from the restaurant and especially the roof were nothing short of breathtaking,looking down over the snow covered trees and ski slope and then onto the frozen river and town below...just like a Christmas card.
The hotel it self was warm,clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly..
The family rooms all have saunas which i used several times!but to be honest you don't go to Lapland just for the hotel.
Our Thomson rep was Ice Ice Adi he was an absolute star,informative, honest ,reliable and enjoyed and good laugh.. he even did a bit of bum boarding(sledding) and built snowmen with the kids.
The only negative note on the whole trip was after a 3 hour flight from Gatwick you are taken to an ice rink were you are given a welcome meeting and then your clothing..a lot of kids were in meltdown mode by this time as it lasts about an hour...as a lot of parents said to the reps it should all be done at your own hotels.....
Back to positives 'our elf' was called Cloudberry and everybody loved her,she was bubbly, happy and always willing to help at at all times,her enthusiasm was totally infectious..we all wanted to bring her home with us!
The tasters sessions were fantastic especially the 2nd day were we did...huskie rides,reindeer rides,ski-doos for both adults and kids and hot berry juice all on a frozen lake.But after doing these taster sessions we didn't feel the need to pay for longer experiences as our needs had been met especially with two young children.
the 3rd day we went to Santa village with official post office and lots of nice photo opportunities.This is the best place for souvenirs also.We then went to Santa park which was packed!and to be honest was a little too commercial for my liking but the kids loved it and that's all that mattered.
That evening is the Gala meal at Forest lodge which was idyllic,the food,surroundings and entertainment are all great but without doubt the highlight is the visit of someone very special being pulled by a reindeer with fireworks going off around us...seeing the kids facing is magical.even a few adults were very emotional...my wife and sister in law were blubbering messes!
The whole holiday was absolutely magical and was a real trip of a lifetime!
If you are thinking of going,save your pennies and do it.its not cheap but worth every penny(we spent very little while we were out there a word of warning if you like a drink alcohol is very expensive).we all have memories and photos that will last forever.

Room Tip: try and get a room at back of hotel were rooms have saunas and views are stunning.The rooms at front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara

Address: Juhannuskalliontie 2, Rovaniemi 96400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Rovaniemi
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara Rovaniemi, Finland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.