We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koskikatu 4, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night in April 2012. It an average hotel, good quality for reasonable prices. It is in the center of the town. The hotel is rather old, the furniture inside is somehow dated, but it is clean. The positive thing was the heating under the bathroom floor. The negative was that I could not find the heating in the room so I relayed only on the blanket. I saw that it has a sauna but due to lack of time, I did not see it. The staff is very nice and helpful. All in all, a good hotel, not a 4 star one, but worth staying in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at the Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi! Concerning your positive remarks about the location and services we take it as a motivation to continue our commitment in providing only the best services for our clients. We hope that next time You have more time to spend with us and You get to see the best of Rovaniemi!

Best regards
Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    87
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
69
43
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kielce
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel centrally located, if you book some snow activities (snowmobiles) this hotel is just next to snowmobiles parking. Rooms are small but clean, very quiet. For dinner wide choice of fishes and meats. Buffet breakfast with eggs, sausages, salmon, tomato, salads, few kinds of breads, It;s OK. One inconvenience - you have to take your key card all the time with you to enter hotel or use lift. Forgetting is quite complicated - to reach your room (only one hope - when your partner is in the room)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina M, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Greetings from sunny Rovaniemi!
Thank You for taking the time to write the review. Our location is one of our strenghts and I`m very pleased to hear that you think so too. We are also very proud of our various restaurant services in our hotel. You write about the inconvenience with the keycards. This is strongly related to our customers security. To garantee our customer security we keep our lifts and corridors locked. If our customers have problems with the keycards, our staff will be more than happy to help them.
With kindest regards,
Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was happy with this hotel, stayed one night in a work trip. Hotel was quite modern, stylish and have nice facilities like basic Finnish hotels. Hotel have also friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, continental style but that is what to be expected. Hotel has also nice small restaurant and location was near the main town, river and shops. Would definitely use this hotel when going back there. Had a nice stay.

Summa summarum, nice place to stay beacause location was also very good.

Stayed Nowember 2011, work trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Superb hotel, located just near the river . Rooms clean and tidy, and very helpful staff. Big thanks to "Heidi" at reception who always had a smile and very helpful also :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Nobody cleaned our two rooms for two days we were there, no changing towels, no paper, etc.. We told to receptionist and she justified without reasons and neither changed the situation, i think that for the hotel's price the behaviour was unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

As there are so many nice hotels in the same price range in Rovaniemi, I wouldn't stay here again until it's renovated. Funny to say that in Lapland one would need air conditioning in a hotel, but the room we were given was above the common sauna - and it was very warm as was the weather on that summer. We couldn't open the windows for the night as they faced the backyard where the restaurant's trashbins for glassbottles were situated (noisy!). For the second night we got a suite with IC but unfortunately it was pretty noisy because of the restaurant terrace just below the windows. Also the breakfast is pretty modest and the tables are not cleaned during the breakfast hours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The rooms were clean. It was easy to find the place and the restaurant was great. It had plenty of parking space and staff made is feel comfortable. The breakfast was good and healthy. all in all a good place

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi

Address: Koskikatu 4, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel situated in downtown Rovaniemi, in the heart of Finnish Lapland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi Finland - Lapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.