We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Claus Holiday Village

Save Saved
You added Santa Claus Holiday Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful place to visit in the snow. Stayed here for one night in April and it snowed! Warm cosy cabins, comfortable bed, great facilities, good food, lovely people, awesome experience. The reindeer ride and the sausage cooking and Christmas beverage afterwards were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
128
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hosts were perfect, from meeting us at the airport, to helping with any information. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Lots to see and do to keep the children occupied in around the village, they loved the snowmobiles where they can actually drive themselves, slides and free sledges. We had two cabins togtether for family of five. Good buffet breakfast and just across the road is a shell takeaway-resturant for a change. Great you can hire extra winter clothes on site for the the children especially.
Very clean, warm rooms really all that you would want.
Would visit again for sure. We stayed for a week wish it were longer.

Room Tip: I think all cabins are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in December. The cabins were very clean and modern. One double bed, a sofa bed, a sauna, and a kitchenette. The kitchenette was quite small and it was cramped. Do not recommend for cooking/ All cabins have a personal parking lot so that was very convenient. I recommend for those who do not rent a car to request for a cabin closest to the reception as in winter, the snow gets incredibly thick and it is quite some work to pull roller bags through the snow.

Santa Clause Village itself was great fun but note that there are quite a few "Santa Clauses" around (one in the hotel reception and the other in the village itself). At the hotel reception -getting a picture taken with Santa is free BUT to get it printed out costs about 48 Euros!! At Santa Clause Village, you get a video taken of you walking up towards Santa and they take a few pictures, which is the same concept as above but way more expensive (79 Euros for the video, and four pictures). However, the Santa at the Santa Clause Village very well decorated.

Apart from that, it is a great once-in-a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February on our way further north. The bungalows are nicely decorated, clean, cosy and warm. We booked the entire bungalow (so 2 rooms) for the four of us and that was certainly spacious enough. If you have to spend the night with four people in one room and use the bed and the sofabed then there will not be a lot of room to move around. I wouldn't use the kitchen to cook a meal. It is just too small but it's great for making coffee or tea and a fridge always comes in handy. Bathroom & sauna are spacious, functional and clean but not very luxurious. The cottage surroundings are lovely in wintertime with lots and lots of snow. The cottages are basically on a large parking lot so I don't think it's equally lovely in summertime. Airport pickup is punctual and we were warmly greeted. Very nice people in the reception area which is also a souvenir shop. Service at the restaurant is not very good. Slow, not as friendly as we are used to in Finland, tables not cleared on time, ... It seems that the restaurant caters for the tourbuses that come to the Santa Claus Village every day. The food is average both for breakfast and evening meals and quite expensive. At night, there is only one restaurant on site and it closes early. Lots of souvenir shops in the Santa Claus Village which we liked because we didn't come across a lot of shops in the remainder of our trip. We met Santa by accident one morning and he is a very nice man ;) Supermarkets are to be found in Rovaniemi. The ice slide at Arctice was fun for our kids and for us as well. Quite expensive entry ticket though for just the slide and access to an empty ice bar but you can come and go all day long. It was a fun stopover for 2 nights but I wouldn't stay any longer. There is a more natural and beautiful Lapland to be seen elsewhere and there are better places for husky, snowmobile or reindeer rides. However, if next year we fly via Rovaniemi and we have a late arrival then I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, and it was well worth the money spent. The cottages are clean and spacious, and it was great to have a kitchenette as well.
I had been excited about staying here for months, but my boyfriend was not. However, we both thoroughly enjoying our time here, and cannot stop telling people how great it was!!!
The cottages and village itself weren't cheesy; just cute!
We especially loved riding through the village on the sledge that comes with the cabin.
Bring out a flask of minttu and let the kid in you come out to play for a few days!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raahe, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

spent weekend with family and friends. excellent hotel with nice located and maintained cottages. friendly and proactive personnel. all Santa-specific activities are in one step from hotel. lack of restaurants in this area.

Room Tip: cottage 29 was good and far enough from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Location: 8 kms from Rovaniemi, along the Arctic circle
Hotel: Cabins, restaurant, access to Santa Claus etc
Room: Big cozy cabin with kitchenette, dining table, sofa, double bed, sauna
Positives: Good cabin, easy access to Santa Claus activities, free pick-up & drop to airport
Negatives: No entertainment for young couples, hotel restaurant shuts by 9 (others shut at 5pm), internet didn't work in room, no phones in room to even get in touch with reception

I made the mistake of not researching enough before booking the SCHV. The hotel, its rooms and ease of accessibility to the Santa Claus related attractions are great for a family, but given then lack of any entertainment, they aren't so good for couples.

The hotel is located 8km from Rovaniemi city and there are public buses that ply the route, but only until 7pm, after which one has to cab it up. The location of the hotel is strategic because the Arctic Circle passes right through it and therefore makes sense from their perspective. However, there is absolutely no entertainment of any form (except for a tv in our room) for couples or for that matter even for grown up children as all the attractions shut at 5. I saw the same 3 couples sitting in the otherwise empty restaurant from 7 to 9pm (when the restaurant too shuts). The internet never worked in our room over all 3 days and hence couldn't pass time surfing the net.

The cabins were great, each cabin was divided into 2 apartments, so if you are a family seeking 2 rooms, then you can get 1 cabin and leave use the external door, leaving the ones inside open. Each apartment had a kitchen, dining table, a sofa, 2 single beds, a large enough bathroom with a sauna. So if you are here with kids for relaxation, then this village is great. However, breakfast is served in the restaurant adjacent to the main reception and one has to walk a few mins depending on where your cottage is located. The ladies at the reception are very helpful and will drive you to your cottage when you arrive with your luggage (back saver!)

Attractions - this complex has several attractions, primary one being Santa Claus himself, meeting and greeting the bearded linguist is free, but one has to pay €15 for a picture. You can have Santa write a letter to your loved ones for €7. You can also buy loads of Santa & X'mas related souvenirs. Then there's a post office which sends postcards either immediately or on X'mas depending on which box you choose. You can also shop a bit of Finnish designer goods such as Ittala and Marimekko. Then you can head to the information centre, where you can have you passport stamped with 'I crossed the Arctic on xx/xx/xxxx" stamp for less than €1. You can also slide down icey slides and have your picture taken crossing the Arctic Circle. Then there's an Ice World to which you have to pay to enter and a short reindeer ride option.

A whole day is more than enough in this village and I would strongly recommend staying in Rovaniemi and commuting by public transport (Bus #8 from the Railway station and from outside the Information Centre at SCHV). Only stay if they have improved the evening entertainment options or you are with children and want to relax.

Room Tip: Get the cabins closest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Claus Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus Holiday Village

Address: Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-standard accommodation at the Arctic Circle, heart of Santa Claus Village. Our cabins are all equipped with up-to-date facilities, such as private saunas, bathrooms, kitchenette and terrace. There’s no better way to enjoy your stay. From your cabin just a minute or two walk to Santa Claus Main Office. All activities & excursions, such as Reindeer rides, Husky dog sledge rides, snowmobile rides, etc.. available on the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Santa Claus Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Claus Holiday Village Hotel Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Holiday Village Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Claus Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.