We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising tastes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Ounasvaara

Sky Ounasvaara
Ounasvaara, Rovaniemi, Finland
+35816323400
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Rovaniemi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprising tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice place. Beautiful view to the hill. We were in four so had chance to taste and rate different dishes. Highly recommend reindeer and goat milk yogurt for dessert. Waitress was very kind and answered to all our questions, explained carefully about ingredients. Before starter we were treated with onion soup and bread of different types. Both were tasty. I have never eaten so taste beet root as there. Chef should be very talented and professional to prepare such a masterpiece of such simple vegetable. I have not tried pies, portion was too small, but I'm sure it was also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the best meal of all my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was one of the best meal of all my life! All what I tasted there was amazing. In particular I eat as starter some trout from lake Inari, then reindeer (grilled fillet and braised entrecote) and as dessert bluebarry cake. It is not traditional lappish cuisine but quite modern lappish cuisine. All the dish were very looked after and very tasty, the view is amazing because restaurant is on a lonely hill. The price are high but it is worthful for what you can eat. I would really like to eat there also because the menu is always changing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went for the the 5 courses surprise menu with the "heavenly wines" as drinks for the courses. I must say that this was probably the best restaurant experience I have ever had. Great service, excellent food, nice atmosphere. Our choice of food and drinks were of course slightly more pricey than a "normal" restaurant visit but was definitely worth it. Highly recommend it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food from local ingredients!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the most creative restaurants I've ever eaten! Pure and local raw materials, smooths service and great view over the river valley of Kemijoki from the top of the Ounasvaara Hill.

Recommended and strongly!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High end but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fabulous food in hill top surroundings.
The service here was excellent from start to finish.

A'la carte food beautifully presented, well prepared and very tasty. The speciality here is local Reindeer cooked 2 ways.... Delicious!

Although the food here is expensive, so is everything in Finland, but at this place you do get a feeling it was worth it.

We skied here all day and then they floodlight the ski area until 8pm. Good timing for a great dinner to finish off our day. Taxi back into Rovanemi about 20 euros, although the hotel here looks very nice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Ounasvaara also viewed

Rovaniemi, Lapland
 
Rovaniemi, Lapland
Rovaniemi, Lapland
 

Been to Sky Ounasvaara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Ounasvaara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.