We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable End of the Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge des Glaziks

L'Auberge des Glaziks
7 Rue de la Plage, 29550 Plomodiern, France
+33 2 98 81 52 32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Plomodiern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $62 - $190
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dans un cadre spacieux et lumineux ou se melent le contemporain, l'art deco et l'Histoire Bretonne, le calme et une vue imprenable sur la baie de Douarnenez, cet endroit vous permettra de passer un agreable moment. Vous pourrez apprecier la cuisine authentique du Chef. Cette cuisine dont le respect des produits, la creation et l'histoire ne font qu'un vous permettra de comprendre cet univers tres personnel. Ouvert du Mercredi au Dimanche. Ferme le Dimanche soir hors vacances scolaire)
Paris
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unforgettable End of the Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband (who is Breton) was searching for an exceptional restaurant to take me for my birthday, and discovered this one in Finistere - and we were stunned to see such a beautiful brand new auberge and 2 Star restaurant in such a quiet little town. The dinner was astonishing - the amuse-bouches were numerous and so delicate. Each dish seemed more exquisite than the last and we were absolutely thrilled with the finesse, the wizardry of the chef and the perfect service. We reserved their best suite and found every thing close to perfect. We are going back for our anniversary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An exquisite fine dining experience in beautiful Brittany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to this Michelin 2 star restuarant with dear friends was a real treat. Located in the quiet village of Plomodiern, in Brittany. From the restaurant there are pleasant views over the local hills toward the sea in the distance. We were greeted at this family run Auberge with a very warm welcome. The Auberge is a modern conversion of an older building with some tastefully added accommodation affording a stay over if desired.
The dining room is tastefully decorated with local art and ceramics.
Mid week we had a choice of 4 lunch menus from €55. Oliver Bellin manages to combine subtle balances of flavours in unusual but successful combinations. Service is of the highest standard. A fine array of freshly cooked breads were a very pleasant accompaniment. The list of fine wines is extensive and the connoissuer will be well catered for. Our meals were beautiful on the eye and the palette. For me the choice of local and rare French cheeses was wonderful. A very pleasant fine dining experience in the beautiful Breton countryside. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“best restaurant in the bretagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

was there for the 3rd or for 4th time in the past 10 years.
it gets better and better.
service was excellent, empathic and professional (they put on gloves to handle your napkin if you leave the table)
food was surprising in all stages, from the starters, main dishes up to the desserts and pre-dessert and petit four etc.
this is a place where i love to accept they know better what I should eat.

the view out the window over the bay could be mindblowing if there would not be that pharmacy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Incredible authentic French cuisine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were a group of 12 friends, prepared to pay for an expensive dinner, because the dining event itself was such an unforgettable experience. The chef treated us to many "amuse-bouches" to whet our appetite, and then each of the five courses was served with much attention to appearance and detail. Dessert was accompanied by more "little extras", and at the end, the chef himself came to greet us. We spent four hours being wined and dined in exquisite surroundings, with superb service and incredibly delicious food. It was a most memorable evening for our group, both to be visiting with a friend in her family home in Plomodiern, and to be exposed to this "fête" of exceptional French cuisine.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An absolute gem near Menez Hom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our visit coincided with the chef's elevation from one star to two stars, and from our experience, this seemed well deserved.

We chose the 'Plaisir' menu at 85 euros, and were treated to 5 courses of beautifully prepared & presented food (mainly fish/seafood based). All very tasty (including several amuse-bouches), and interesting combinations of ingredients (for example, langoustine and 'tete de cochon').

Service was attentive, but not overbearing, and the ambience was relaxing.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge des Glaziks also viewed

Plomodiern, Finistere
Carantec, Finistere
 
Brest, Finistere
Douarnenez, Finistere
 

Been to L'Auberge des Glaziks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge des Glaziks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.