We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best Part of Our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Islands Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Virgin Islands Campground to your Saves list
Virgin Islands Campground
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   #64 Water Island, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inntimate Treasure $200
Louisville
1 review
“Simply The Best Part of Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

My new wife and I loved our stay. After a few nights at a major resort on St. Thomas, we were ready for a change of pace--and we found it here. Our experience began with a friendly smile greeting us as we got off the ferry on Water Island. After a quick 'tour' of the campground and our cabin, we were happily on our own to enjoy the view, relax in the ocean breeze, and explore the island. In contrast to expensive meals on the resort, my wife and I enjoyed cooking for ourselves (in an open-air 'kitchen' with the best view ever). Definitely take the time to stock up on groceries on St. Thomas before you head to Water Island--makes for an inexpensive and fun food option in the USVI.

We were fortunate to be on Water Island for the 4th of July. It was a blast. From the little parade of decorated trucks and golf carts to the great eats at Heidi's grill on Honeymoon beach, it was small town america meets Carribean--and we loved it.

I would recommend staying here as long as you can--perhaps for your whole stay in the USVI. Day trips to St. Thomas and St. John are quite doable--and probably still musts. Water Island was a joy to explore and is now a unique and treasured memory for my wife and I.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
107
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The term "campground" just doesn't describe it. This place is so unique (in a good way) and so wonderful. Imagine being "one with nature" plus you have all the amenities of a nice hotel. The kitchen and bath are communal, yet they're private and completly modern and clean. It's hard to describe because they're inside, yet out of doors. And although there was no bathroom in our cottage, it was very close. (I've had to walk farther to get to the bathrooms in some very high-end B & Bs. ) The veiws from our cottage were outstanding. The most perfect little beach is just a 10 minute walk away (through nature trails). Granted, you want to be in shape or at least able to walk up and down steep hills, because Water Island (like most of the VI) is very hilly. The owners were wonderful, really made us feel at home. There's a 5 minute ferry ride you can take from Water Island to a very nice grocery store on the dock in St. Thomas for provisions. It runs several times a day. And don't miss Heidi's burger wagon on the beach. Everyone on Water Island were just wonderful, really good people. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This is a place for people who can entertain themselves. The island is a beautiful volcanic rock, covered with tropical plants and surrounded by crystal clear warm water. There are no stores, spas, discos, amusement parks or museums. There are few cars and no public transportation. The "tent " is actually a small cabin with a double bed, a sofa, two tables and some chairs. The walls and roof are screen and canvas. There is a solar hot tub and solar showers. There is a very nice open air eating area with a grill, gas stove, refrigerator and sink. There is a locker with plenty of kitchen equipment and if you can cook at home you can cook here. The reason to be here is to swim, walk, read, snorkle and look at the lizards. There is a woman who cooks sausage and sells cold beer on the beach at lunch time but that is about all the services available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Don't let the name 'campground' fool you! The tent-cabins are as elegant as I have seen in fabulous safari camps that I photographed for my book SAFARI CHIC. One of the great things is that the walls all unzip to provide nearly 360 degrees panorama of ocean views. The communal kitchen area was well stocked and pleasantly situated. And, the beaches are just a short hike down the hill. This is the type of place where you really feel like you have a home on the island. It was so photogenic that I posted three different photo galleries on my website, http://www.flashnomad. com They showcase the rooms, the facilities and the setting ... Take a look and then book!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spent our anniversary at the Virgin Islnads "Campground" this July. What a setting!!! The very clean cabins are privately nestled in a lush tropical forest. We would eat our cereal in the open-air pavillion while watching cruise ships coming into port. . . without the noisy atmosphere of the tourism found on the mainland! I was 4 months pregnant during our trip, but did not feel the island walking was too difficult. My husband and I can't wait to take our little one back to the campground!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

I visited the campground with three girlfriends for a week in March. All of us have nothing but amazing things to say about Paul and Debbie as well as the lodging. Water Island is beautiful; very quiet, great beach vendors, and friendly locals. So accessible to St. Thomas as well as St. John (which by the way, if you are a first timer to the Virgin Islands, you have to go to, so amazing and beautiful).
We stayed in the suite because we were concerned about the shared bathhouse. The suite bathroom is private, which is wonderful, but I think the bathrooms in the bathhouse are perhaps nicer! So if that worries you also, put your mind at ease. The pavilion is a great place to cook a meal and chat with other campers. Although we had planned on buying groceries for the whole week, the grocery store was so expensive that it proved cheaper to buy minimal groceries and eat at the beach vendors. Also, we found lots of spices and assorted foods that were left behind at the pavilion, so no need to buy things like salt, pepper...
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, affordable beautiful vacation, this is the place to be!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Dear Mr. and Ms. Quade:

For the life of me, I do not understand why you are trying to lure more people to the Campground. Those of us who have spent time there and have sampled the myriad delights thereof really do not want the charms of your (we tend to think of it as our) setup to become known amongst the masses, most of whom are incapable of appreciating the idyllic setting of Water Island: the absolute privacy and quiet; the totally accomodating cabins, baths, and covered outdoor cooking area; the scrumptious views of Charlotte Amalie, the sea, the ships and boats; the easy walking access to great beaches, diving, casual dining, very casual drinking with the locals, and just exploring; and maybe best of all, the easy ferryboat ride to the highlife, nightlife, and shopping of St. Thomas, not to mention ferryboat access to the other islands nearby, all with the knowledge that one’s secluded, modern, private, quiet little retreat is waiting on Water Island to welcome a body home at the end of the day. Please, Deborah, give it a rest—we really don’t need any loud, big city tourist types on Water Island. We like the wilderness feeling, the unique flora and fauna, the easy living, and we want to keep it that way. Double your rates (it would still be a great deal), but please, stop advertising!

Ken Löfgren

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Address: #64 Water Island, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Water Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the concept of Upscale Camping! A handful of roomy tent-cabins feature ocean view terraces and all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas
Virgin Islands Campground U.S. Virgin Islands/Water Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Islands Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.