We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geared for large groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ivalo to your Saves list
Hotel Ivalo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ivalontie 34, Ivalo 99800 , Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ivalo
Sandy, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Geared for large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A good hotel, just 10 minutes from the airport. Food was good - buffets at breakfast adn dinner when I was there. Rooms are large, but mine was rather cold at the time. Walls seem fairly thick, so not much noise from neighbours when I was there. BBC World on TV. Very quick wi-fi which was great. Sauna and pool available if you want them and have the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
48
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel =) I stayed there for 4 nights during a trip in March to work with Aurora Hunters.
It's not a luxury hotel, but found it to be clean, staff friendly and best of all in a beautiful location just off River Ivalo. I remember it fondly and enjoyed my afternoon walks where you simply walk out the back of the hotel, straight onto the frozen river and right out into some beautiful marked trails.

Food was was ok. I'm a vegetarian so my choices we're slightly more limited than for other people, but I still ate well for the duration of my stay =) Best of all you can see the Northern Lights right outside the hotel or on the lake if they're strong enough which they were on 3 of the 4 nights!

The room was a good size, kept clean, and had all the facilities I needed. The supermarket is just a 5 minute walk down the same street, its a lovely walk!

Room Tip: Try asking for a room facing the River Ivalo for a better view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location is great, sitting right on the edge of the river bed - about a quarter of the rooms I guess have river view. Food (dinner and breakfast buffet) was good as well. The rooms (we had ground floor facing the river) however are desperate for refurbishment: Heavily dented furniture, brown bathroom of approx. the early 1980s. The brown bathroom tiles did not seem to have been cleaned this season, ... . Luckily we only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is located close to the main road less than a kilometre from the centre of Ivalo (which is really scattered) by the river. The room was rather big, plenty of room to stay even a longer period than one night. Service is very good. We needed to leave already at 6 am and breakfast normally starts at 7 am. The breakfast was ready at that time and excellent: hot buns, crispy bacon etc. There is also a sauna and swimming pool and opportunity to swim in the nearby river if you stand cold water. In the evening there was dance music and possibility to enjoy a dinner.

Room Tip: If possible the riverside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lots of tour groups, however the hotel handled them very efficiently, food was good, Internet free and available in all the rooms. Nice staff, very comfortable in summer. No AC but windows open so nice breeze. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012. I chose the Hotel specifically for Aurora watching. I had sytayed in Saariselka 5 years before and so I knew where to base myself. It is 11km from the Airport and midway between Inari, Saariselka and Nellim. Ivalo is also the largest urban area in the region. The location is lovely, backing on to the river. The Hotel lived up to my expectations. It is nothing memorable, other than the setting. The rooms are clean and quite large. The beds are comfortable and generously proportioned. The bathroom is a good size and everything works fine. The decor is however a bit jaded, being more reminicent of 1970's or '80's decor...quite dark and muted....to put it kindly. But if this doesn't bother you then this Hotel will be fine. The dining room is large and every evening I was there they ran a hot and cold buffet. This may have been because there were tour groups staying but either way it was not a problem for me to partake of the Buffet. It was generous, tasty and good value. Breakfast was included and again was generous. The staff were friendly and courteous.
This is a Hotel typical of Finnish Lapland, good, solid and clean, if unspectacular. It is meant to be a base for exploring the wonderful hiking country around or as a place to stay as you pass through on your way to somewhere else. If you are however somebody to comes to a Hotel to lounge around and soak up the atmosphere without every leaving the confines of the Hotel then you are likely to be dissappointed. If like me you came with a purpose then this is an excellent place to stay. I strongly recommend that either you hire a car or come on an organised tour with a tour bus. There are many interesting things to do and see around the area but you have to remember that everytime you leave the Hotel you will probably have to travel 50km to see anything. If you come just to stay in Ivalo you will be dissappointed after a day...maybe even half a day. But if you come to see the surrounding area or hike you will be rewarded with an unrepeatable experience. I would not reccomend this for families with young children unless they like to ski or hike.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean, with really cheerful, helpful and friendly staff. Room large enough to have sitting area and comfy chairs. Looked out onto frozen river - very attractive. Breakfast first class - lots of choice of food and drinks. Dinner buffet OK - nothing special, but quite competent and always plentiful. Salad bar to start, then choice of mains, with range of veg. Dessert variable - you need to like yoghurt here!. But perfectly acceptable, just not grand dining.
In winter, skis, kicksledges and snowshoes are available free( this year anyway). Great fun on frozen river. Wifi free - but you need to be in reception for good signal. Local town about 10 mins walk. Supermarket, booze shop, coffee shops. Again, nothing special, but quite nice.
Scenery outstanding, and aurora hunting very successful. We'd go again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ivalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivalo

Address: Ivalontie 34, Ivalo 99800 , Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Ivalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ivalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ivalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ivalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.