We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent centre for Sami history and culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siida

Siida
Inarintie 46, Inari 99870 , Finland
+358 (0)400 898 212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Inari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent centre for Sami history and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very good and well-presented exhibition of the Sami culture. Displayed as a timeline. There is an Aurora show in the auditorium each day, just a montage of (admittedly very good) photos of the Aurora and other scenes, accompanied by local music recording. Only lasts about 12 minutes. Could be skipped it you have already seen the Aurora for real. Siidi is well worth a good look around. Need about 2 hours to do it justice. Very accessible, with plenty of parking, in Inari.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

you learn a lot about the harsh living conditions up here and how flora and fauna cope with it. additionally you find out how the sami and other indigenous groups have developed and how they live nowadays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to learn about the Sami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A very interesting and informative museum about the life and time of the traditional Sami people of Finland.
Sadly our allotted time there was not long enough. If you have to choose between the exhibitions and the film about the northern lights, choose the exhibitions.
Gift shop was a little pricey, but aren't they all?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A must stop when in Northern Finland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This indoor and outdoor museum is worth visiting at least 3 or 4 hours. Do not miss the outdoor areas with re-creations of habitats for the Sami people and their animals for hundreds of years. The museum is very nice and we saw an incredible folk art exhibit there - ITA Art. It was so cool, that we went to Rovanemi to catch the 2nd part of the exhibition, which was split between the two venues. Everyone there was very friendly, and they also had a lovely cafe and gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great museum about Sami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visiting Lapland in this summer I lost in little town called Inari. Possibly best days of my holiday.
I was looking thing to do in Inari so I found out there is this museum Siida. I first be afraid of it will be halfy good and not on best in best order but it show up wonderful and very multiple.

Siida has permanent exhibitions, inclueded outdoor tour, and also couple floating exhibitons.
Especially outdoor tour was very interesting and you got real good touch about Samis lifestyle and older Lapland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siida also viewed

 
 

Been to Siida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.