We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lapland adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hetan Majatalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hetan Majatalo to your Saves list
Hotel Hetan Majatalo
PO Box 1 | Riekontie 8, Enontekio 99401, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lapland adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We did the Auld Lang Syne trip in Dec 30th 2012 with Transun and stayed at the Hetan Majatalo. We were luck with the weather as most of the time it was -4°C, with lowest at -10°C. The thermal suits were great and kept us warm for all the events. The hotel was lovely, we had 5 in one room - on two levels (3 kids + Mum and Dad) and it was fine - little bit tight, but that was part of the fun. The food at the hotel was exceptionally good - something for kids of all ages and a good variety and that was for all sittings, beakfast, lunch and dinner. The Transun staff were helpful and friendly as were the locals, they just stopped and chatted. The excusions from Transun were great, and I would recommend the Huskey Northern Lights ride - although we didn't see the lights up close we did spot them in the far distance. The visit to the local church was great, although some people were nervous, the service was lovely with carol singing and the history of the town was great to discover - everyone enjoyed it - well done Transun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hei Mikeeey! =)
Thank you for your great review. It is really nice to notice that after almost half a year you are still remembering your trip to Lapland and Majatalo!! Thank you for your visit and I hope you will have memorable holidays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is really worth of money. When we arrived at night there was a helpful lady waiting for us. Staff was excellent and breakfast was stunning. This hotel has its own feeling when you stay there. BIG PLUS: Stunning fitness centre has all equipments that you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sakeeri, thank you for your good review!
I hope you had great time in Tromso!
Have a sunny spring! With best regards, Tiina from the reception :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had read a fair few negative comments about this and that prior to travelling and got quite concerned - tried to keep an open mind and we couldn't fault any of the whole experience. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. It was a really magical time. The hotel Hetan Majatalo was lovely and the staff friendly, pleasant and very kind - my son broke an ornament that was for sale but Tina would not have any money for it despite our insistence. They have a tip box for their post Christmas holiday, needless to say it went in there! Tina also helped my daughter pick a traditional Finish name for her newly purchased reindeer! The food was varied, good and plentiful. The kids ate everything and more. The rooms were warm, clean, spacious, had everything we needed and the wooden lodge design added to the whole atmosphere. The Transun staff based at the hotel were very helpful, the rep for the hotel was efficient and reliable from the minute we landed. Without our rep's concern we would have missed a trip out - she came looking for us. The planned trips were well organised and the people involved were professional, polite and efficient. Father Christmas was wonderful and just how I imagined he would be after 46 years of waiting to see him!! My daughter (9) was just mesmerised. The kids had a fantastic time. Took 2 teenage boys (13, 15) who had the best time sledding, walking and just messing about in the snow as did we all. Sleds freely available for a great sledding hill just a couple of minutes away. Fabulous walk through the woods at the back of the hotel - it was like stepping through the back of the wardrobe into Narnia! Close to a shop with everything you could need. Local village is quiet - but the hotel has what you need after a very tiring day in the snow. No doubt it is a once in a life time holiday but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hei!
It is sooooo nice to read about your magical holiday!! We are glad you have enjoyed!
Lots of greetings to the whole family and especially to your reindeer, Marja! :) Is is a very typical Finnish and Lappish name. Take a good care of her! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have just returned from a stay at this hotel for a Santa trip. The hotel was fantastic, friendly staff, toastie warm rooms. I was expecting a characterless hotel but was met with a hotel with huge history, great service, lovely gift area, plenty of room for the children and a lovely room with space for me and three children. Food was good, good buffet with home made food tasty and warming and plentiful. Tiina (the owner?) was a lovely warm person who made you feel you were sharing her home not staying at her hotel. It was also very Christmassy great for the Santa experience. Hotel is well placed for a short walk to Hetta where supermarket is well stocked. Good hills nearby for sledging and beautiful scenery with a currently frozen lake surrounded by snowy pine woods, very Lapland!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Debbie, thank you for your fantastic review and especially for your visit to our hotel/home! :)
We are happy to hear you and your children had a fantastic holiday!
With kindest regards, Tiina - the 4th generation in Majatalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have just returned from the Hetan Majatalo where I stayed with my daughter and grandaughter. We had a wonderful Santa trip which would not have been so enjoyable without a good hotel (the Majatalo has been run by the same family since 1924). The rooms were not spacious but with a large mezzanine area with two beds there would have even have been enough space for a 4th person. The wet room/toilet was clean with a good shower. Although some people complained that their rooms were too hot (yes in cold Lapland!) ours was very cosy and comfortable. My grandaughter particularly enjoyed the sauna and snow cool off area outside which, for a 7 year old, was quite a novelty!
The food was varied, plentiful and tasty and the present encumbent,Tina, was always pleasant and attentive.
All in all this was a 5* exerience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hei! Thank you for your 5* review!
It really is an experience to go to the sauna and afterwards dip yourself into the snow! =)
Have a great Christmas and greetings to your daughter and granddaughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We've just arrived home from a 3 night Transun Santa trip staying at the Hetan Majatalo in Hetta. The whole trip from start to finish was truly magical. On arrival at Enontekio we were met by our tour guides, Lauren, Chris, Tori and Ian who were really friendly and super helpful throughout our entire stay. The hotel, family run with Tiina at the helm, was small but perfectly formed. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, adequate storage for our clothes and clobber and toasty warm. The dining room was a couple of steps away from the main part of the hotel but nobody minded going out in the cold to get the delicious meals that were waiting. Every day was well organised with husky rides, snowmobile rides, sledges available, and of course the best day was meeting Santa. That day was well organised with activities available whilst waiting for the families to have their private visit with Santa. The snowsuits and snow boots that were provided were brilliant and kept the cold out! I can't recommend this trip enough, it was a once in a lifetime magical experience made perfect by Lauren, Chris, Tori, Ian and the rest of the team! Well done you guys!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review and especially for your stay.
We are happy to hear you had an unforgettable holiday! :)
Happy Christmas and all the best for 2013!
With best wishes, Tiina & co :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was the best trip I have been on. The plane there was good as we took part in signing Xmas carols which the children loved. The bus trip to the hotels didn't take long and was easy to find. Hetan mama tall was by far the best hotel there. The staff were wonderful and it's very quiet. There's time for sledging which you can borrow from the hotel and there are plenty of snacks and gifts to buy at reception. The rooms are very warm but I was very care ful with the 5 year old as the stairs up to the top of the room are high up and widely spaced apart. The only down side to the whole trip was that the Santa experience was not planned well at all as families took a while to get there ( as when you get there it's fantastic) and there was a almost 4 hour wait and many families
missed out. Due to this we missed the northern lights huskie trip as we were back late. However the Santa experience was worth the wait!!! Overall a great trip in a very secluded area!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina V, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hannah, thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear you liked your stay in our family hotel! :)
Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hetan Majatalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hetan Majatalo

Address: PO Box 1 | Riekontie 8, Enontekio 99401, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel HETAN MAJATALO is the newest hotel in the Real Lapland & Lapland's oldest family company in tourism. Hetan Majatalo has offered rest, peace and clean air to visitors ever since 1924 and is now into it's fourth generation.Hetan Majatalo began operating in the early 1920s. The present-day Hetan Majatalo consists of an old-time, traditional inn and a high-quality hotel with 27 spacious room for 2-6 persons. As a speciality most of the hotel rooms have a loft with a skylight window and sufficient space. Cosy lobby with an unique fire place and piano, two saunas, meeting room, Wlan and a public computer, little library, playgrounds in and out side, souvenir corner, well-equipped fitness room, waxing room for skis, little kitchen, loundry and a Lapp hut are at your disposal. Traditional and excellent Lappish and Finnish food in an idyllic dining room will make your holiday complete. Hetan Majatalo is situated right in the centre of the village of Hetta / Enontekiö but at the same time right at the edge of the wilderness. Hetan Majatalo attracts for outdoor activities. Untouched wilderness, the Real Lapland, starts right from the hotel's yard – as well as the well-kept skiing tracks and hiking paths. To the vast Lappish surroundings of Hetta you get to visit also in the arranged trips. Idyllic nature, combined to a delicious outdoor lunch, comes close to you for example in a snowmobile adventure. Lots of activities await you in Hetta and guided tours begin from the hotel. Reindeer safaris and husky rides are a unique way to spend a day. Hetan Majatalo will help you plan and organise your safaris and other programs. Briefly, Hetan Majatalo is just what the doctor orders: Rest, peace and refreshment in original, cosy Lappish environment. Come and enjoy the Real Lapland! Personal service of the host family makes Majatalo different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hetan Majatalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hetan Majatalo Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hetan Majatalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.