We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for common people.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Hetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Hetta to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Hetta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ounastie 281, Enontekio 99400, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel for common people.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice location by Ounas lake. Basic, quiet and clean rooms. Sauna is on every day, also swimming possibility. Generous breakfast and nice finnish dinner. Easy to go to hiking. Very nice staff. I recommend this hotel easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This must have been a state of the art winter resort hotel in the 1970s. Could be out of a 007 movie. With some effort the hotel can be turned into a fashionable retro-experience. Unfortunately it currently is just worn out. The TV-set flashed into action 2 minutes past the hour - every hour. The advanced Teleste from the 70s radio didn't work, no Internet in rooms, and there was no functional ventilation in the room or bathroom. The single light in the bathroom took 18 sec. to turn - every time! Reception didn't offer stamps.

But the place is interesting. The view over the lake is beautiful, parking is plenty, beds fine, and the food in the restaurant is certainly above average. In total the hotel isn't up to modern standards. If you get a deal on their site and is tired of ordinary hotels, then this might be something to visit and talk about afterwards.

Room Tip: Get a room with view over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here during Christmas in a separate apartment opposite the hotel. The cabins are very basic (but complete with small TV, dishwasher, microwave etc.). The apartment had no charm at all; grey and very uninviting. The best part there was the Sauna. The restaurant was every night half filled with a large group. There is a (basic) buffet or you can go a la carte. The a la carte food is basic but honest and tasteful. The activities offered by the hotel seemed to be orientated towards large group tours and it seemed if they did not really know what to do with a single family traveling on their own. But they did their best to get some things organized. The whole hotel felt like it had been build somewhere in the seventies and never had undergone any kind of make-over somewhere in time. The swimming-pool water was freezing and our two kids only wanted to go in once. The best part of the hotel were the employees; 'Finnish' friendly and absolutely tried their best. As we stayed with 2 little children; when we had done 'the things to do' we left. I think this hotel is better to be visited during summer; taking long hikes in the nearby National Park etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, COoorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I had booked a one night stay at the Hetta Hotel after researching on Trip Advisor (mixed reviews) and booking.com. Unfortunately, I booked directly instead of going back to a search engine as there are actually two very different policies regarding cancellations. The search engine stated: "If cancelled up to 15 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged." The hotel is charging me more than 50% of the one-night rate and the reservation date is still 60 days from now. Watch for the fine print - it is not on the same page as the reservation request or confirmation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Magical, Fantastic, Wonderful, Amazing Day!!

We booked this day trip very last minute after being let down by a local event, and what a good decision it was.

The whole day was magical. We flew from Bournemouth and all the cabin crew were fantastic wearing Christmas hats and joining in with the Christmas sing-a-long. The best part of the flight was when Santa Claus landed on top of the plane to give the raindeer a rest. I don't know how the pilot managed to get the plane to drop like that ( don't want to know really!)

As soon as we arrived at Enontekio airport we were given snow suits and boots by very friendly staff, the whole thing was so well organised. You are then taken to the resort of Hetta by sleigh, this was a bit chilly as it takes about 30 - 40 mins and it was -16 when we were there.

The little resort of Hetta is beautiful, we were lucky as there was loads of snow which the children enjoyed. There are reindeer rides, husky rides, horse sleigh rides, tabogganing and of course a visit to the main man which was just amazing. The snow castle is a good place to get warmed up a bit with nice hot chocolate and ginger biscuits.

You can go into the hotel any time you like for food and drink as they have an ongoing buffet throughout the whole day. The food is fine, nothing fancy but the kids aren't interested in that anyway they just want to get out in the snow again!

It is quite pricey for one day but in my opinion worth every single penny just to see the look on my 6 yr's old face. The only downside to the day was having to come home.

If you are planning on going book with Canterbury Travel, they were so helpful and friendly. All the literature that they send you is absolutley spot on with helpful tips.

Fantastic firm, fantastic day, I can't rate it high enough, even I believe in Santa Claus again now!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Me and my family did not stay the night at Hotel Hetta as we were part of a one day tour to see Santa and flew back the same day.

The restuarant area and gift shops were excellent however as this Hotel is part of the Santa Resort trips, there is little to do if you plan on staying longer than a day unless you have a car.

I would strongly recommend that if your children are older than 10 then avoid Santa at all costs as it will be an expensive let down. One ride on both a Raindeer and Husky Dog Sleigh around a small oblong circle are over very quickly and Santa is an English Bloke with a fake beard. As our party were all over the age of 18 after a brief hello and photo with the big man you soon want to leave which makes you wonder what is the point.

Instead of signing up for this why not use Hotel Hetta as a base to explore to see the real Lapland? Although we did not see any of the rooms themselves the facilities are lovely (we went in December so snow all over the place and very chistmassy) and they make the yummest leak and potato soup! The rest of the meals were simple (baked potato/salad) but all filling and delicious. The staff were all helpful and polite and clearly work hard but stear clear of the jokers who want you to sign up for the Santa experience unless you have small children.

  • Liked — The Leak and Potato Soup! Yum!
  • Disliked — The Santa Experience
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Went on a one day santa trip with Canterbury Travel Dec 2007. A bit on the pricey side but it was well worth the money to see my little boys face when he realised where we were going. Right from arriving at doncaster airport everything was aimed at the kids. A reindeer on the side of the plane,cabin crew in festive hats etc... xmas films and a good old xmas sing song. Arrived in Lapland and the kids were so excited to see so much snow. Snow suits and boots were given out at the airport and we set off on our adventure via a snowmobile. Arrived at Hotel Hetta 15 mins later and greeted with hot drinks. Every one was given a map detailing the activities on offer and told to meet back at the hotel lobby at 8pm. We set off to the activity areas on foot(all within 5 mins walk of each other). We went on a horse drawn sleigh ride, visited a snow castle, went husky mushing, had a reindeer sleigh ride, visited a snow maze, did kick sledging, tobogganing, sledging and of course had a private visit with santa. The hotel restaurant served hot and cold buffet food and various drinks all day long and at various points around the activity areas there was hot drinks and biscuits etc...
All in all a very tiring but exciting and magical day. My only regret is that we couldnt afford to stay for a few days. Yes its a lot of money for one day but your kids arent little forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Hetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Hetta

Address: Ounastie 281, Enontekio 99400, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Hetta 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lapland Hotel Hetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hetta Hotel Enontekiö
Lapland Hotel Hetta Finland - Enontekio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Hetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.