We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky 'upgrade' to Jussantupa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jussantupa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jussantupa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jussantupa
Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400 , Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Wirral
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A lucky 'upgrade' to Jussantupa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were booked in to Arctic Star for our New Years northern lights trip with Transun. On arrival at the airport we were told our hotel had been switched due to flooding at the Arctic Star. We reserved judgement but over the next four days came to realise that we had definitely done well out of the switch. Hotel Jussantupa is family run and the staff are a real asset. Everyone was friendly and would go out of their way to ensure all guests were comfortable and happy. This included providing paper plates and foil so our group could pack up a lunch when one of our trip times was changed. (Yes, Transun really are as bad as everything you have read!) Our room was warm and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the wet room style bathroom was just what we needed. The food was always tasty with 3 courses at each meal. The New Year's Eve gala dinner was absolutely delicious. The location of the hotel right opposite the little supermarket turned out to be an asset as we appreciated being able to walk to local attractions such as the church, cafe silja etc. I would like to say a massive thank you to everyone at Hotel Jussantupa for making our stay so enjoyable. If you book Arctic Star keep your fingers crossed you get switched!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Jussantupa was lovely. We met friendly people. Ourtransun rep, Coleen was excellent. great at getting people talking to one another. When my child was unwell, Coleen and the hotel staff were wonderful. So caring. They phoned medical people for me, made special food for my son, when the meal time was over and really looked after us.
The Santa trip was also beautiful.
Thanks to you all if you read this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked a last minute trip through Transun. The majority of the guests were staying at Davi Lodge and the rest of us (approx 16 who booked the last minute deal) went on to Jussan Tupa. Davi lodge looked fantastic and I was a little worried that our hotel would be dissapointing... how wrong could i be?!!! Jussan Tupa is spotlessly clean, good food, relaxing atmoshphere, friendly staff, lovely warm rooms (too warm at times). It has a great location on the lake and the suprmarket opposite came in handy because the food and drinks are very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having promised my daughter years ago to try and see the northern lights I finally took the plunge and organised the trip. Originally I tried to get in to Davvi but it was full so ended up at the Jussantupa. I have to say though....thanks heavens. Jussantupa was a great place to stay for a few days; good wholesome food, warm clean rooms, very helpful local staff, lovely location with the lake near by, supermarket opposite for odd bits and pieces etc. We ate at Davvi twice (on the way to and from the airport and yes it is closer to the airport but so what....the service just was not that good.

Trips-wise, recommend the Husky rides, just such a privilege.....snowmobile ride was great fun, Reindeer farm slightly more formulaic but ok (very cold). We did manage to have clear skies and therefore 90 minutes of the 'greatest show on earth - northern lights' on the last night where a whole bunch of us from the hotel got flasks of the local hot juice (all we had to do was ask the staff) and watched from the middle of the frozen lake. Eventhough I have now ticked this off my 'bucket list' I would love to do this again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

As many other comments, Transun's Admin in the UK was poor - the website was inaccurate for months despite being told it was to be updated "Next day", etc. However, by carefully reading Trip Advisor comments and reading Transun's brochure (we were very lucky to have had one as we learnt a lot from this - even as to Gatwick flights putting down at Leeds - Bradford Airport, which others had not been told), we were able to ask Transun staff about all our queries and received helpful and accurate replies.

We weren't sure about being at the "annex" hotel, the Jussan Tupa, an hour further on from the Davvi Lodge, but we and the rest of our group decided we had the best deal. The staff are Finnish (the Davvi is owned by Transun) and were very friendly and helpful, the food was varied, interesting and tasty - including reindeer, the rooms clean with excellent showers in wet bathrooms, though pegs for hanging the Arctic suits up would have been helpful. (There were pegs in the lobby but we needed to keep each suit separate AND getting dressed up in several layers each time we went out, took time and some planning!). Also Hetta is the centre (with 800 population) of the Enontekio region of 2,000 people, so lots of interesting daily life to see, especially as we were opposite the supermarket! We saw several Sami ladies in traditional costume doing their shopping, and the silver craftsman also wore stunning Sami costume at his shop near the supermarket.

Yes, we did have to travel further to most of the "big" activities, but the scenery was beautiful and it did pass the time as there were quite a lot of spare hours - but our group roamed the village and cafes, used the downhill ski and snow board slope, the nature and Sami museum on our own, sledged, walked on clearish tracks, were allowed to use the cross country skis free by the reps, and two hired snowmobiles.

We were there for a week from 26.2.12 and the temperature varied from - 26 C to (briefly) + 1 C (again largely taken from the supermarket thermometer). We did not generally have to wait around for a long time in the cold for activities, so perhaps SS has adapted trips for smaller numbers? The weekly itinerary was clearly timetabled and given to us on the bus as we arrived.

We all generally thought that the night time snowmobile ride was taken at too fast a pace - we all had to keep to the same speed (it was cold though!) with too little instruction, and this meant that it wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been and some people were actively uncomfortable and apprehensive of the ride. This and all the activities was well monitored though - by snowmobile or as necessary. The huskies and reindeer trips were much more enjoyable!

We also went to the 2nd annual Arctic Big Air at Muornio where snowmobilers did acrobatics - one rider and snowmobile did somersaults! An interesting but very cold and brief event, with drinks available - the locals were having a great social get together, and an hour's journey each way!

The SS reps at Hetta were Cai, Rob and Jamie, a friendly and helpful group of young men.

As the atmosphere is so dry, you don't get wet if you fall over - just brush the snow off before it sets as ice on your clothes!

We saw the Northern Lights a little every evening but March 1st was outstanding and they were out for several hours, showing some pinks and reds as well as green, moving curtains, arcs and so on. Very dramatic and against the new moon, planets, stars and shooting stars. Cai and Jamie said that the display was the best they'd seen that winter.

Our group got on really well - and the reps commented on that, and we decided to set up a website so we could share all our photos. After all, though we all enjoyed the week's activities, we were all there really for the Lights!

There are no guarantees, of course, but the New Moon is a good time to see the Lights and March can be a good month. This was said to be the best winter for 50 years due to the solar activity.

Room Tip: As rooms are allocated before guests arrive, askTransun before you go for a room upstairs and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked our trip as a last minute deal through Transun and stayed in both the Jussantupa and the Davvi Arctic Lodge (originally the Davvi had been our first choice but was already full for some of our stay so we spent four nights at the Hotel Jussantupa before transferring to the Davvi). Although the Davvi had beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay at Jussantupa much more.

The Jussantupa was excellent!!! The accommodation was basic but comfortable, warm, and clean. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our Transun rep Georgina was fantastic (really cannot praise her enough, she went out of her way to ensure our group had an amazing time). The Jussantupa is slightly further from the airport (around an hour) but in our opinion the journey was WELL WORTH IT!!!! On arrival we stopped for a meal at the Davvi before travelling on to Hetta (because our flight had arrived late in the evening).

The food at Jussantupa was delicious and wholesome (much better than at the Davvi), self service meant that you could take as much as you want and there was always a good selection (three courses for each meal). The atmosphere in the dining room was lovely and we made many new friends during our trip. The hotel staff put the sauna on each evening which was lovely (recommend packing a swimming costume). Having read previous reviews we also went prepared with a travel kettle to make hot drinks in our room but the prices at the hotel bar were very reasonable and we spent several evenings relaxing in the bar with other members of the group before going out to watch the Northern Lights.

I agree that being on the ground floor can be noisy but we are both heavy sleepers and it only really bothered us in the mornings.

The excursions were amazing and in our experience far longer than we expected having read previous reviews (we spent around two hours at the reindeer farm, two hours with the huskies and around an hour on the snowmobiles - the duration of this trip was shorter due to the extreme temperatures on the ice river on the night we were there ~around minus 44 degrees). The durations were about right to prevent us from getting too cold!

The arctic suit certainly kept us warm but most of the time I found I needed at three layers underneath it (particularly for the visit to the reindeer farm). We found there was much more to see at Hetta than at Davvi and we enjoyed exploring by ourselves as well as on the organised trips. The husky farm and ice castle are only a very short drive away (we were driven by Dave who was brilliant).

On the return journey our flight was delayed due to adverse weather conditions in Manchester (slightly ironic given that the temperature in Kirona was minus 32 degrees!) but we were kept informed by the Transun staff who were available in the airport the whole time.

The holiday really was an experience of a lifetime, the place is beautiful and Transun staff made it a very relaxing time. Very highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are travelling to Finland with Transun, unless you can book the Davvi Logde - FORGET IT.
Transun are VERY economical with the truth. Not only do they forget to tell you the hotel in Hetta in an hour further from the airport - making it a 4 hour transfer bt the time the Davvi guests have been dropped off - all the organised trips are near the Davvi! Hence at least 2 hours to be added to each one.
We felt we spent the weekend driving around.
The local reps do their best but the offices lack of coming clean leaves a very sour taste. Also the Transun website has been wrong for nearly 2 months with the new one coming online in April. Don't believe a word you see.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jussantupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jussantupa

Address: Ounastie 140, Enontekio 99400 , Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Enontekio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Enontekio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jussan Tupa is a cozy and comfortable hotel that is open throughout the year. Whether it is work or leisure which brings you to Enontekio, you are guaranteed to feel at home at Jussan Tupa! The hotel has two public saunas, a swimming pool, and a third sauna with a living area and fire place, which can be booked for private occasions. At the restaurant, you can enjoy Lappish delicacies. There is a free WiFi for the guests. Hotel Jussan Tupa is located in the administrative centre of Enontekio, called Hetta. All the most important services are located at the very proximity of the hotel. The 'Vuollikka' restaurant by the Lake Ounasjarvi can be booked for large private events. Its beautiful location offers the perfect setting for any celebration. There is also a traditional Lappish 'kota', which seats 30 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jussantupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jussantupa Hotel Enontekiö
Hotel Jussantupa Finland/Lapland - Enontekio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jussantupa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.