We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regenerating..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomamokkila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lomamokkila to your Saves list
Lomamokkila
Mikonkiventie 209, Savonlinna 57310 , Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Savonlinna B&B and Inns
Montecchio Emilia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regenerating..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Relax, beautiful landscapes, courtesy and good and genuine food!
Time seems to never pass in the tranquility of this lovely place...
But boredom never assails you! In fact, there are many activities that allow you enjoy fully the peace of this place: a boat ride, a barbecue on the lake, relax in the sauna, a nice bike ride through the woods or visit the attractions of historic, architectural and natural areas (the castle of Olavinlinna, the quiet town of Savonlinna, the wooden church of Kerimaki, the park of Punkaharju). Moreover, Lomamokkila is also very well connected by bus to the center of Savonlinna from which you can go, by train, anywhere... In a word, try it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomamokkila, Omistaja at Lomamokkila, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for the great feedback, was our pleasure to have you visitng our farm! I am especially pleased to read the comments about the food we make here, it's a big compliment coming from Italian :)

Till the next time, hope to have you visiting us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telaviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family stayed at Lomamokkila for 2 nights. From the first moment we met Kalle, our host, we felt we are at home. Kalle makes sure we have all information we need and helps us making our stay as perfect as can be. Kalle and his wife, really care for every one of their guests and give every one of them a personal approach.
Lomamokkila is just 10 minutes drive from Savonlinna, few minutes walking from the lake and half an hour drive from Oravi where boat to Linnansaari national park is.
Oh and the food in the morning and in the evening is great. Home made , fresh , real good - all of us loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new rooms - not sure about the other room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomamokkila, Omistaja at Lomamokkila, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi,

thank you for the good comments, I am happy to hear that your family had a good time here during your stay. It was our pleasure to meet you and I am happy to notice that you have done some marketing back home- new clients have contacted us thank's to your nice comments!

We are waiting to meet you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

2 couples stayed for 5 nights in the main house and we were delighted with our stay. The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished with a good sized bathroom. The breakfasts were a cold buffet of lovely home cooked foods and on the evenings that we dined there, the dinners were excellent and the best value eating anywhere we were in Finland.
Kalle and Laura were most helpful without being obtrusive and came to our assistance on a number of occasions in relation to a minor medical issue, restaurants, a parking fine payment and credit card issues with Hertz as well as advice on scenic routes etc. As we had to leave for a 05.40 train we were delighted to see a breakfast tray laid out at our room on returning from the opera the night before our departure.
We had planned to stay in town but had not been able to get accommodation there but after enjoying the stay at Lomamokkila we were glad that we were unsuccessful as we would have missed a most enjoyable experience. The location is about 12 kms outside town but easy to access if you have a car as it is well sign posted and it is close to the lake with swimming and free boating available for the energetic.
Thanks to Kalle, Laura and their team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomamokkila, Omistaja at Lomamokkila, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for the nice comments! We were happy to have you visiting our farm and good if we could make you feel welcome.

Welcome to visit the opera festivals again, I'll surely send you the new program when it will be published.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After hearing quotes like these and wonderful stories from my sister who has visited Lomamokkila several times over the last 20 years, our family of 4 decided to make this B&B the centerpiece of our first trip to Finland. We stayed for 5 days in 2 adjoining rooms in the New Guest House which was perfect for our family of 4 including our 11 and 12 year old daughters. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. To make sure, Kalle the owner asked us every night “Do you need anything for the room?” This was typical attention to detail of the friendly family that runs the Bed and Breakfast. The fresh, healthy meals were amazing. Our girls loved rowing the boat on the beautiful lake, and playing with the owner’s well behaved children and Lappish dogs. A baby cow was born during our stay and Kalle named it after me. How can you beat that? We highly recommend Lomamokkila.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms with a single entrance for only those 2 rooms is an excellent option for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie OR
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here 2 night on our travels through Finland. It is around 20 min by car from the city of Savonlinna. I would not stay here unless you are by traveling by car. The cottage we stayed at is adequate, nothing fancy but clean. The bathroom is small with a small shelf for toiletries. The shower had a curtain and the floor seemed to get quite wet. There are different types of lodging here from cabins by the lake to rooms in their home. We had a cottage near the home. The breakfast was very good, clean home and lots of homemade choices. If you use the sauna there is an additional charge. We walked to the lake through the woods and a very nice walk. We did not use the sauna. Do not make the mistake of asking how many acres or hectors they have as he asked us if we wanted to buy the farm.

Room Tip: The price was cheaper than the hotels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

In early September, my husband and I spent three nights at Lomamokkila. The hosts were gracious and provided helpful tips on what to do in the area. The breakfasts were tasty and generous. We enjoyed the farm setting while only being a short drive from Savonlinna. One day we rented bikes and rode into town for the farmer's market, which was a lot of fun. Our room was exceptionally clean and the property as a whole is well maintained. It was truly a pleasure to stay here. If only it weren't so far we would return in the winter to ice skate!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms close to the main building. Rooms around the main building are comprised of wooden bungalows with four adjoining rooms in each building: You share a main entrance with one other room. The rooms a large, modern and clean, with a good-sized bathroom, plus WiFi is available across all of these rooms. All of these traditional buildings are set within lovely, well kept grounds. The owners are very friendly and always willing to give advice on what to visit and where to eat. Their breakfasts are excellent, offering a wide range of homemade savoury and sweet items. The only (minor) negative is that the walls between the rooms are thin – on our last night we had people staying in the room behind ours and we could hear everything; from snoring to coughing. Despite this, there is little doubt that we would stay here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomamokkila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomamokkila

Address: Mikonkiventie 209, Savonlinna 57310 , Finland
Location: Finland > Eastern Finland > The Lakelands > Savonlinna
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Savonlinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lomamokkila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomamokkila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.