We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Kuopio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlas Kuopio to your Saves list
Hotel Atlas Kuopio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haapaniemenkatu 22, Kuopio 70110, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Newly renovated - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Atlas is located right in the center of Kuopio making it a great location from a tourist point of view.

Having stayed at older hotels in Kuopio the previous years I appreciated Atlas' renovated facilities.

The room I had was fantastic in size and had all the basic amenities. The bed was very comfortable; I slept like a baby.

Breakfast selection was quite standard as to what you get at hotels in Finland, but there were so many people at the hotel that you had to queue to get everything. I ended up skipping some items as I did not want to wait for that long. I wonder if the breakfast area could be remodeled somehow or add more queuing lines?

Being recently renovated the hotel does seem to have somewhat higher prices than for example Sokos Hotel (which is an older facility).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Atlas Kuopio, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear synnove,
Thank you for staying again at the Hotel Atlas Kuopio and for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased you liked our hotel and the room experience. As a new hotel we welcome all the feedback we can have from our guests so we can improve our guest satisfaction. We have noticed the challenge we have in the breakfast room and have already done several changes in order to serve our guests better. We also plan to bring more local dishes in to the breakfast buffet in future. Once again thank you for your kind words. Positive feedback is always nice to hear and it motivates our staff to try even harder. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Sincerely Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
19
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently renovated hotel is very clean and modern, but overall very basic experience. Everything is very standard and you can't really tell that are you in Germany, Finland or Sweden when you are inside the hotel. Even the breakfast was the standard international (=boring) hotel breakfast.

I would have expected more from a #1 ranked hotel in my former hometown. Especially since the hotel is right next to the market square which is full of local specialties.

The great location just next to market square is excellent even though arriving by car can be a bit challenging if the city is not familiar. Also the hotel doesn't have their own parking place so you might want to street park the car first, check-in and ask directions (and the code) to the parking garage.

Standard hotel room was very good. The room was clean and contemporary, but still the design of the room was very boring and standard. I later found out that the hotel is owned by the Cumulus hotel chain so that explained a lot of things (Cumulus hotels are known for being very basic hotels).

I'd say that this hotel is above average as a business hotel, but otherwise only average. However, as a newly renovated hotel it is a very safe choice especially for business travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Atlas Kuopio, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Perttu T
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlas Kuopio. It sounds like we fell a bit below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior. Please accept our sincere apologies for any unsatisfying service or facilities you experienced. There are actually quite many special small details our hotel provides, like the use of local dialect in our website and in some hotel collateral or our room selection either with private sauna, infrared sauna or even mini-kitchenette. But it sounds that we were not able to present them to you well this time. We take all reviews very seriously and we value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose our hotel for your future travel needs in Kuopio. Sincerely Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really nice hotel next to the main market are in Kuopio. There was a lot of renovation happening on the roads outside the hotel, so the hotel was rather difficult to reach by car since all roads seemed to end one block before the market area. If you are by car, use either Toriparkki or Carlson's parking carage, both are right next (underneath) to hotel. Signs from Toriparkki to hotel are completely missing, way to hotel goes through Sokos department store. Or aboveground. :-)

Rooms are big and well appointed, with nice layouts and good bathrooms. Automatic light on the bathroom takes a little bit to get used to, especially during the nights when light seems to stay on for a very long time before switching itself off. Bathroom has glass door so it was a bit annnoying when trying to sleep...

Sleep quality will not get full points this time, even with really comfortable beds, because of the noise of the renovation outside the hotel started around 7:00 in morning. Especially truck's reversing beep signal was rather penetrating. Had to continue our trip anyway on that day, so we got an early start. I wouldn't recommend this for people who stay longer and want to sleep late until the renovations end!

Breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional. I was rather hoping for something local (e.g. kalakukko) for the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Atlas Kuopio, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ParaUnSite
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. I'm pleased you liked our hotel but I am sorry to hear your issues with the bathroom lighting and morning sleep. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction these aspects have caused you. Regarding the parking, I have to say that the expected underground ‘Toriparkki’ has been delayed greatly and the surrounding streets still suffer for this. It’s our hope also that the renovation would be finished soonest. Your comments about breakfast are very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services. Already we have brought some local elements like whitefish and vendace into buffet and plan to find other local specialties to add there. We hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will give our hotel another try. Sincerely Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

In the heart of Kuopio, affordable and newly renovated hotel. Maybe the best place to stay, if you want to explore the city center by foot. You may confront problems when arriving there, streets around the hotel are under construction (july 2013). Just look for signs of hotel, you can`t miss those. All parking lots inside 200m are chargeable, hotel offers fixed price in near garage.

Hotel is busy, good looking and suitable for basic needs. Remember to ask of the views from room. Inyard is total different from views to marketplace. Staff try their best, but there should be more people to get the job done. For example we had to clean our breakfast table by ourselves, and ask for toilet paper from reception after waiting 5 hours housekeeping with "clean my room" -sign on the door handrail. After that housekeeping we noticed that they didn`t change our big towels nor took our ironing staff back to the cupboard. And you have to dry your tears with that toilet paper... there is no tissues available. Should be.

So it`s up to you, if the hotel or the room is not "the thing"... go ahead.

Room Tip: Ask views to the marketplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Atlas Kuopio, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear ZorroF
Thank you for your visit at our hotel and for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased you liked our hotel and the striving efforts of our staff. I am sorry to hear your issues and difficulties with your arrival, breakfast and housekeeping. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction these aspects have caused you. Regarding our bathrooms, we have already ordered nice tissue paper boxes, which will be installed in the coming months. As a new hotel we appreciate every feedback and opportunity to improve our service. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Kuopio. Sincerely Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Atlas numerous times over the last 10 years. Before complete renovation, the hotel was getting run-down and shabby. However, the renovated Atlas is quite an improvement. It is attached to a Sokos department store. You can't ask for a better location - it is in the Keksuska (central square), a short walk to all points of interest in this beautiful city. About a 10 min walk from the Kuopio railway station. Rooms are nicely appointed in the minimalist Finnish style, are rather cozy, clean, with large bathrooms. Beds are exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast buffet (in the Spanish-style restaurant in the lobby) not as extensive as other Finnish hotels, but is actually is generous with a good assortment of items, and plentiful and strong coffee. The restaurant is actually quite good for dinner. Nice sauna in the basement. Staff friendly, competent, and very professional. Highly recommended. Will stay here my next visit to Kuopio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Good sized rooms, staff only ok, breakfast only ok, cleanliness surface only - rooms really not that clean (check the sheets) - location is good. They are doing construction and it s hard to find parking to check in. Parking for hotel is across the street and around a corner - on Sundays no walking entrance open so you have to walk down driving ramp (this would have been good to know at check in) - overall hotel only ok - prob would not stay here again based on room cleanliness

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Atlas Kuopio, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear yukondelly,

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel Atlas Kuopio and for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry that you found our hotel less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product so for this reason your comments worry us and will certainly be looked into. In order to target better the improvements, we have also sent you a personal message to gain more information of your stay.

I am also sorry about the inconvenience regarding the parking facilities. The new parking hall has just recently opened and there are some issues we have to try discuss with the owner of parking facilities. All in all the new parking hall is improvement for the parking challenges we have had.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours sincerely
Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Situated by the market place and all the main sights of Kuopio and just a 15 mins walk from the harbour this hotel does offer a nice and comfortable stay at Kuopio.
Rooms are clean and modern, though missing some "personality".
Breakfast is ok but served near the reception desk so kind of having breakfast in a corridor - the only minus.
Service is friendly, not helpful unless you ask but still you get all the information and help you wish.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: take a room at the top floor, which is the 5th
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlas Kuopio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Kuopio

Address: Haapaniemenkatu 22, Kuopio 70110, Finland
Location: Finland > Eastern Finland > The Lakelands > Kuopio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kuopio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Kuopio 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the Kuopio Marketplace in the Carlson building, the Hotel Atlas Kuopio is a historic hotel of the highest standards, re-opened in May 2012 after a thorough renovation. The new, contemporary Hotel Atlas Kuopio ushers in a new standard of quality for the city. The total of 131 modern rooms, 5 versatile conference rooms including a legendary Atlas-Hall and a restaurant with Spanish twist are ready to fulfill the expectations of guests that want to experience comfort and convenience throughout their stay.There is room-specific cooling in all of our rooms, which means that each of our guests can adjust the room temperature to meet their own personal preference. The price of the room includes an abundant breakfast buffet. All our rooms are smoke-free. Room amenities include also fast wireless Internet connection, flat-screen TV, iron and ironing board, water kettle for coffee and tea, safe deposit box.In addition to standard rooms, you can also select our Superior or Superior Plus rooms or Suites. As an extra comfort some of our rooms come with bath tub, balcony, infrared sauna, whirlpool, Finnish sauna or Mini-Kitchenette. Welcome to Hotel Atlas Kuopio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlas Kuopio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kuopio
Kuopio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Kuopio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.