We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjobaren

Sjobaren
Haga Nygata 25, Gothenburg 41301, Sweden
+46317119780
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Sjobaren is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 895 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the place I bring friends, and visitors from overseas. Seafood is their hallmark, and they do it very well!

If the garden is open, you'll have a heaven close to city center!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    135
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food efficient service and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was in Gothenburg for business with some colleagues and decided to treat ourselves to an inexpensive restaurant and try out the local cuisine. We chose this restaurant after a quick look at tripadvisor and with 20 mins we were seated at our table. We were welcomed very warmly by the manager despite arriving rather late. The service was excellent and the food recommended by him was just as good. Overall a great xprerience and a must with in town. I have been involved in catering myself for over 25 years and this restaurant really has hit the nail on the head

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last fall, my wife and I went from the US to Gothenburg to pick up a new Volvo at the factory. We like seafood and had one night in town. Also, we have food requirements and do not eat shellfish. The owner and restaurant could not have been more accommodating. They understood our needs and prepared a delicious sole dinner. Also, we watched the chef prepare a superb chocolate dessert. Price for wine and dinner was reasonable by Swedish standards. I highly recommend Sjobaren.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Not a fancy restaurant. Charming & delicious, reasonable prices for Sweden. Went for lunch and it was so good, we took friends back for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great, must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is truly great, quiet busy and service different but a must go place for seafood. Very good value for money. Mixed crowd.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjobaren also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Sjobaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjobaren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.