We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg SE-411 17, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Kansas City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed one night at Hotel Avalon. Very Scandinavian. If you like IKEA you'll love this place. The rooms are cleverly designed to maximize space. They've thought of everything. Great beds! Perfect location right in the middle of everything. Restaurant has great wine selection. Can't say enough about Avalon...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    109
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
177
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed a that hotel while attending a conference and we took that opportunity to be in Sweden my fiancé and I to spend our holiday there. The Avalon hotel is part of the Design Hotel, so the hotel and the room have a great design. More than that I think the best asset of the hotel is the staff, it is friendly and really helpful. The location is perfect, it is walking distance of all major attractions in Gothenberg and they are lots of nice restaurant close by. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but we took our breakfast there which was really great.There is a tram station alomost in front, so it is easy to get to everywhere in town. The pool on the roof that you can see from the street is a nice place to spend a couple of hours during the afternoon.

The rooms are nice, although the single rooms are OK if you don't have much luggage. I stayed in 2 other kind of rooms and we had plently of place there. The bed and the the pillow are specially confortable. The only minus is the AC which is not a real AC, if your room is located on the ouest side of the hotel, it get a bit warm in last afternoon and evening if it is hot and sunny outside. But we really had a great experience there and that is why we when back there before we ended our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This hotel is very different than any other hotel I have stayed in! It is a Feng Shui certified hotel and has many unusual touches because of this! As an American who has not traveled extensively in Europe, I am not sure if the things I didn't like were just normal European things or just this place. There was little I didn't like, but one thing I found strange was that there was only one air vent in the room, and it was behind the computer space. In the middle of the day it could be warm in the room and it was not possible to make it cooler. But, overall, I though the place was terrific! The bed was super comfy, the decor very refreshing and the staff amazingly friendly. Plus, the breakfast buffet is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. It has fish, eggs three different ways, 5 or 6 kinds of bread, many coffee and tea and juice choices, fruits, yogurts, meats, fresh veggies, cereal, spreads, and probably something I am forgetting! The overhanging pool is very cool architectual feature, but one of the best things about the hotel is that it is very centrally located and you can easily be there with no car. There is a giant bus and tram stop just out the door and also the airport bus. Here are some tips I wish I knew before I went: most people speak English, but English is not always available for signs and instructions. The bus tickets are best purchased at convernience stores, and for this hotel it is the one right next door to the tourist info office across the street from the hotel. There are no ticket machines near the big bus stop, and the drivers do not sell tickets. To get from the airport to the hotel is easy, but not explained on the hotel website. You can buy a ticket (80SEK) with a credit card on the bus, just right outside the airport door, or buy one in the airport with cash. They are called flybuss, and have the rainbow stripe. The bus stops at Kungsportplatzen and the hotel is just steps away! Sweden is not inexpensive, and we found the food to be very pricey. A McDonald's Hamburger and coke was 52 SEK, or about $7, and a 1 liter bottle of water was 30SEK or about $4. If you eat a good breakfast at the hotel, you can maybe get by with just one other meal. The internet is free, but you need to get a new password each day, and the electricity in the room is activated by putting your room key in a slot by the door. Be sure to read all the info they provide, as they do explain many things, and it helps ease the frustrations of getting the room to work for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Wow - this is an amazing hotel. The staff (all of them) were fantastic - friendly, helpful, efficient, professional. The rooms were great. Incredibly comfortable beds and powerful showers. No bath in the en suite but this didn't bother me at all. The highlight of this hotel is the roof top pool that over hangs the building and has glass walls and floor. If you swim in it with goggles, as I did, it is the closest thing you can get to flying that I have experienced. Oh, and the breakfasts were great too...real orange juice, really fresh fruit, great scrambled eggs and lots more. This hotel really deserves its no. 1 status.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights for midsummer weekend. Everything positive in these reviews is accurate. Had a Deluxe room on the 6th floor with a Terrace overlooking the square. One of the most amazing views from any hotel anywhere. It could been on the last page of Conde Naste Traveler ("Room with a View"). Excellent linens, toiletries, and FABULOUS breakfast buffet with very high quality items. Dual sinks and separate tub in the bathroom, B&O TV, radio, and DVD player. An incredibly comfortable room the size of a Jr. Suite in most hotels. And that terrace... easily 40-50 ft. or more in length and 10ft deep furnished with 2 nice chairs and a table. My only suggestions for improvement (and the reason this is a 4-star and not a 5-star property) is that there is no evening turndown service/linen refreshment (always had to call for fresh towles, ugh) and there is no gym at all! A nearby gym is available at close to US40 per person! The Avalon should really rectify these 2 issues (could be done pretty easily I think) in order to rise to a truly world-class top tier facility. But again, I would definitely NOT hesitate to stay here again. Great staff, rooms, and food overall. And even in Sweden where all things are mighty expensive for Americans, I felt that it was a good value. Thanks, Avalon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed in the hotel in april this year. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are marvellous and have nice design. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good for a lunch or dinner. The hotel is in the centre of the city and when it´s nice weather (we were very lucky in april) they have a nice terrace outside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel is really unique. As central as you can get ,close to lovely small design boutiques and shopping malls and in the beginning of the Avenue were there are many restaurants and places to take a drink and relax.
We had a lovely 4-course dinner in the restaurant and the the food was lovely and tha staff so serviceminded.
We really loved this hotel and we can not wait to get back.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg SE-411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.