We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Gothenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Upper House to your Saves list
Upper House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24, 25th floor, Gothenburg 412 51, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
North Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Gothenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only stayed one night here with my husband, who was attending a conference, but I would love to return. Room (2301) was spacious, modern, very well equipped (2 TVs!) and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was luxurious. Staff are friendly and helpful. As someone who doesn't really like heights I was a bit worried about being on the 23rd floor, but after a short while I got used to it and really enjoyed the wonderful view. There was a little noise from the outside lift which adjoins this room, but it didn't really bother me and I slept very well. Breakfast in the restaurant on the 25th floor was first-class with hot food cooked to order and a varied buffet. Ideal location, on the edge of town, but within walking distance of everything (35 minutes at an average pace to the Inner Harbour). Very nice lunch in the West Coast restaurant on the ground floor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
67
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

What a great hotel this is! Truly amazing... The hotel is in central Gothenburg, in front of the traffic junction Korsvagen, so it's very easy to reach other parts of the city. But it takes only 20-30 minutes to reach the city center by foot and it's actually great fun to walk. The hotel itself is great. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The kingsize bed is extremely comfortable and also the bathroom is well equiped with a rainshower and a bath. An extra bonus is the spa, which is free for guests of Upper House. After a long day in the city or when the weather isn't that nice, it's very nice to relax in the spa. You can choose your own products to use in the Spa, there's an oriental style kit or a kit with products based on ingredients from the west coast of Sweden. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. Breakfast was also of a very high standard: fresh ingredients at the buffet and also a menu to order hot dishes like pancakes with raspberry or scrambled eggs. Delicious! Also the restaurant is great, a waiter told us the aim is 2 Michelin stars, so you can imagine ;-) So overall it was a great experience to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Five floors 21st to 25th in the Gothia towers one of the few skyscrapers in Gothenburg, finally this relatively small "big city" has a proper hotel with top class rooms, location, service and restaurant.
I stayed two nights. Rooms are spacious, in modern and good taste.
The best, I must say, are the beds. Just fantastic beds with the "pillow menu" that go with it.
You can say what you like, but they give you all chances to have a good nights sleep and that pretty much guarantees your stay.
People are young but professional. You ask for anything, they will understand your demands and execute.
The breakfast was very good in it's particular nordic way.
Being at the 25th floor the view is breathtaking with the possibility to enjoy it from the terrace.
Further amenity is the transparent swimming pool, hanging from outside the building, scary but new.
Will definitely stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: It seems to me that most rooms are good and pretty equal in it's standard and orientation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Probably Scandinavias best hotell. Quiet, nice, not crowded spa with panorama windows all over inclufing sauna. Outdoor hanging glass pool. Extremely nice rooms with view including from the bathtub. Excellent breakfast with local and healthy food. Perfect oasis for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at the Upper House two nights in April and I must say I was very impressed of the hotel and its concept. As a frequent traveller with many nights a year in hotels around the globe, it is not often a hotel makes such a positive impression on me!

The theme throughout the stay was tranquillity and excellent service in a relaxing but elegant ambiance. The staff in the hotel was very professional and especially Ebru working in the reception as she offered an exceptional good and knowledgeable service with a smile on her face throughout my whole stay :-)

The room and the general areas were decorated in a contemporary design with a feel of Sweden and its west coast with the best view in town as a bonus. The bed was of top quality and all amenities you could ask for could be found in the room. The breakfast which included mainly locally produced products were very carefully selected and the idea with a tasting menu of different small hot breakfast dishes was like a top Swedish smörgasbord!

As a hotel guest, I was also offered free entrance to the spa and that was an extraordinary experience to swim in the outdoor pool "hanging out" from the 20th floor. The variety of different pools, saunas and relaxing areas were something extra that you do not often find in one single spa. Just wished I had had more time to spend there .....

For me, it is not if but when I can return to this very special gem in the heart of Gothenburg!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Upper House is a superb hotel, full stop. As you walk by the masses waiting to check in to the Gothia Hotel, you bask in the pleasure of being whisked up to the 25th floor to your own private check-in experience, glass of bubbly in hand, and a guided introduction to your room. The rooms are wonderful. Although we only booked a superior room, it was spacious, well planned, comfortable, luxurious, and quiet. The floor to ceiling windows looking over the city were wonderful and added total privacy. The bathroom was of very high quality with many products for use and luxurious towels. The bed was heavenly. The air conditioning perfect. The Upper House, is just that - a small hotel on top of the larger one. You are made to feel special. You, of course, pay for that pleasure but rest assured there is quality gained in the price you pay.

The na,esake restaurant is superb. Simply put, we had one of our top five meals of our lives on Saturday night. Four hours of absolutely stupendous food creations, perfectly paired with wine, served in an extremely comfortable and private table environment with a view of the city below. The 15-ish course meal was stunning and certainly rivals the best of any in the Nordic countries (yes - NOMA included).

The spa was nice but represented the only mediocre moment in our stay. Although well equipped, the whole spa experience was confusing and somewhat poorly laid out. There are no lockers for example. You need to come from your room in your bathing suit (required unfortunately), your flipflops and your robe. Upon arrival you are given towels and a tour. For Upper House guests, you get a spa amenity kit which was a nice touch, although somewhat difficult to use in the setting. The spa is open to all hotel guests, not just for Upper House and thus tends to be well attended. Privacy and quiet are difficult to find here, but the hot pool cantilevered outside of the building on the 20th floor is worth the effort.

All in all, this is an extremely expensive but absolutely wonderful hotel. If you are searching for that romantic, quiet getaway with your significant other, look no further. And please get a reservation for dinner.

Room Tip: Any. Even the lowest level superior rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A 5 star experience through and through! From an exclusive, professional and friendly checkin we started with a complimentary drink at the bar with a fantastic view over the city. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet with again a fantastic view. Really comfortable beds and quiet rooms made for a great night sleep. We started the next day at the spa before breakfast. Also exclusive with several saunas, hamman, and pools ( the outside pool is a real experience) . Plus for the classy robe . I even enjoyed the "cold bucket" experience after the sauna. A frequent hotel guest , hotel breakfasts sometimes stress me out even at 5 stars. This was a great experience with a small exclusive restaurant where you can choose from a cold buffet and then order warm smaller dishes straight from the kitchen. The scrambled eggs, omelette and American pancake where all delicious. Overall a proper 5 star experience with a personal yet professional twist. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper House

Address: Massans gata 24, 25th floor, Gothenburg 412 51, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper House is Gothenburg's newest 5 star hotel with spacious guestrooms and suites located in the city centre. Guests will enjoy excellent service and gourmet dining experience. The hotel includes three floors of Spa & Relax, Turkish Haman and outdoor pool, all included for the Upper House guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.