We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Odin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Odin to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Odinsgatan 6, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Odin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I used this hotel when attending the European Indoor Athletic Championships. The hotel staff were welcoming with good English. The dinner buffet was much more substantial than expected and made the room excellent value. Breakfast was also a substantial meal. The free wi-fi was also excellent.
The hotel seemed popular with families due to the larger rooms available.
I was able to check in on my first day despite arriving before the normal check-in time (but was part of a large group) The hotel is convenient for central Gothenburg but the views were not a feature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    148
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
93
144
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I all fairness I did have a superior room, but asi travel a lot I have discovered that superior doesn't always mean the same, but at this hotel they really mean superior!!
The room was huge and had a kitchen / living room area which was really nice, the view was across the railroads but the thick window glass didn't let any sounds disturb you.
Everything felt fresh and the furnitures was newish and modern.
The bed was good size and offered good sleeping quality.
The bathroom had a good size and also here it was fresh and modern.

Breakfast buffet offered all you could want, so o complaints here either, all in all a really good hotel in a central position in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for families travelling with kids. Great value for money with large rooms (standard or family). The breakfast and dinner buffets (and of curse the afternoon-coffe with fruit or cake) was a great success with both kids and the parents - and included in the price. Great staff too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was on business trip and stayed in this hotel for a week. It is located near the center of the Gothenburg market Brunsparken. Railway station is few steps away from the hotel.
The staff was very good and I enjoyed the stay here.
The room size is very good and the room has very well equipped kitchen. Any body willing to cook by themself can opt for this hotel. Also the breakfast and dinner was provided in hotel and I enjoyed both the meals everyday

Room Tip: Go for 7th Floor, will have a good view of city from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good value as price includes breakfast and dinner buffet. Rooms are basic but very clean and well-maintained. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The larger rooms have a kitchenette area which is great. Some rooms don't have a shower cubicle - just a curtained-off area so whole bathroom floor gets wet when you shower. A lot of the rooms seem to have interior windows so not good if you like fresh air and daylight. Beds are quite small and a "double" is 2 small singles pushed together.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having stayed in a fairly overpriced Stockholm hotel before, I wasn't sure what to expect from Gothenburg. The Clarion Collection Odin, well exceeded all expectations and I would highly recommend it to anyone who stays in Gothenburg. As Gothenburg is pretty small, it is in a good location in order to walk everywhere.

The hotel was very close (approx 200 metres) to Central Station and Nils Ericson (where the Airport bus stops). You know how hotel websites claim to be 'close' to the station? This one actually is. Don't get confused with the Clarion Post. We stopped there knowing it was the wrong place, and the staff were very friendly, but if you see the Clarion post, just keep walking stright, and you will find it.

The staff are so friendly and so accomodating. Arriving late, we had missed the complimentary Dinner Buffet, but we were offfered 2 sandwiches each, hot drinks and fruit on our 10PM arrival.

The room was spacious, with a bunk bed, if required, in fold away design. We were facing away fromteh train station, so we couldn't hear trains, nor could we hear road traffic.

A massive breakfast spread is offered in the morning, with full English, cold European meat styles, pancakes and continental offered.

Best of all, especially as Sweden is fairly expensive, is the DINNER BUFFET. I don't want to ruin any suprises, but it's worth a look in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Odin for 4 nights, when due to Book Festival there was very little availability in Gothenburg. Price includes breakfast & evening meal, both of which were good quality buffets. Choice on the evening was limited but quality was fine & given the cost of dining out in Gothenburg, good value. Rooms are large & have a kitchen area with cooker, fridge etc (you have to hire utensils if you want to cook yourself). Hotel itself looks like a converted office block but is well located, close to the centre of the city & main railway/bus station.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing outside, rooms inside get very little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Odin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Odin

Address: Odinsgatan 6, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Odin)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Odin 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Odin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Odin Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Gothenburg
Clarion Collection Hotel Gothenburg
Clarion Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Odin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.