We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a safe bet in down town Gothenburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Oslo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely a safe bet in down town Gothenburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

After having stayed at the Novotel 1 night, the Radisson SAS comes as a surprise. It is definitely the best Radisson SAS I've stayed in, very close to a 5 stars rating. Indeed, the location is perfect, the building is nicely integrated in the city and the inside very well designed. The common areas could be a bit more modern but most of it has been already renovated, like the elevators for instance. Check in was perfect, as I was very well received. The concierge was polite and very helpful, definititely willing to provide assistance. My room (a standard one), was very roomy and clean. The bed was very comfy, just as it should be (they have Hästens maddras). The TV is not a Flat Screen model though, but as in all Radisson SAS, High Speed Internet is free. I also used the hotel gym on the bottom floor. It's separately run, and costs normaly an extra SEK 50, but I got it for free. It's bigger than most hotel gyms with plenty of machines, about 6-8 running slots, and a class room. There is also a swimming pool and a sauna. The breakfast has all you expect, special mention to the fresh Orange Juice (you still have to make it yourself though), which is much better than the industrial stuff most hotels use these days. Finally, there is a valet service for your car (my colleague had his own), which is definitely worth the extra SEK250 for the night, as it is extremely practical. The conclusion is, this is a high quality hotel, with a few extra efforts they could actually almost turn this place into a Regent (the 5 star chain in the same group). I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    343
    109
    30
    4
See reviews for
135
232
25
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We arrived at night after a very long day/night of traveling, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Heading up to the room, the hotel is very clean and quiet. The room is one of the "chili rooms" with a large chile on the wall - Our view is the front of the hotel. The windows actually open to hear the sounds of the city and watch the snow fall the next day!

The shower is great (big +), Beds are comfortable. TV was very small, but is ok.

Not much space to put your clothes only a couple of shelves next to the hanging clothes.
Hot Tea :) and instant coffee :( available in room.

Morning breakfast - there were so many choices I am glad I will get to try more things each day we stay.(scrambled eggs,bacon,potatoes,baked beans,breads,boiled eggs, lots of fruits and juices,cereal,yogurt, coffee and english morning tea)
~ Food was great.

I havent found a coke(soda) machine ,but there is an ice machine on each floor.

+ Free Wifi

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night only with my husband. We got a very competetive price since we stayed during the weekend.

Though we did not spend that much time in the hotel, we were both very pleased with it. It has perfect location, the room was big and airy and the breakfast buffet plentiful. I would certainly recommend it to anyone staying in Göteborg.

  • Liked — Location and good value
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

I am a big fan of SAS Raddison and they normally are my preferred hotels when I'm traveling on business trips. Always good rooms for working and the Gothenburg one is no exception. This place has all you need and the the free wifi is very convenient.
Rooms are large, and the breakfast is good with a wide selection.

I've also stayed here on holiday since its close to the central station and only a short walk from the Kungsports avenue.
Getting around in Gothenburg is a breeze since all the trams run near by.

The only bad thing about this place is trying to drive to it yourself. It is in the middle of several one way street roads. It can be pretty hard to find and since they dont have parking you have to use the public one that has you drive around the block and if you dont have a good sense of direction, you may get lost trying to find the way back.

Last time I was there my car was broken into, nothing the hotel can do about this, but the hotel staff actually help me fix the window with some plastic and tape so I could drive my 250 km back to Oslo.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My husband and I were there back in April (08) en route to pick up our new volvo. It was the begining of a driving trip from Gothenburg to Germany, Switzerland and France.

I have to say, it was the best hotel I stayed in during our entire trip. For accomodations, I generally prefer a modern feel. And defintely cleanliness is a must. This hotel fufilled both of those requirements. Our room overlooked the atrium which was both weird and kind of cool at the same time. Although we ended up keeping our shades closed the entire time.

The bathroom was chockful of nice shampoos/conditioners/lotions, etc. Later in my trip I was kicking myself for not taking my soap bar and shampoo/conditioner since many places we stayed at were missing some or all of those elements.

And the breakfast was superb. A huge buffett with everything you could ask for AND it was good quality.

Check in and out was speedy. Oh, and if you are driving, expect to drive around the block a few times. Even though we saw the hotel (and stayed there a few years earlier) we couldn't quite find the right road to turn down. And that was WITH our garmin. We finally got there and handed our car over to valet. If I recall correctly, the valet was a bit pricey, but it IS a major city in Sweden, so that is to be expected.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — finding the entrancewith our car
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

The hotel is located a short walk from the train station and from the sights of Gothenburg.
Our room was a good size and overlooked the inner atrium which meant no street noise. As with the other Radissons we stayed at on this trip there was free wireless internet access in the room using your own laptop which is always a good feature.
The breakfast was just ok, nothing to rave about but overall the hotel was excellent and I'd stay again if I return to Gothenburg.

  • Liked — Location and free internet access
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I live in Stockholm but do some work in Gothenburg. This is my regular hotel in Gothenburg and I have maybe 40-50 nights spent here. It's an excellent hotel for business travellers. Nice, recently refurbished rooms, free wifi, a good atrium bar where you can wind down after a work day while catching up on e-mails. And maybe grabbing a snack from the bar menu.

Most guests are here for business or conference and you very rarely see tourists or families. This makes the hotel a bit boring but efficient.I personally like it because you are not considered odd if you eat/drink alone in the bar.

I mostly stay in the regular room but have on occasion stayed in the "business class" rooms. If you have a choice, just go for the regular room and save some money. The only difference is free pay-tv and breakfast. Otherwise the rooms are identical.

The hotel is popular and reserving a room well in advance is recommended.

The location is in the very center of Gothenburg, just a minute from the train central station and the huge shopping mall Nordstan. Also just nearby is Avenyn with all restaurants.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — No proper shower cubicles
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.