We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great American-Style Comfort in Goteborg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great American-Style Comfort in Goteborg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Goteborg Blu is modeled after typical American atrium-style business hotels - but delivers a more elegant execution. This property is clearly designed to appeal to upscale business travelers for Volvo and the major drug companies in town. The Goteborg Blue also is the choice of Volvo for people coming in to pick up cars at the factory - which we were. Volvo is definitely showing you the love by putting you here.

Rooms are big - American-sized, plus. And they're appointed in a typically Swedish fashion. Hardwood floors, new clean Swedish furnishing and goosedown underbedding and duvets make the rooms very Swedishly elegant. Our room was spotless. The room includes a complimentary coffee maker and a lightly stocked honor bar.

The bathroom also is American sized, with raw black granite tile floors and marble walls in the shower. And, it's a real full-curtain, American-style shower head, with a secondary wand system for Europeans. Lighting is outstanding in both the bath and bedroom. Cleanliness was A+ throughout.

The hotel's location is great, with local trolleys running out front, and shopping in several directions. Plus, it's an easy walk to the water. Do try the Fiske Krugen restaurant down to the left almost to the water for first class seafood. The hotel can guide you, but it's literally 3.5 blocks to your left. Look for the gold lobster logo over the door.

The hotel is in a quiet location, and with catering to businesspeople and Volvo buyers, was extremely quiet on the Monday night we stayed. WiFi seemed good, although we only used it lightly. The downstairs bar was open pretty late, if you want an after dinner drink.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and included both American (eggs and bacon) and European regulars (cheeses, sliced sandwich meats, soft-boiled eggs). The Swedes must have a lot of blueberries, as that, plus some kind of rosehip concoction, were offered among the usual juices. The cured salmon is, of course, always good. And be brave - try some pickled herring for breakfast. You'll feel like a native.

I'm sure the property has workout and other amenities, but we were only there one night, and didn't use any of those.

If business or a new Volvo takes you to Goteborg, the Radisson Blu Scandinavian is a grade-A hotel in this class and price range.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street, with no major roads near it. Even the trolley's rolling by out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    344
    110
    30
    4
See reviews for
135
234
25
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for few weeks and enjoyed the stay here..
• Location (the best possible in Gothenburg).
• Rooms – clean, well-equipped, spacious.
• Service which is always impeccable and makes you feel incredibly welcome.
• Complimentary Wifi everywhere (albeit veeeery slow at times).
• Good breakfast (Need more options for Vege lovers).
The only thing that this hotel could change would be to offer good internet connectivity. This lack is the one reason we have considered looking at other hotel options.
And what would be nice would be if the hotel at some point acknowledged frequent guests – I am not saying with special offers, but at least with a more personalized greeting.

Room Tip: If you are looking for good internet conenctivity you have to compromise for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

lovely hotel. excellent location. We were upgraded to a suite (without extra charge and without asking) and had a balcony and a lovely view. We also had another room without a view (we are a family of six) which was also nice. The rooms were clean and plesent. We loved the Nespresso coffee machine. But most of all they had the most comfortable mattresses we have encountered in almost any hotel (and we are frequent travelers).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although perhaps not the most modern décor, I really enjoyed the large-sized rooms (compared to European standard). Staff was friendly and the conference facilities served us well. Foodwise, what impressed me most was the mid-break buffet with so-called "brainfood". I found the lunch and breakfast to be fairly standard. Just across the the road from the central train station and next to the main shopping street makes the location perfect. Oh yes, I really loved the beds!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms that face a street so the windows can be opened rather than windows/rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askeby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed as family of 4 this time in a 3-room suite. Rooms were clean, service was excellent, as was breakfast. We were here before as a couple, also a very nice stay. Parking might be a problem, though. Tip: Try the rhubarb compote next to the youghurt at the breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Radisson Blu hotels tend to be good and this one is not an exception. The hotel is modern, the rooms are comfortable and service is friendly. The only real downside with this hotel was the price: if I would have been paying myself, I would have probably chosen a cheaper hotel - although the central location justifies the price.

The standard rooms have their window facing on the atrium of the hotel, so don't expect street views.

The breakfast is ok for a hotel of this standard.

The hotel is in the heart of the city center with everything located nearby. The central station is opposite to the hotel and the bus station (Nils Ericson terminal) is just next to the station.

From the airport, there is a minibus service directly to the hotel every 30 minutes (price 200 SEK / person). Another alternative is a bus to the bus station for 99 SEK / person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I booked my stay with my Star Alliance FF points this time. Did not get a great room, but a room but inside view. apparently on this hotel Use of FF points gives lowest priority. They says they had rooms with view but I could have any.
(on some other Blu hotels I sometimes get a suite)
Despite this, the hotel is ok.. Not great, not bad... But average. Only a 20' old tv in room.
Location is good to visit the town and nightlife.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg

Address: Sodra Hamngatan 59, Gothenburg 401 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Radisson Gothenburg
Gothenburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.