We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, spoilt by poor sound insulation in room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Post to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Post
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drottningtorget 10, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, spoilt by poor sound insulation in room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is an impressive looking building and reception area, very friendly staff (in general) and in a good location with convenient access to trains, trams and taxis. It is also a popular place for corporate events, which is where my 2 issues with the place arise, my room was located on level 3 near the main lifts and seemed to be near/above where the corporate event room was, so for at least 2 nights of my 4 night stay there was a very noticeable thudding notice from the dj/speaker playing. To be fair to the hotel I did not report this matter and so they did not have a chance to fix the situation (due to the event running I had assumed all rooms were booked). In the end I fell asleep will my in ear headphones in place which did the trick. I was disappointed with the restaurant service, 4 of us (guests) wanted to eat and waited for about 5 mins to be seen, then the waitress said she would ask her manager if there was a space and she walked off, the next time we saw her was around 5 mins later and she had gone back to serving food, the 2nd person that served us said there was no space, even though the bar tables next to the restaurant were empty. My 2 thoughts here are that you are missing out on revenue by not using this space, secondly, customer service - just telling hotel guest you are full, and no apology does not go down well with the guests that you want to retain. The following week I stayed at the radison blu across the street

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Andrew B
Allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your Clarion Post experience with us. We are delighted to read that you find our staff very friendly in general. Your compliment has been passed on to our service team.

The negative yet constructive feedback about our noisy room and restaurant service was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post this time . You should of course be able to sleep without any disturbance from other hotel guests .

Please be assured that we also put in a lot of effort to create a better service level even at times when we are fully booked. The goal is to prioritize our hotel guest to ensure them a place at our restaurant. The general response of our guests so far is very positive. We will however make some adjustments to the matter in the near future.

Your comments will be taken into consideration during this process and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    264
    85
    44
    15
See reviews for
96
260
13
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Clarion Post is a superb hotel from the outside, a fantastic old building with modern touches blending in superbly with the surrounding architecture. The lobby area is roomy and comfortable and amnned by helpful reception staff. The rooms (or the one I had) aren't the largest but what they lack in size the make up for in comfort. Big comfortable bed, clean, well equipped bathroom and decent views over the city of Gothenburg.

The bar area is lively and welcoming and definitely a good space to spend an evening. The only down side (costing a 5 star review) is the frustrating wifi - yes it's free but it continually logs you off for no apparent reason meaning retrieving and reentering your username and password repeatedly.

Room Tip: Keep your wifi password with you as you'll need it repeatedly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest relation Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Pjmoorhouse,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about your stay on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Your kind words about the superb hotel and fantastic old building and the helpfull and attentive reception staff are also very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent a week here in August on a business trip. The building, a former post office, is quite majestic from the outside, while featuring a mostly modern, clean design inside. The original building has been augmented with a modern addition--a high-rise of, I think, 13 stories. My room was in the new section and, while on the small side, did not feel cramped. The bed, and especially the giant pillow (which they offer for sale), was extremely comfortable. The room was impeccably clean, and housekeeping services during my stay were very good.

The hotel's breakfast buffet was quite expansive, with, among many other things, a wonderful selection of fresh-baked breads each morning, and tasty home-made jams. I know the hotel's restaurant is well-regarded, but I didn't get around to trying it. I did, though, sample some food in the hotel's very cozy bar (it reminds one of maybe a book shop), and that was very good---the shrimp sandwich especially, washed down with a bottle of the hotel's own brand of beer.

Also, the front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The location is very convenient, right next to the central rail and bus station. If you're flying into Gothenburg (Landvetter airport), it is very convenient to take the bus (the Flygbussarna) to downtown, and so the hotel is easy to get to, being next to the station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, GRM at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Jimdolmas,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Clarion Hotel Post for your stay in Gothenburg and for sharing your views about the hotel on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind words about our staff make us very proud and have brightened the day of the entire team. Furthermore, we are very happy that you are enjoying the breakfast and bar.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located, offer great dining opportunities, the spa is well equipped and our room was just great. We were upgraded to a suite and had really good service during our stay. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I used to work for a 5* hotel group, staying in their hotels around the country (UK) and enjoying the pleasures of such rated hotels, then I stayed in the Clarion Post hotel in Gothenburg and my expectations of a high-quality hotel changed.

This hotel is stunning as you approach from the outside and even better once inside. The bar area and reception is perfectly designed, modern and elegant. The bar area even has a great atmosphere, rare for most hotels these days.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, brand new without a single point worth considering complaining about, they're all also very different and unique which shows that the designer has not simply put together a series of identical boxes.

The food is great too although I disagree with charging to bring food to the room when the prices are at the Swedish level (£25 for a steak and chips, despite being worth every Krona).

And then there is the roof-top pool, despite being the middle of winter and -15c this pool is heated and an absolute pleasure to dive into.

I stay here very often for work but would happily bring family, friends and my partner to this property, I simply cannot complain. It is in the center of Gothenburg and a stones throw away from virtually any destination nearby to which you might want to travel.

In my opinion, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at, its just a shame that its in Gothenburg, a city of few other treasures.

Room Tip: Signup for the Nordic Choice club and you'll get upgrades and other benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sergeant Ash ,

Wow 5 stars ! Thank you for you long and extensive review. Realy nice of you to take your time sharing your experience from the Clairon Hotel Post. . Especially pleased over the positive s remarks about food and design are much appreciated. "Stunning as you approach " I will probably use that frase . Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire Clarion Hotel Post team.

Ash it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Lars
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Post is a really classy hotel in the center of Gothenburg, with lovely interior and classy design. The beds are wonderful (as in most of the Choice hotels), and I had a really good night sleep in my soft bed. Delicious breakfast with good selection, I was especially impressed by the selection of bread.... And my daughter really loved the heated, rooftop pool. The location is perfect, as central as you can get in Gothenburg. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Nemi,
Great hearing from you. And we are so happy for all the stars you give us. Glad that we met your expectation and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please send me an e-mail when you are on your way to Göteborg next time.

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Perfectly situated, near the traisstation, the trams and the city centre. Good and reasonably priced parking across the street. An impressive entrance with space and cool decorations. A friendly receptions staff that recognices you when you return weeks later. A fantastic restaurant Norda, with superb service even when you dine alone. The rooms are spacious and perfect for working. The room service can be recomended if you are working late and need a snack.
I think everyone, from vegetarians to beef eaters, can find something they like at the breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit and fresh juices. Perhaps a little dull on the meatproducts, but the pancakes are superb.
Definitely a superb business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear SalbergH
Thank you for a fabulous review . We have said it before and will say it again . Just love a five star review . We are especially happy to hear that you have recognized our friendly staff and our restaurant as fantastic . Also like to hear that our reception staff recognizes you when you arrive.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards,
Lars.olemyr@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: Drottningtorget 10, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Åkareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the façade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper – the same materials used in the original post office building.The façade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Åkareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.