We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better the second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Save Saved
You added Spar Hotel Majorna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karl Johansgatan 66-70, Gothenburg 41455, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Gothenburg
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better the second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of a six week trip an DC four at the end.Rooms were big,spotless, cheerful friendly and helpful staff. Parking for fifty cars, first come first served.Buffet was gteat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am very please you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Spar Hotel Majorna & Spar Hotel Gårda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    151
    59
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
55
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farum, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On transit in Gothenburg we stayed at the Spar Hotel Majorna. It is a budget hotel, but tidy, fine service, small but comfortable rooms. Non smoking. Good breakfast and parking facilities, as well as internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bäste gäst,

tack för ditt omdöme om din vistelse hos oss.
Det är glädjande att du är så nöjd med ditt besök, jag hoppas du återkommer snart igen, varmt välkommen tillbaka!
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very customer friendly hotel. The room was clean and fresh. The staff was very helful. Breakfast is served until 12 noon during summer! There's even an ice maker next to the dining room. The hotel's parking is free but it can get full during these high season days, but we were able to use the next door public parking for 12kr/hour day time. I would definitely choose to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Kära gäst,

tack för ditt fina omdöme om din vistels hos oss.
Det är väldigt glädjande att ni har haft en trevlig vistelse, och jag önskar er varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss.
Med vänlig hälsning
Terese Wibeck
Hotelldirektör
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I just looked for a hotel to spend one night at during a cross-country trip. when I pulled up I doubt my choice, as the neighborhood did not look so great (though someone familiar with the area might disagree). But the hotel was great: renovated, modern, clean. The room and bathroom were good and comfortable. Breakfast was great! There is free parking available, unfortunately the garage was full when I checked in. all-in-all: good choice for a one night stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWibeck, General Manager at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Majorna is a residencial area in the west areas of Göteborg, with a relaxed atmosphere, inhabited with many young couples and families, and very popular for it´s close location to the city center.
I am very happy to read that you are satisified with your stay with us, and hope that you will return soon again.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was half a business and half a lesure trip. Everything was precisely as we expected. We booked a small double. The room was small, but clean. The bed was comfortable and its size 140 was enough for us. The bathroon was tidy. As for budget hotel the breakfast was perfect. There were plenty of cold dishes and hot was enough, bread was good too. Location was convinient to reach many areas of the city by tram. The garage was a big advantage for us too. As a result, everything was perfect for this price (95 EUR per night) in such a country as Sweden :)
Disadvantage: We couldn't sleep with open window because of the traffic noise outside. But we had known about that before staying here, therefore we didn't have any complaints about that.

Room Tip: I guess maybe rooms not on the main street side but on the yard side would be beter because of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: Karl Johansgatan 66-70, Gothenburg 41455, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with bar and breakfast buffet is located near the ferry terminals; 3 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spar Hotel Majorna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.