We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but needs better management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Europa Gothenburg to your Saves list
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nils Ericsonsgatan 21 | Box 11444, Gothenburg 41103, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Good hotel but needs better management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is actually a very nice hotel with reasonably sized rooms, but the cleanliness let it down. Either our room was not cleaned before we arrived, or the people cleaning the room have a poor attitude. Management of standards is badly needed. Faeces on the toilet seat was the worst. Hair in the shower, French fries on the floor, rubbish left in cupboards, wet drink stains on bedside table….you get the picture.
That said, they were very sincerely apologetic, and everything else really was very excellent. So maybe it was just bad luck for us on this occasion. But damage done. I hope they get it fixed, it would be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Down_Under01

Thank you so much for sharing your views about Scandic Europa. The problem areas that you experienced during your stay are very worrying and require immediate attention. I have no adequate excuses to present in order to shed light on what occured in order for you to be checked in to a filthy room. Nevertheless, i will bring this review with me and discuss with my colleagues.

Once again, thank you very much for highlighting this and i hope that you will return to Scandic Europa in the future and hopefully experience a better quality.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    184
    121
    44
    10
See reviews for
69
89
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel lobby under construction and needs updating, but clean and great front staff. Breakfast was excellent. Location cannot be beat. Right across from central train station, buses and near airport. Hotel is attached to a very nice mall with many restaurants. Have a luggage room so you can leave your luggage after checkout and pick up when you're ready to leave the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear valrieabd

Thank you so much for sharing your views and thoughts from your stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback and fantastic for us to hear that you got great service during your stay. I hope that you will find time to come and visit us again to experience the new Scandic Europa once the refurbishment is done in october.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Perfect location in the middle of Gothenburg. Efficient service. Everything worked as expected. Nice big rooms. Breakfast is good although crowded as buffet is in a relative small area. Soundproof Windows.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear DisneyDenmark

Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your last stay at Scandic Europa. It is wonderful to learn that we have provided services above your expectations. Once the refurbishment is done in october we will have ample space for our guests to enjoy our fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I wish you a great summer and a warm welcome back to Scandic Europa.

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Location is perfect - Just opposite Gothenburg Central Station. Hotel lobby was under construction during my visit, but the rooms were great - traditional nordic style. There's a shopping mall next to the hotel, and there is a supermarket underground of the shopping mall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Joannamianmian

Thank you very much for your feedback from your last stay at Scandic Europa. We are always excited to welcome our guests to be part of the transformation of Scandic Europa. We are gradually progressing with the refurbishment and are very happy to take part of our guests experience at our hotel and thus improve. Please come and visit us again and be part of Gothenburgs most interesting transformation.

Wish you a pleasant summer.

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel almost every time I have been in Gothenburg for running the half marathon. It is located very central and the rooms are clean and OK. Last time I stayed in the hotel the restaurant didn’t met my expectations. Next time I go to Gothenburg I probably stay at the hotel again, but I think I will have my dinner outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Google Translation
Hej Pontus

Hoppas din sommar har startat väl. Tack så mycket för att du har tagit dig tiden att dela med dig av din senaste upplevelse på Scandic Europa. Det är alltid glädjande att ta del av våra gästers funderingar samt förslag på förbättringar. Vi jobbar väldigt aktivt med att förändra vårt utbud i restaurangen, vi har kommit en bra bit på vägen men har lite kvar innan vi öppnar för fullt i oktober. Jag hoppas att du besöker oss snart för att ta del av utvecklingen.

Vänligen hälsningar

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed many a time at this hotel and, obviously, as I keep coming back I must be satisfied. That's true but for some time now they have been renovating the hotel which caused disturbances in the past but now the entire ground floor is in the hands of the builders although the new reception area is ready.

I am sure that when all works are completed, the hotel will merit a higher ranking but, for now, and "average" is all it gets.

The cleaning was a bit under the acceptable level too but, to be fair, it is difficult to keep a place clean when construction work is going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Stephen C

Thank you very much for your fair and clear feedback. It is great to learn that you understand the current circumstances and that you have continued faith in us.

I hope that you will return in october to experience the new hotel and the improved services. I wish you a great summer.

Kind regards.

Jakob W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect - in the heart of Gothenburg, steps from the water and around the corner from the mall. Hotel lobby was under construction during my visit, but the rooms were great - clean and spacious. Great views from higher floors.

Room Tip: Higher floor, lower #'s (along the front hallway, facing the train station).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear MileHigh TravelBug

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Scandic Europa. Once the renovation i completed in October 2014 the experience as a whole will be great. Nevertheless, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.

We wish you a great summer and hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Europa Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: Nils Ericsonsgatan 21 | Box 11444, Gothenburg 41103, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Europa Gothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.