We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great huzzle and buzzle bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Thai Kitchen

Moon Thai Kitchen
Kristinelundsgatan 9 | Avenyn, Gothenburg 411 37, Sweden
031 - 774 28 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 853 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great huzzle and buzzle bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've had great thai-food in Sweden and Europe before. Anyhow, this place made me a great impact in all ways, also the food.
But the biggest surprise was that the very first time I felt the authentic beach bar atmosphere and crazy Thailand huzzle and buzzle in an Europe. Nothing was organized though everything worked perfectly. An excellent bar with incredible feeling and very tasty food.
All in all, just perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    52
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A bizarre experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Many travel guides rave about this place, so we checked it out. It was a bizarre experience. The decor hit us in the face as stepped inside. The restaurant tried to create an ambiance of a night party at some beach bar in Thailand although I don't think such a place exists. The neon Christmas lights and the dimly-lit room made me dizzy. I couldn't see the menu or my food! The wait staff were dressed in some exotic costume, but not Thai. In my personal opinion, this place misrepresents Thai culture.

The food, however, was strangely good. There were ingredients that didn't belong in the dishes, like random vegetables in the drunken noodles, which made the dish wet and had weird textures and crunch, but the smell, the flavors and the spiciness were right on. So, was it authentic? Well, half of a plate was, and the other half wasn’t. How would you characterize that?

The service was slow, but friendly. The place seemed so popular among local Gothenburgers that you would need a reservation. We walked in without a reservation and lucked out with the only one small table by the entrance even though it was early for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food, fun environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very interesting place. As you walk in, you are greeted by an old VW bus converted to a bar. Tables are set up in a fun and interesting way. Menu's are available in engish and are needed to order the various dishes.. The four of us had six dishes which was plenty to eat as there was much left behind. The food was fantastic. Ordered half moon which had some "hotness" but not much. Prices were very reasonable especially in Gothenburg. We will be back. Mkae sure you make a reservation!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really love the decoration of this place, they even have a minivan inside! You get greated by the smell of jasmine flowers mixed with thai food. And the food is very good and the staff friendly. I only miss the thai beer Chang, which they unfortunately don't serve here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Moon Thai does it all. Great food (though some of it is VERY spicy, so be wary if you can't handle that). The decor and overall atmosphere is awesome. And the prices are very reasonable, especially for Sweden. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Thai Kitchen also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Moon Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.