We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next to highway / in a gas station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Euroway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Euroway Hotel to your Saves list
Euroway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Stigs Center 2D | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 46 , Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 Gothenburg B&B and Inns
Kiel, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“next to highway / in a gas station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel on our Gothenburg stay that fit our budget. Its located on a highway (basically if you go north, you go to Oslo). There is a supermarket, a Subway and a McDonald's in the plaza. You can smell Subway on whole hallways of this hotel, but not in the rooms! Surprisingly, room was spacious and clean. Beds were on a OK level (2.5 out of 5). Although we asked for 1 double bed (visiting as a couple), we got 2 twin beds. Breakfast was not rich but it was good enough and clean and fresh food! They had typical Sweden breakfast.

The best thing is by the means of transportation: You need to take only 1 bus to go to city center, which is Grun line. It takes about 10-15 minutes.

An important tip: Hotel receptionist told us that we can buy bus tickets on the bus with our credit card but in fact when we walked to the bus stop, we asked to a lady if that is possible, just to confirm. She told us that we have to have a ticket or purchase them online on our phone. Since we were tourists, we neither had Sweden phone contracts, nor internet! So we asked her to give us 2 tickets and we paid her. She was so sweet and we were so lucky! So keep in mind to have your City Cards ahead of you or wish for a good Swedish to check out his/her ticket!

I read some other comments about this hotel that are negative. Maybe we were lucky, maybe they changed their "mission" after all those negative comments. I think it was OK. But I mean, hey, if you have time before hand, book a chain hotel and pay less.

This hotel was not our standard, but we stayed here and it was not such a bad experience! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My room was clean, and there was both a chair and table for reading and a desk. The television was large and new, and had local channels plus the BBC. The bathroom was clean, and everything functioned properly. The bed was made nicely with a good comforter and two pillows.

A previous review from Kverulant asked about bread. Well, there is a retail bakery downstairs, and the smell of baking bread was quite nice.

The bowling alley next door had a bar, and people were friendly.

I arrived after the reception was closed and it was a simple matter to call an operator to get a key out of a lockbox.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Difficult to pick a genuine bargain from on-line images - they of course sell them selves well. The truth however is VERY different. I would describe this particular hotel as a DHSS stop over - DO NOT go there for no other reason than the thick dirt both outside and inside the entrance and hallway. Service is rubbish and Breakfast was un palletable!

Buy a tent!

PS: I only scored a 1 because there wasn't a ZERO

Room Tip: Dont even consider it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

There was urine on the floor of bathroom, disgusting, bed was suspiciously damp, stained and smelly. the staff were extremely rude and had no experience in customer service, however if you bowling and vintage elevators this is the place to go. Lived in better conditions when i was homeless, good bye euroway, never shall i return. The managers body odour made me want to heave

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A typical low budget hotel. No personel after 18:00. A lot of noise and a strange very strong smell of yeast. Were someone making bread late at night? Parking OK. Really cheap room price, Rooms clean. Spookey area.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place has had some negative reviews but it is not that bad. It's not in the best part orf town but the rooms are okay and rthe breakfast is good, and there is a bus stop close by with regular buses that get you into town in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

When most hotels in Gothenburg cost over 1000SEK/night, the Euroway delivers good value for the price. In fact, I'd argue that the standard at Euroway was comparable to that of the Scandic Backadal, just across the freeway.
One has to take the hotel with a grain of salt. The front desk is not 24hrs, yet they solved this with a night check in box where keys can be retrieved using a code. The breakfast is not as vast as one might find at a fancier hotel, but they still had a good spread of cereals, breads, and warm items.
My room cost 650Sek/night. The room was tidy, had a "fresh" bathroom and there was a strong Wifi signal. The TV was also customized to the hotel (welcome channel) and featured standard Swedish channels, BBC world news and, to my surprise, Viasat Sport.
It may not be the most stylish hotel, but for the price, it certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Euroway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euroway Hotel

Address: Stigs Center 2D | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 46 , Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Euroway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel! We are situated 10 minutes from city centre with car or bus. There are several restaurants we can recommend in the area. We have 40 rooms from single up to 5-bed family rooms, with shower/WC, TV and a desk if you have some work to do.Breakfast buffet, wireless internet and parking in garage is included in the roomprice. (Don't leave luggage in the car. The hotel don't guarantee the safety.)For guests thar are arriving after the Front desk is closed we have keyboxes. They are situated at the second floor behind the stairs. Code to the box can you get if you use the entry phone at the boxes or call the hotel in advance. Frontdesk openinghours:Monday - Wednesday -6.00 PMThursday - Friday -4.30 PMSaturday -2.00 PMSunday & Holidays -NoonWelcome with your booking!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Euroway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euroway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.