We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell Barken Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotell Barken Viking to your Saves list
Hotell Barken Viking
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lilla Bommens Torg 10, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
sweden
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Charmingly different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Took my family with me on a business trip to Gothenburg. Thought the kids would like sleeping on a ship. Kids loved it, and so did I. Good service, nice rooms. Okay breakfast. And great location. I have stayed here several times before, and I like it because it is a little different (yet same good service) from other regular hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
65
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I traveled to Sweden with a good friend of mine, and because of the uniqueness and history of the Barken Viking, we decided to splurge and stay on the ship for our last night in Sweden. It was one of the best decisions I made on this trip and was a great way to end a great vacation. The staff was very helpful and courteous, the room was very clean and comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was exemplary. I felt the cost of the room was well worth it, and very reasonable for the accommodations. If I am lucky enough to make it back to Sweden, I am definitely staying on the Barken Viking again— it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Milton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Different type of hotel to stay in, thoroughly enjoyable with very helpful reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Beautiful tall-ship, recently refurbished, lovely reception!

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was planning a trip for me and my four year old to Göteborg and my husband told me about an old ship that was converted into a hotel there. This type of thing is right up my alley and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we walked into the lobby, the charm of the place just made me giddy. Apparently the hotel was last renovated in 2008 and they really did a marvelous job. The rooms are small but very cosy, clean, well-appointed--wood paneled walls and nautical colors--just so adorable. The only complaint I would have is that the walls facing the hallway seem pretty thin so you can hear children running down the corridor at 8:30 in the morning. Other than that it was very quiet and peaceful sleeping at night. The breakfast is wonderful and the restaurant upstairs was very good--we ate dinner there our first night. The location is great, just a block away from Nordstan and a 10 minute tram ride from Liseberg/Universeum. If you appreciate kitsch with lots of charm, you will like this hotel. I would love to stay there again some day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This Ship Hotel is fabulous. The rooms are very cool and although small with the bunk beds rolled down, it just keeps adding to the charm of the ship.
On the top deck, there is a Bar with outside tables and a marquee....it was great to sit and watch other older and newer ships sailing in and out whilst having a drink in the baking sun.
The restaurant has great set menus and the breakfast is full of choice.
I would definately recommend this to anyone...and please do not be put off by the shared facilties. these are very very clean and are just opposite your door, They also give you all towels and fluffy dressing gowns too!
Families would love this as the loaction couldn't be better, and couples would love the romantic feel of the Ship and Harbour of an evening.
Go and enjoy!

  • Liked — The fact it is a ship!
  • Disliked — The fact that on Sundays the bar shuts at 6pm.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

I was in Gothenberg for a wedding (August 2003) and had no idea where to stay. The bride recommended this hotel due to the affordability. Turns out I would have paid triple for the experience! The staff was amazing... courteous, knowledgeable and always smiling and friendly; the continental breakfast was superb (don't know about dinner as we chanced different restaurants within 30 minutes walking distance). Given that it is a converted ship, it didn't reel and roll like a ship at all... just a slight list. The room was definately small but quiet, comfortable and restful. The bathrooms in the area I stayed were co-ed and shared (startling to this American but ample privacy indeed) and surprisingly clean. PLENTY to do and see within 30-40 minute walks (so much shopping!!). Looking for a nice, unusual place to stay for reasonable price without giving up comfort? Check it out!!

Stayed August 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: Lilla Bommens Torg 10, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell Barken Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.