We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gothenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell Liseberg Heden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotell Liseberg Heden to your Saves list
Hotell Liseberg Heden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sten Sturegatan 1, Gothenburg 411 39, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gothenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel,easy to walk to after catching airport bus into city,great restaurants to eat at nearby,close to all nearby attractions,staff very helpfully,and excellant self service breakfast
The free use of spa was an added bonus

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    81
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
30
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed for a weekend, staff were helpful but in busy times couldn't keep up with service and appeared quite stressed. Room was clean but the bathroom was a bit old fashioned, and the noise between rooms is higher than most hotels I am used to. The location is great, walking distance to Liseberg, Universeum, Avenyn and generally the city. Breakfast was nice with good choice, but staffing during this time was quite poor, lack of communication between them led to table mix ups and quick, insufficient clearing of tables. One morning, arriving half an hour before breakfast time was due to end, they said they were full and no longer accepting anyone, and to try wait on tables outside in the small courtyard area - which was woefully overcrowded and completely unstaffed. We went out to a cafe instead, bit disappointed! Probably better for families with kids in off peak times to visit Liseberg, it is a decent hotel but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Very crowded breakfast.

Not adjacent to Liseberg. Plenty of other hotels which are closer. We chose this hotel so we could get earlier entrance to Liseberg and ride the new roller coaster, but Liseberg did not open the gates to us until half an hour after they were supposed to, so this benefit was negligible. Wish we had stayed somewhere nicer instead.

Tired-looking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We had a visit with our football team. We didn't have any problems with our check-in. The people that work there are very kind and the rooms were very clean. The rooms were cleaned up every morning. Breakfast and diner were good. I recommend the pasta with salmon! ;-)

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were in the hotel in the month of August. No problem with the check in and the working stuff very kind and helpful but lazy in house keeping. We had to complain 3 times about the room not properly done. Trash out of the bathroom was not taken, the floor in the room was not even dry moped, glasses not change, and under the beds it look like a rat nest. Makes you wonder what else they did not clean or if the room was clean at all when you checked in.
I think its time for a make over. The rooms are depressing and no A/C . It is true very good located but they should take advantage of that and look around that the world is moving. For cry out load!!!! Move with it!!!!.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

No no no, this hotel has more wrongs than rights! There is plenty of other hotels in this area wich maybe not are cheaper but way better. Don't spend your money here and make the owners richer cause that will not help improving this hotel. So where should i start...well there are not enough parkingplaces and if you are lucky finding one it will cost you 150 sek per 24 h. Othervise you have to park on the bigger parking area beside the hotel to a higher cost (14 sek per h 08.00-22.00, 2sek 22-08.00) but even there you will have problems finding one. Check in: slowly and somewhat confusing, not much info. The first impression is that this is a runned down hotel that has had a quick cheap makeup. The whole building is odd and is leaning up and down making you fell that you are walking up and downhill. In the room it gets worse, made me feel even more drunk after just one beer. Lets talk about the room: extreamly bad maintained and very dirty, lots of spiderwebs around the window and also from the ceiling. The bed was pretty comfy but only 150 cm for two ppl is a scam if this is supposed to be a four star hotel. No aircirkulation, no ac, only small windows to open for fresh air. Overall the room looked very used.

Roomcleaning: what a joke! We actually met the so called cleaninglady ( in this case a young boy equiped with only a small broom) when leaving our room. He asked us if he could clean our room. Well yes and plaease remove the spiderweb around the windows- i replied. When we got back, some of the spiderwebs where actually removed, or at least brushed down on the floor but that was also the only cleaning that was made. The bed was not made, the floor not wiped, bathroom still as we left it. Remember folks that this is a four star hotell...

Gym and relax: sooooo pathetic! The relaxroom is four small sunbeds in a dark room with a dry sauna and a steam sauna and one shower. In no way did we find this relaxing. It gave us more of a feeling beeing on an old cruise ship to Poland (no offence). The so called gym consists of a multigym machine and thats pretty much it...

Breakfast: not enough places to sit, prepare to eat standing up or bring it up to your room instead. 2-3 persons from the staff are working hard signing to each other how many people are waiting for a table, yes really! You see them constantly holding upp 2,3,4,5 fingers to each other all the time! Here is a good advice: 1-2 of those could do some cleaning or maintainence instead! Back to breakfast, well pretty okey i guess, many ecological choises and many choices of bread. Only thing i could complain about is that the bacon was burned and as crispy as chips.

Finaly, if this is your final and last choice of hotell, do not, in any way, think that this is a hotel worth 4 stars. I have seen hostels rated at 2 stars wich was better in so many ways. The owners should be ashamed! This is not a good hotel, not even worth 3 stars and heavily overpriced in this condition!

And yes, free wifi, like something from the 90-s, worked so bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I booked a room through Booking.com. We are 5 persons, so we needed 5 beds and on their site they stated that Heden could accommodate 5 beds but only if the fifth was a baby crib. So I explained the situation and said that I would like the room providing that we could have a real extra bed in the special need free text.

I got the reply that they couldn’t meet my demands, so I booked another room at another hotel without thinking about it further.

But, at the evening of the day that had made the booking at Heden I got a mail: are you coming?

I called them and said that I thought that I didn’t have a booking. But both they and booking.com said that I still had it. Neither Heden nor booking.com wanted to take the cost. So now I had to pay 2000 skr as I hadn’t unbooked it!

Especially Heden would have easily been able to avoid this situation:
a) Their reply could have clearly stated that the booking is still valid despite the obvious mismatch in terms of customer demand
b) A “hi and welcome” mail prior to my visit from either booking.com or Heden could have reminded me of the situation.
c) And finally, by taking the full picture into account, the person reading the booking at Heden would have understood that it could have only been a valid booking with the extra demands fulfilled.

The thing that made me angry is that this could have been avoided easily and that the booking was during periods were Heden easily could have gotten the room booked even with short notice. Instead they took the easy way out – losing a future customer.

I have used both booking.com and Heden before, but this was probably the last time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotell Liseberg Heden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Liseberg Heden

Address: Sten Sturegatan 1, Gothenburg 411 39, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotell Liseberg Heden 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Liseberg Heden is situated in central Gothenburg close to the Swedish Exhibition Centre, the main street Avenyn and the Liseberg amusement park. The four star business and conference hotel is built around three beautiful patios with 179 rooms on two floors. We offer bright and airy rooms, flexible conference facilities and a popular organic restaurant in a personal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotell Liseberg Heden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Heden Gothenburg
Hotell Liseberg Heden Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell Liseberg Heden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.