We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of STF Stigbergsliden

STF Stigbergsliden
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added STF Stigbergsliden to your Saves list
STF Stigbergsliden
Stigbergsliden, Gothenburg 414 63, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Quiet, friendly and with an awesome backyard. The staff is very helpful, it has a great location and the installations are very good: enough toilets and washers, a kitchen per plant...
Perfect stay.

Plus, the hostel is 10 minutes walk from the nighlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
4
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

not really nice but very lovely hostel.
breakfast is possible if needed.
the downtown is 15 minutes with a tram from here.
the mood is quiet, slow.
220 V , wifi, drinking water, shower is in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hostel itself is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre, or 3-4 tram stops. The rooms themselves are rather small and not too well ventilated, although despite the fact I stayed in July, didnt get too hot. Internet is available at a cost.

The reception service was very helpful however.

Breakfast is reasonably priced and tasty, but the main issue was the small breakfast room. Also watch out, since there is an approx 4-5 hour period in the daytime where the reception is closed and you cannot check in.

Dont forget to take a lock for the lockers, when I arrived they had also sold out!

If I were to stay again, I would look for alternative hostels although if unavailable, I would consider stopping here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We went to Gothenburg to celebrate New Years Eve and staied at this cozy place. The room was a 8 bed dorm but we only inhabitat with 3 people, us 2 and one other. The layout of the hostel is quite strange as it has several wings and you need to know how to get to yours. Anyway, the location is great due to the fact that the tram and buses leave right infront of your door, supermarkets are just around the corner (check the opening times, strange too) and you can walk to a lot of places of interest (maritime museum, churches, observatorium) as well. The hostel was overall clean and most visitors, at least in our wing, have been in their late 20s up to the late 30s which made the stay quiet and enjoyable. The beds were bunks but wider than normal ones which raised the sleep quality. One problem is that the hostel doesn't offer lockers but only open shelfs to store ones stuff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I arrived at night in Helsinki.... got the place name by chance on the city map brochure... was unlucky for me as there are some roadwork going on near the hostel.. the staff directed me to the nearest tram stop possible and advise me that i need to walk a little.... hostel is located at a hilly side of town so it was a bit difficult for me to drag my heavy bag (thank god for roller bags!!!) up the hill... otherwise its very easy to reach the place. Very convenient location... near the seaside.. supermarket is just around the corner and open until late night... restaurant around the area are a bit on the expensive side so.. the Hostel kitchen was very useful for me for the next 2 nights. the busses are a bit confusing as i can't understand the language.. but trams very efficient... goes everywhere i need to go... wifi is strong... the place is very quiet at night... very good for light sleepers... rooms are a bit small but adequate...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

This hostel is a very good place to stay as a base to explore the beautiful city of Gothenburg with a regular tram service which runs practically to the door. It has several supermarkets with-in close proximity as well as a park and a nice walk down to the water.
The hostel itself was ok, the rooms were rather small but clean and were furnished with bunk beds a small table and chairs plus a sink. There is a small court yard here too which was nice to sit out in on a warm evening however to get to our room you had to travel through this which would not be too nice in heavy rain etc.
The hostel offers breakfast for around 5€ which we did not have but looked alright. There was no free parking at this hostel, with only a very small carpark next to it which chargers (but is not overly expensive).
The only other thing is if you are not a member of the IYHA you have to pay extra and you have to hire bed sheets to so it can become more expensive then you may have originally thought. Other than this it was a nice hostel with good transport links and servied it's purpose well.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to STF Stigbergsliden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Stigbergsliden

Address: Stigbergsliden, Gothenburg 414 63, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your STF Stigbergsliden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage STF Stigbergsliden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.