We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy affordable family hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vasa

Hotel Vasa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vasa to your Saves list
Hotel Vasa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viktoriagatan 6, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Cosy affordable family hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this small, modest but cosy family hotel on a work visit in Gothenburg. Clean, friendly service, and only within short distance to everywhere in the city centre. Lots of choice at breakfast, coffee/tea available in the lobby throughout the day. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room towards the street to be avoided (traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
20
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while in Gothenburg on Business. Hotel is grand- not luxurious but adequate for a pleasant stay.

Room was not huge but was clean and warm.

Breakfast was nice- a good selection of cold items and breads with a small number of hot options (sausages, bacon and eggs).

Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can recommended this hotel, because - good location, price and quality - very good, good service, friendly staff ;) Coffee, cake and Internet for free, walking distance to shopping area for me very good choice and can be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice location, good price/quality, good service, even if the room would be available at 14.00 it was not ready even at 16.00. May be a bad day. While parking two blocks away the room (not "too big" for two with luggage) was cleared. Can be recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel Vasa was a good choice for budget-oriented travelers. We we're four people in two single rooms since we found a special offer for that, and the rooms were spacious enough for two people. The hotel is a bit old but some parts have already been renovated. Half of our group stayed in the first floor with wooden floors, while the other half had a room in the third floor with a carpet floor (not so good for allergic people). Also, the rooms don't have air conditioning which might be a problem in very warm weather.

The best things about the hotel were the central location, good continental breakfast, and friendly service. We didn't realize to book a parking place beforehand, but we got help from the hotel to find a place for our car anyway. However, the hotel has some parking places so do remember to book it beforehand if you need one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wooden floors if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights whilst traveling around Scandinavia. We were supposed to be backpacking, but spent a little bit more money to spend four nights in a nice-ish hotel. We weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is, as noted in other reviews, old, but that did not detract from the services available. The rooms are spacious, with flat screen tvs. The bathroom, although old, had a functioning shower, and towels, hand towels and a bath mat were all supplied and could be changed each day. The beds were comfortable. Our own small problem was that the room heated up quickly, as we were on the fourth floor.

Breakfast was wonderful - cold cuts of meat, toast, cereal, tea, coffee, juice, buns and cake. And the best thing was that the buns, cake, tea, coffee and juice were available all day - this meant a lot to a few hungry backpackers who wanted a cup of tea of a cinnamon bun at 3pm after walking around the city!

The staff were great, and answered our numerous questions with patience. And the atmosphere of the place was good - everyone I saw looked happy the be there. The only thing I could suggest is an updated computer in the lounge area - the one I tried to use was so old I couldn't find a USB port on it. As I wanted to transfer photos from my camera to a USB stick, this rendered the computer useless. Additionally, the wireless signal in our room (402) was poor.

However, I would happily return to stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are prone to heat up in summer - remember to ask for a fan?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is pretty basic, so don't expect any luxury.
We had limited options since it was fully booked everywhere in Gothenburg so we ended up at Hotel Vasa. The service/staff at the hotel are very friendly.
The quality of the rooms are basic and slightly old, but it was clean and totally ok for 1 night!
The breakfast was quite ok all basic things were there and the hot part was scramled eggs and sausages.
Their free coffee & cokie service 24/7 was great, we could sit down in the lobby when we arrived late after a concert and have a cup and a cokie before going to bed.

The area is good and quite central, just a few minutes walk to Avenyn and the tram is just around the corner if you need to go a longer distance.

There are certainly better options in Gothenburg, but if you get a good price for one night, this hotel might be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasa

Address: Viktoriagatan 6, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasa Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.