We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new hotel in Gothenburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Poseidon to your Saves list
Hotel Poseidon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“My new hotel in Gothenburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

After spending my other trips in Gothenburg at a different hotel, we tried a new one, saving a tidy SEK 300 per room, per night. We were not disappointed at all! Hotel is near enough the centre to walk in under 15 minutes, or you can use the tram which stops around the corner and up the street.

We arrived mid-morning and one of our two rooms were ready, they let us right in, gave us the wi-fi codes, and we got to work until the second room was available (it was still not lunchtime, mind you!). Lobby was cosy with sofa and 24 hours free coffee, tea and biscuits. Also a fridge with some drinks, sandwiches and snacks for a nominal charge.

I was in room 206, my colleague in 205. The rooms share a balcony, although 206 had a window and 205 had the actual door. Room was well equipped with a double bed, two side chairs, work desk and chair, small wardrobe, and en-suite WC and large shower. Everything was very clean, and I had three excellent nights of sleep. Although the hotel was full-up, it was very quiet.

There are stairs to the reception area, and down to the breakfast room, but there is a lift to the bedroom floors. Besides the short walk to the town centre, it is less than 5 minutes walk to a major street with plenty of restaurants, including the Hard Rock Cafe. Hotel breakfast was excellent- cold continental selections of veggies, meat and cheese, as well as hot food (eggs done three ways and a meat variety, varied by day).

Front desk staff were very pleasant and accommodating. I will certainly check with Hotel Poseidon first when I am next in Gothenburg as I have not stayed anywhere nearly as nice for such an excellent value in the city before!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
24
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very helpfull people in the reception, gave us suggestion of restaurants etc . A small cosy hotel with a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Was only in Gothenburg for one night and spent most of that partying but the coffee and cake they gave me upon arrival was really cool and the free wi-fi was helpful. It's a great central location for getting around and there's a really cool four-floor club just down the road. Did the job.

Room Tip: There are single bedrooms and if you're out partying, this is all you really need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We managed to book the wrong date and came on the day we were supposed to check out. But the excellent staff at the poseidon hotel gave us the same room we had book without having to pay fore the wrong booking. The hotel is n the city center with walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at Poseidon in April for a weekend. The location is great, it's "in the middle of everything", so we were able to walk everywhere, no need to take a bus, tram or taxi. Also close enough to airport bus stop.

The hotel is situated on a smaller side street, so it was quiet there and still all restaurants, shops etc were so close when you needed them.

For it's price level the hotel would reserve four stars, but I drop my stars to three because of a little bit small and very cold bathroom. Maybe the reason for that was extremely cold April.

The room was nice and spotlessly clean, good bed, wireless free wifi worked fine all over the hotel, the service was very friendly and the good breakfast was included in the room. If I return to Göteborg, I could very wel stay at Poseidon again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Thank you for this wondafull stay.
Very central hotel, near everything, good service, fantastic.
Will recomend this hotel to all my friends.
Thank you I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Small hotel close to the city centre. Friendly reception. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable with showers. Good breakfast room. Free wi-fi,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.