We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Save Saved
You added Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vastra Hamngatan 3 | Box 11065, Gothenburg 41117, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Gothenburg
Sarpsborg, Norway
2 reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for one might in December. Nice and clean room, with a big comfortable bed. We were on the first floor, but did not have any problems with noise like others have mentioned. Breakfast was OK - a good selection of different kinds of food, but it was all very "safe" and not very exciting. Location was great - shopping areas nearby, and no problems walking to Liseberg.

The best thing about the stay was the late check out. Without any extras, everybody got to keep their rooms until 6 p.m on Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    125
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
20
71
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here in a deluxe room for a weekend trip to Gothenburg. Our room was on the first (ground) floor and I agree with what the others have said, that the room could be a bit noisy. It sounded like it was due to the bar underneath the hotel (bar has a street entrance down a few stairs, but it's more "undergrond" under the hotel). The noisy - mostly just bass from music - didn't really bother us much as we tend to get quite decent sleep after some nice dinners with wine. But if you're a light sleeper, you might want to re-consider. Other than this, the hotel was absolutely wonderful! The turn-down service includes free Cognac which is a great touch. The automatic late check-out until 6pm on Sunday was very sweet too with breakfast served until noon on Sundays. The selection of breakfast items was very good especially compared to what you usually get elsewhere in Europe. The front desk people were very friendly and we had no problem at all during our stay. We'll return here, but probably ask for a higher floor. The location is within walking distance to the main shopping area and there's also a tram stop directly outside of the hotel. It can't be any better.

Room Tip: try to avoid first/ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was staying here for a few days. All you can wih for you can find here. Friendly stuff, clean and comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast, great service.
Superb location gives you an amazing view.
Would love to come back here.
Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautifully located in the center of Gothenburg. A small room, yet with a nice spa and nearby a few good gyms.
We stayed here for 3 nights and although great area we didn't enjoy fully- due to poor sleep with above neighbors and noisy nearby lift. Our friend, also on teh 1th floor, above the bar woke up late at night with life music.
When asking for a different room we got one- which was slightly bigger as well.
The service and breakfast were absolutely great, just be prepared to use the provided earplugs.
Take a prepaid taxi to/ from the airport; saved us 50%.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the 1th floor and best not nearby the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a great hotel for visiting Gothenburg for business or leisure. The facilities are great and the city center is in walking distance. Hotel has been booked by our business partner which has the office within 5 min walking distance. Rooms are very well equipped, free internet and a good breakfast. The staff is very friendly. This will be my choice for my next visit to Gothenburg for sure

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Plaza Elite Hotel for two nights on a first visit to Gothenburg.

We arrived by train late evening and to get to the hotel by taxi it cost us about 100 SEK (when we left mid- afternoon it cost us 150 SEK).

We booked and received and Executive Deluxe room on a top floor.

The room was very spacious, separated in two by a low wall that delineated the seating and bed area. The tv was mounted on a pole so that it could be turned to face either the bed or seating area. The bathroom was very small but wonderfully equipped - great amenities (I.e., wonderful soaps, toothbrush, vanity kits, shoe polish sponge, face cloth, etc). It was very clean. The ceilings were at a slight angle as it was on the top floor, but nothing that you'd hit your head on. The view over the roof tops was very relaxing. There is construction on the street but we absolutely didn't hear anything. The only slight drawback about the room was the light beige carpet - its very clean but you worry about being the one who will dirty it! :)

The breakfast was excellent - loads of choice - great coffee.

We ate at the Bishops Arms (Swedish ? chain), a pub that is attached to the hotel and found the food quality to be good and the choice of beers to be excellent.

All the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Good customer service.

The location was good, i.e., we walked at night and felt very comfortable, but as this was our first visit and such a short stay I can't comment on whether this was the best place to sightsee from. We liked it as it suited the low key factor of this part of our trip. (It is a good place if you are looking to do some shopping.)

I can easily recommend this hotel and would absolutely return - I can't say that we had any complaints or found anything lacking - they deserve the great reviews.

Room Tip: There are two sides you can face from a room - either the street or courtyard - the courtyard actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was my second stay at this property and it's an excellent choice for those visiting Gothenburg - centrally-located, good value and extremely comfortable with friendly, efficient and helpful staff. I was in a standard (single) room and it was absolutely fine; cozy without being cramped, very comfortable bed and a small-ish but perfectly adequate shower room. I'm not sure how much of the building is original but the hotel has a lovely, inviting character - and the bar is a really relaxing spot in which to enjoy pre- or post-dinner drinks. My only criticism would be of the dining room/breakfast experience. On my first morning, it all seemed a little bit sloppy (tables not cleared and reset; no one checking what you might need etc), however, the choice and quality of the food on offer was excellent. And on the second morning, when I had an early start, breakfast didn't begun until 0730 which, for a Saturday, does seem a bit late.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Address: Vastra Hamngatan 3 | Box 11065, Gothenburg 41117, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Plaza Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.