We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff & Breakfast Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Goteborg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Goteborg City to your Saves list
ibis Styles Goteborg City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gullbergs Strandgata 15B, Gothenburg 41104, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Goteborg City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“Staff & Breakfast Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent.

Room is small due to building design, but price and service makes up for this and breakfast is included free.

Coffee could be better, bar selection is good.

Perfect for stopover or business.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    199
    85
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
158
39
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at the Ibis Styles over the New Years period 2014/15. It was my first time to Goteborg so I was unsure where to stay but since this hotel appeared close to the central train station I went ahead and booked. It's was about a 15-20 minute walk from the station (which was made a bit harder due to snow!). It isn't really that close to the center of town, so there is no convenience stores or restaurants close by. They do have a range of small snacks and drinks available for purchase at the front desk.

I really loved the quirky factor that the hotel was on a boat. It was quite relaxing looking out my window and seeing boats and water.

The room was very small but adequate as I was traveling alone. Beware if you have a large suitcase! It might be hard to fit. Everything was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen television. The bathroom was nicely renovated with modern fixtures.

Although it wasn't in the center of town, it was a nice experience. I could images families with kids would really enjoy this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water view for that real 'boat' experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful ship turned into a hotel. Rooms are small but excellent. Beds are very good, shower and bathroom are again small but more then adequate. Choice of the restaurant is not very large but what they serve is good. 20 minutes walk from central station and about 2.0 km's from the main center. Staff is friendly and service is great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silesia Province, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really nice hotel for a reasonable price. The rooms inside are just regular 3-star hotel rooms, but it's a boat, which makes it great.
The breakfast was ok.
The location was very good, close to the central station and Lilla Bommen.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This hotel was a pleasant hotel set on the water at Gothenburg. We booked this for a pre Christmas break and we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is clean and modern in looks and the public areas are all furnished and maintained to a high standard. As other reviewers have said, it is a short walk to the city but we found it to be a safe and pleasant walk. As travellers we basically leave the hotel in the morning and don't go back until nightfall so for us it wasn't a problem but if you like to pop in and out of your hotel through the day it's probably less suitable. Staff were always friendly and courteous and we always felt happy to approach them.

The room was small, there are no two ways about it, but it was designed as effectively as it could be with the space available. We travel pretty light but if we had lots of luggage this may have been more of an issue. Before going my reservations were that the hotel would be cold because of its position but I can honestly say that I never felt cold even though we were there in December. The free tea and coffee all day was a nice touch.

Breakfast comprised of cereal, fruit, pastries, juice and a small range of cooked items. There was also the more Swedish items such as crisp-breads and a waffle maker. We found that timing for breakfast was a key point as the area was quite small, we tried to avoid the peak times and we always got table.

All in all we had a good stay and no complaints. For our 4 night break it was nice, if you're going for longer the small rooms may be a problem but the price we paid was very good value and we would have paid much more for a luxury hotel right in the centre. If you want a nice, clean and modern hotel for a reasonable cost you won't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, Manager at ibis Styles Goteborg City, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Dear grannysquaresgirl

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Ibis Styles Göteborg City.
We really appreciate your excellent feedback. We are passionate about exceeding our guests
expectations and we are delighted to hear that you were well taken care of our colleagues.
We hope that you will have us in mind when you make your next hotel reservation in Göteborg.

Best regards

Asli Uygur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The location is just a gentle 10 minute walk to Grand central station and the bust station. The boat is in a beautiful location on the river next to the Lipstick building. The staff were very friendly and we left our bags at the hotel as we had a late flight. Breakfast is plentiful, hot and cold and there is tea and cold drinks all day. The rooms are very comfortable and more than ample space if you are just going away for a weekend. The city is wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, Manager at ibis Styles Goteborg City, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear caspermollie

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I also want to thank you for positive comments of our unique design, location, the quality of our breakfast and rooms. I hope that you will have us in mind for you r next trip to Göteborg.

Best Regards

Asli Uygur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Goteborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Goteborg City

Address: Gullbergs Strandgata 15B, Gothenburg 41104, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Goteborg City)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Goteborg City 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Göteborg City is a floating hotel located at the seaside 2 km from city, close to a metro and railway station, the Convention Centre and the Svenska Massan Exhibition Centre. The hotel got completely renovated 2012 and offers 120 rooms with free WiFi and 3 meeting rooms. A restaurant, a bar and pay parking are at your disposal. In Göteborg you will find the Opera House, an amusement park (Liseberg, and the biggest shopping centre of Scandinavia (150 shops). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your ibis Styles Goteborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Goteborg City Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Goteborg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Goteborg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.