We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit if you are interested in cars and Volvos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volvo Museum

Volvo Museum
| Arendal, Gothenburg 405 08, Sweden
+46 31(0)66 48 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 88 things to do in Gothenburg
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit if you are interested in cars and Volvos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Well hidden in the Arendal area far out from the city center is this hidden little gem. However, if you are interested in cars and Volvos specifically (and have a car to get there...) this is a well managed museum. All of the Volvo history in one place together with a many of the concept cars. Very good indeed and i would have given it a 5 star rating, if it would have been easier to get to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    93
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our cruise ship docked a couple of hours early and the museum was right across the street. We hadn't planned to visit, but had the time and it was right there. It was a pleasant surprise. There were cars and trucks from the past as well as concept cars for the future. All well displayed. Museum staff were very friendly and very willing to answer questions or just chat about Volvo. It was interesting, accessible, inexpensive, and self guided, so open ended as to time spent. There were a variety of Volvo logoed clothing and other products for sale.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great museum for Volvo lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The exhibits are well done, from early Volvos to concept cars and trucks. Our 82 DL and 97 T5 were there. We hope to return after buying a replacement for our 2013 S60 that is now crossing the Atlantic - maybe in 2030.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very well put together museum with all sorts of interesting vehicles including Heavy Trucks, Cars, Earthmoving equipment & Aircraft. Has some areas where people can interact which is fun.
A credit to the Volvo group & the city of Gothenberg, the home of Volvo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Just not my thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While well laid out and informative, a museum of cars just isn't my thing. We stopped. By as it was free and we had an hour or so to kill before lunch. Not sure I'd have done so otherwise.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volvo Museum also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Volvo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volvo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.