We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Backadal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Backadal to your Saves list
Scandic Backadal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Poland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location of the hotel is I'd say - average. Hotel is located a bit in the suburbs, next to the main road. If you have a car it's great. Otherwise it's not bad either, as you can reach the town center very easily using the public transportation. The room was pretty spacious, very nice and comfortable, however - there was kind of a blackboard on one of the walls. I don't understand a reason, as the room wasn't big enough to lead a presentation or something like that. :) Breakfast was very good. Staff kind and helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    54
    6
    8
See reviews for
53
13
2
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stay here frequently for business and am always impressed by the friendliness of the staff (even the housekeeping!). The daily dinner buffet offers a good meal for a very reasonable price. Nothing fancy, just a nice plate of food after a hard day's work. Breakfast buffet is nice and varied. The regular rooms are a bit outdated though... Very classy in the nineties, but not really up to standard today. Furniture looks a bit worn out, but is clean and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Good breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable rooms and good service. Clean and near a bus stop with a journey of 15 minutes to the centre of town. A bit expensive though, considering it is not in the centre.

Room Tip: Our room was beside a service elevator, which was quite noisy. Best to ask for a room that is not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have been here two times with children. It is an average standard hotel with affordable prices. Children recieve a small gift when you check in. A playroom with playstation and a drawingtable in the lobby was fun for the kids.It`s easy to find this hotel and it`s just ten minutes from the city center. A bit dull and old room, but with good beds. Excellent breakfast with healthy, organic choices as well as bacon, pancakes and danish... The service was good, the room clean and the pool small but nice. Very low standard dressing room but the poolroom was ok. We had a view over the highway, not very exciting, but no noise either, it was quiet in the room at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montceau les Mines, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

A very good stay in this hotel; very warm welcome, very nice attention in the room in this Christmas period with special drinks, chocolate and cakes.
A good quality restaurant with a nice buffet for diner at a raisonnable price.
Breakfast was somptuous, large choice, good quality and pleasant.
Swimming pool is also interesting even if smal when 5 swimmers inside!
Next time in Göteborg sur I will stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Visited Sweden from Norway by car with two small kids (4/6). We chose this hotel because it was the cheapest, despite the distance from the city center. The location turned out to be no drawback. Access from the highway was super easy, and parking was without problem and without cost. We could even see our car from the window in 4th floor. For budget eating and shopping, the hotel is next to a Statoil, 5 minutes walk from a shopping centre, and 5 minutes drive from IKEA :-) Just outside the hotel there is a bus stop for the local bus, which by transfer connects you to the main bus and tram network. However, I would recommend you instead walk up to the highway, where the express runs, for faster access downtown. The hotel serves a rich breakfast, impressive. On the ground floor there is a large and clean swimming pool, with equipment for the kids available. The room, standard family category, was equipped with four full size beds, fully sufficient for our needs. I hope we can go back to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a good hotel if you're ok about not being smack in the centre of the city. Once you understand the bus system then it's fine.

It's not the best setting, you overlook an out of town shopping centre - and below is a all-night petrol station. But the rooms are ok, the bathrooms are nice and it's clean. The best thing about it is the fantastic breakfast buffet - and take good advantage of it too! When you see the prices you have to pay for everything then you'll understand why. We probably ate far too much for breakfast but found it could last us through to evening, with possibly a snack midday.

Getting There
Once you arrive at the airport - Landvetter in our case, you need to get the Airport bus. You can't pay by cash on there. You need to get a ticket or pay by credit card with the driver. It's 80 SEK single into the city and you'll get off at the end of the line at Central Station. You then need to cross the road - you'll see a big 5 on the side of a shopping centre - walk through and when you see an Information Desk - walk forward and buy a bus ticket from the Pressbryn (I think that's how you spell it) it's a newsagents. Then go back to the Information Desk and turn left to the outside. You will see two bus stops with shelters - then go further down and you'll see two benches - this is where you'll wait to get the Gron Express - this is the bus you'll need to get to the stop for the hotel - you need Backadalsmotet. It's out of town - but when you sort this out you'll be able to get around. It took us a while as the hotel website says the bus goes from Central Stations - it doesn't!!!!

The hotel itself is clean, the staff seem quite pleasant and it's quite modern. The corridors have seen some wear but I think it was well worth what we paid.

Gothenburg itself was a nice city, very clean and the people very helpful and chatty.

We managed to find the only pub in Gothenburg - next to the big market hall. 7 ans I think it was called. It's not the best place if you're a veggie - although there are a couple of good places in Haga if you're down at that end of the city.

I'd recommend this place - certainly if you've got a car, but for me I'd want to be in the centre if I went back.

Room Tip: We didn't need to have the windows open as it wasn't too hot - but if it's hot and you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Backadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Backadal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.