We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Opalen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Opalen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
1 review
“Not so good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hard bed, didn't get much sleep. Toilets and bathrooms need a upgrade. At least helpful and nice personal. Parking garage was extremely small and hard to park. If you have a big car don't park there..

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpalenGuestRelations, Hotelmanager Scandic Opalen at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Mogs90,

Thank you so much for your honset feedback! I´m glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and were serviceminded. If you were to come back to our hotel I just want you to know that we have some parkingspaces outside of the hotel that have better acces when driving a larger car.

I wish you a nice day and thank you again for taking the time to give us a review.

Kind regards Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    123
    76
    29
    19
See reviews for
58
59
12
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Location is excellent when you want to visit Gothenburg. Just around the corner is the main street where you can find all resturants (even Opalen restaurant is the best what I know @ Scandic hotels, ala Carte list is enough large, quality of the food excellent and friendly staff). Nice hotel, vey good breakfast (better than other Scandic hotels). Very big garage if you come here by car. Hotel is the Scandic hotel where I am coming time after time, year after year. Why change the hotel in Gothenburg if you like it?

Room Tip: Take a Superior room against standart, and ask the room from 13th floor, excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Nice enough hotel. Company apparantly booked me in here, when I checked in they didn't have a booking but did ll they could to get me a room and take care of things. Rooms ar the usual minimalist Scandinavian which is fine. Safe and a kettle in room that I had. Large single bed. Very comfortable and quiet.

Ate in the hotel restaurant and chose the burger. Wow. Must be made there. Fantastic, juicy and lots of it.

Room Tip: I had a view right up the street of the stadium...great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Good location where you can walk to lots of sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The extensive breakfast buffet was included and had a lot of items. Rooms were clean and nice. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

When we travel in Scandinavia, we always stay at a Scandic hotel because we know that they offer a good quality for the money. They also have quite good handicap rooms, although it is some times difficult to wash your hands when you are in a wheelchair.

Scandic got quite a few hotels in Gothenburg and Opalen is one of the most central, located in the city centre. It's a nice hotel which offers all comfort you might desire.


Visited July 12 2014

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The hotell has a very good location. Near to shopping restaurants and If you would like to se a hockey game or visit Liseberg.
We stayed in a room on the 12 floor. The view was excellent. The whole wall was made of glass. We could se the whole city.
The bed was very good. And the best it was a king size bed. Not two single beds put together.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I clome back here every August! Good serviceminded staff that always do their best, good rooms (a bit small) with very comfy beds and I love the breakfast! They even have pancakes! So Great! :)..........

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Opalen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.