We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Opalen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Opalen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Paid around £30 a night or 300SEK bed and breakfast. Room was clean and had everything you would need.

Breakfast was great and had a large selction from fresh fruit, bread and cooked breakfast.

There is also a jacuzzi and sauna.

Very good standard for what we paid, would highly recommend, great location also.

  • Liked — Standard based on price we paid and location
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    77
    29
    19
See reviews for
58
60
12
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June.

For starters, the location is good. It really depends on whats the exact reason for your visit to Gothenburg. If its shopping you've come for, its not the best place as the main shopping area - Nordstan - is quite a walking distance and needs to be covered via tram which is expensive. If you are in Gothenburg for the amusement parks and with family, its a great location. Atleast the avenyn is within walking distance, so is a park.

The hotel room we got was done very stylishly, but was EXTREMELY small. It got difficult to open our bags at times. It had a nice flat screen tv and good view from the 9th floor.

The breakfast was good but the service was very bad. We had to sit on tables where the used plates were not picked for a long time. Also, the spread was not that good as some of the other Scandic hotels. It got crowded with people.

A special mention of the reception staff who were extremely cordial and very helpful. They were ready to help with any query with detailed explanation. They also helped us arrange a taxi at 3 am in the morning for the airport.

Over all a good hotel for family, but not the best if shopping is your motive

  • Liked — Very helpful front desk
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Unfortunately the service at this hotel has been getting worse for each of our visits the last couple of weeks, which is really sad.

At our latest (last?) stay, we couldn't find a space to sit down and have our breakfast although the restaurant was almost empty, just because nobody had emptied or cleaned the tables after the previous guests. The different rooms we have had, have been very dirty. The hotel have a nice and modern gym, but unfortunately the jacuzzi was closed due to technical problems. There is a sauna and solarium though.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Stayed at this for one and a halfe mounth while working with the musical "Mamma Mia!" at Scandinavium. They seems to renovait the hotel but I got sort of a old room. It was small but quite nice altough. The location for me was perfect, 5 minutes walk to Scandinavium and not far to shoppingstreets.
The room was kept kleen and the view from my room was very nice. A big breakfast was served, didn´t miss anything.
The staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — The location was perfect for me
  • Disliked — The pool was cloces almost all my stay
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights on a long weekend in Gothenburg and the hotel was great. I was a little worried about how small the room would be for the 2 of us, as I booked the single room with spare fold-down wall bed (being on a budget). The room was a little cramped with the 2 of us but it was fine for sleeping in and I couldn't complain.

We found the hotel easily, the airport shuttle bus drops you at a big intersection about 10min walk from the hotel and we just walked up a long avenue to reach the hotel.

The hotel facilities are excellent, the buffet breakfast is simply the best I've ever had and has literally everything you can think of to suit everyone. We made use of the hot tub and sauna every night to relax after a long day sightseeing, and everything was nice and clean.

The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were most helpful. After we checked out, we realised we had left one bag in our room so we went back to the hotel and they'd put the bag in their lost luggage room with our room number on. The location is also excellent, it's a 15min walk to the city centre but there's also a tram stop right outside if you're feeling lazy. There's a McDonalds about 3min walk away (the only place we could afford to eat for the 3 days unfortunately!)

All in all, it was excellent value considering how expensive Scandinavia is and we would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to future visitors.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I stayed only one night at the Scandic Opalen.
The room was small but well furnished, wireless internet was very efficient so was the staff.
The restaurant is very good, I had dinner there and the set menu is very good value for money. Breakfast buffet is great as well with a wide selection of international and local delicacies.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Me and the Mrs stayed in the Presidential Suite for our wedding night, outdated and worned room (dark wood and green leather, reminded my of 80ths executive office, lol), separate dining room, meeting room, not so big bathroom, although jacuzzi but no separate shower.

Called the hotel to let them know that I booked for a wedding night, received complementary late checkout (4 pm.). Hotel Manager arranged for fruit basket with a good wish card and a lot of sparkling wine (probably my Elite HHonors status helped a bit). Also an arrangement from one of our friends with strawberries and champagne.

Check in at 11:30 pm was easy, was greeted at the door: -"Welcome Mr & mrs Erikderek", handed over my CC and HHonors card to the clerk and was set to go.

We decide not to eat breakfast in the suite but instead visited the buffét for breakfast at 10 am, not crowed at all.

Overall, as the topic says, average and blend experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Opalen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.