We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - a bit worn out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Opalen

Save Saved
You added Scandic Hotel Opalen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 65 hotels in Gothenburg
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel - a bit worn out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When we came, the room was not ready. OK that can happen, we were a bit early, so that was really not a problem. The receptionist said we could come back in an hour, and it would be ready. We left our luggage, went out for some sightseeing, came back after three hours, the room was not ready yet. We waited for another ten minutes before it was done. We were three in the room, there were only one towel and one bathrobe. There was no phone number to the reception in the room, so I had to google the hotel and call in from my cell phone and ask for more towels and bathrobes. They fixed it immediately.

The spa area was a jacuzzi only. There was no possibility to lock the lockers (you had to have money with you, which I did not). Anyway, the stuff was still there when I was back.

The beds in the hotel were one of the better I had slept in. Very good.

The room was clean, but there were stains on the furniture. Not that it was badly cleaned, just stains that were not possible to remove. It still gives the room a more shaggy look. This should be easy to fix.

Room Tip: The panorama rooms at the top are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at Scandic Opalen. I am very sorry to hear that you had to wait for so long before receiving your room and of course there should be enough towels and robes for all people that are staying in the room. I am very sorry that we couldn't live up to the expectations you had but I am very happy to hear that you slept well.
I hope that you will come back to Gothenburg and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Have a wonderful week!
Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    99
    64
    25
    14
See reviews for
31
38
9
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelleftea, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recommended, quite close to city center and to old ullevi. Nice rooms and service.
The spa/gym is good, and personal quite ok. They were helpful when asking, but sometimes in the restaurant personnel could be quite cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our city and hotel. I am glad to hear that you received great service and found the time to enjoy our spa department. I am sorry to her that the staff in the restaurant was not forthcoming and helpful though.
I hope that you will come back to us and that we will see you again.
Have a wonderful day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is located almost opposite the Swedish Exhibition and Congress Centre in Gothenburg, which makes it a good alternative when visiting an exhibition.
The room is quite ordinary, the bathroom has damages on the floor tiles and there was a lack of towels when we arrived. The breakfast is quite poor and it seems like nobody works in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not quite live up to the expectations you had. We will certainly look over our routines and I will forward your comments to our housekeeping manager the same goes for the breakfast. I hope that you found some highlights during your stay.
I hope to see you again.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with plenty around. Lots of things to do, restaurants and shops near by. Their breakfast was decent but was a complete mad house on the weekends. And I did have one hotel worker trying to clean an area during breakfast physically pull me backwards and then push me out of her way. Just caught me a little off guard. Rooms are nice however kind of awkward floor plans. Air conditioner never did anything no matter you did with it. All in all it was a fine hotel, no big problems.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you had a good time in our beautiful city. I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience in our breakfast. I am definently going to let the breafast manager know about this so they know what to work on.

I hope to see you again and wish you a great week.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I could not have asked for better service, this was a perfect stay.
• Early morning calls from a real person, not a machine
• Special dietary needs for breakfast (I am diabetic) provided with a smile and after the first morning without me having to ask
• Cheese plate for the evening meal rather than a sweet dessert although it’s not on the menu (see above)
• Concert ticket organised and paid for
A great experience – thank you
Nigel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Nigel,

Thank you very much for your kind words and wonderful review I am so happy and overwhelmed you have truly made not only my day but my year, or even our year.
I hope to see you soon!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one weekend. The standard room was quite small with two beds (140 cm) together. The carpet in the hallway was filthy and has probably not been changed since this hotel was built some 30 years ago. The first room I got had a TV with no sound, when I called the reception about this I got a feeling that they knew about this problem. However I got another room on the same floor. The location is OK with walking distance to Liseberg, Universeum and Allen the main street of Gothenburg. The breakfast was standard Scandic breakfast with pancakes and meetballs they buy as a finished product and heat up before serving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very sorry that we couldn't live up to the expectations you had. Thank you also for your constructiv criticism, it is very important for us to get feedback so we know what we have to work on. I hope that you will come back and give Gothenburg a second chance.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was well located for seeing the central parts of Gothenburg, Liseberg, Universeum, Avenyn by taking public transports or a longer walk. We had a good view of Ullevi that is close by. The economy room was small for two people but enough for a few nights. Breakfast was good and we might stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors is newer and larger. Economy rooms is older and not located higher than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had a nice stay. I do hope that you will come back to Gothenburg and visit us again.
Have a wonderful week!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Opalen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.