We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Crown to your Saves list
Scandic Crown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polhemsplatsen 3, Gothenburg 41111, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nice and clean rooms, the beds were good and the bathroom spatious. Friendly staff.
Downside: apparently no more service in the lobby bar after 23h and the toilet did not flush well (sometimes you needed to flush twice).
No bath, only a shower.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att ni bodde hos oss när ni besökte Göteborg.

Det gläder oss att ni hade det bra och sov gott. Våra öppettider i baren varierar lite beroende på dag i veckan. Gällande badkar så finns detta på vissa rum, fråga gärna efter detta nästa gång så ordnar vi detta.

Välkomna tillbaka och trevlig sommar!

Hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    116
    104
    36
    14
See reviews for
69
58
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice hotel very central in the city. small room. very good gym and nice staff in the breakfastroom. it was a lamp missing next to the extra bed and I asked for one and it seemed complicated but finally the man in the reception made it.

a floor lamp did not work.

the telephone in the room did not work and could not be repaired during easter due to holiday,,,,,

Room Tip: did not need to use kids activities and I don't think there was any pool. but the gym was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us during your Easter Holiday.

I do appologise for all the lamps and the telephone that did not work during your stay. While staying in the room i a hotel, the telephone and lamps should be working!

Once again, I am sorry. Hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us next time you visit Gothenburg.

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellinge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The room was a superior extra. Sadly, the walls were covered in stains and missing skirting boards. The maids didn't take away our plates or empty the rubbish bin. Also, it had the smallest choice of breakfast buffet I've had at a Scandic hotel. Disappointed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to give your feed-back from your stay with us.

I sincerely appologise for the inconvenience with dirty room and trays not beeing removed, this is not the level of standard that you as a guest should get when staying with us.

Despite this, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Gothenburg.

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is well located behind the train station, the rooms are in good size but the furniture is from the 60s. The worst was the toilet paper this is definitely from the 50s or even later, can't understand why so bad quality one!! Also no safe in the room, breakfast and wifi were good.
Cleaners didn't clean the room properly...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your respons here on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry for the inconvenience some of the incidents must have caused you.

Most welcome back to us next time you visit Gothenburg.

Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

it is a good hotel, centrally located, parking garage very narrow though (and I only had a small car) breakfast buffet available and all you expect from a basic hotel. efficient, clean and well organized.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us att Scandic Crown.

We are pleased to read that your stay with us was to your statisfaction.

Most welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

close to central station as well as downtown, good breakfast,
big room and fair price, very nice staff, ready to serve at your need, you can watch soccer game when it's evening and there is big TV screen and many people watch together.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us at Scandic Crown when visiting Gothenburg.

We are looking forward to great you next time you are in Sweden.

Best regards,
Elisabeth
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was in Gothenburg for 4 nights. Within 30 mins of being in my room, I booked a room at a different hotel down the street for nights 3 and 4.
The room's furniture and bathroom was worse than my college dorm room 20 years ago. Pretty much just a particle board (with white plastic topper) desk attached along the wall.
The bathroom is a little square with a see through plexiglass wall separating the toilet from the shower area. The shower is not enclosed so water goes all over the place and you have the pleasure of having to stand on wet floor once out of the shower while tending to any other bathroom needs.
The breakfast buffet was ok.

I'd stay here if I was on a tight personal budget, but if you're traveling on business and expensing the room, or don't mind spending a little more, do yourself a favor and skip this one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Address: Polhemsplatsen 3, Gothenburg 41111, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style Hotel in central location, 100 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.