We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most stylish hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pigalle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pigalle to your Saves list
Hotel Pigalle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Hamngatan 2 | (Brunnsparken), Gothenburg 411 06, Sweden (Formerly Palace Hotell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most stylish hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our company chooses its hotels on price...not the cheapest, but never the top ones.
This was fantastic, so stylish and homely. Makes a pleasant change from the corporate chains. The bar and "deli" were a nice touch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotel Pigalle, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you!
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay.
It is obvious that more travellers should take a break from the anonymous hotel chains and indulge themselves a confortable stay at a hotell that can actually make you feel at home.

Look forward to see you soon again.

Emanuele & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
12
46
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molndal, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved it and would strongly recommend to everyone, both for business and pleasure. Good location, superb styling & a super cosy hotell lobby/bar. Not a remark to be made for us but if you are sensytive ask for a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotel Pigalle, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for you review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked what we are doing.
I hope you will visit us again soon.

For example you might consider trying our dining club, that will open in May, and let me know your valuable opinion.

Sincerely,
Emanuele & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed one night and it was a great room. Free coffee and tea.
Super close to the train station and the bus to the airport. We left early and got a breakfast package with us, great breakfast. We can really recommend this hotel.

Vi är så nöjda! Stannade en natt och åkte tidigt dagen efter. Fick med en jättebra frukostpåse med två rejäla mackor var och juice och yoghurt. Vi kan verkligen rekommendera detta hotell!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotel Pigalle, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you!

All reviews are always welcome and especially those that confirm that we are working in the right direction.

We look forward to have you at Palace hotel soon again.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Palace Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

There was still some construction going on when I visited last month, but the place is amazing. Exquisite design, helpful staff, breakfast was not very varied, but I'm sure that's due to the fact they didn't have a kitchen yet. Top notch furniture and fixtures, my room was full of old books. Just right for a city break or romantic getaway.

Room Tip: I had room 103 (small double), and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Manager at Hotel Pigalle, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you!

Your words really warmed me up.
Nice to hear that you liked our hotel although we are not finished with the renovation and not all details are as we want them to be.

Hope to have you among our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My first comment would be to clear up a confusion that this hotel apparently makes no effort to resolve. I made my booking.com reservation at the "Robinson" hotel but as I looked frantically for the hotel upon arrival the only SMALL sign hidden behind the door says "Palace" hotel. It was the same place but confusing. Maybe it's because of the renovation still in progress, as lift was still not operational and breakfast place was reached by a circuitous route through old charming spaces. That said, I was very satisfied with my room, and the staff was nice. They said they will soon restore reception area to a more logical spot downstairs. When we needed to store our luggage after checkout they were helpful and provided a locked space and then quickly helped us retrieve later on. BTW we walked with our luggage to Central station in five minutes. We liked the breakfast, my wife liked the assortment of rolls and I liked the fresh apple and orange juice.

Room Tip: If the lift is still not working when you arrive then ask for low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Maybe alittle unfair review as they were going through a massive redevelopment.
lift wasnt working, for all our luggage which we had to cart up 4 flights of stairs which are big! first room we got wasnt cleaned at all from the last guests, and when we complained didnt even get a sorry from staff. our key didnt open 2 of the shared facilities which we were told would, and if you opened the windows you got a mouthful of dust and concreted from the workers. But most of the time i had a man looking at me through my window working on the outside, which was very uncomfortable.
The one thing is this hotel is very old and is quite beautiful with all its original marble stair cases, and also thats its so close to train station and main shopping area.
i believe when renovations are down it will be a wonderful hotel, but im not sure if the price will make it to expensive for what it is and if staff will still be uncaring about there job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Almost perfect, loved the bathroom and the big soft bed, but the shake-up disturbed us a little bit, and we found a snus tin behind the curtains :D but otherwise the cleaning was great :) still loved our time there, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pigalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pigalle

Address: Sodra Hamngatan 2 | (Brunnsparken), Gothenburg 411 06, Sweden (Formerly Palace Hotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pigalle 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pigalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pigalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.