We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pigalle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pigalle to your Saves list
Hotel Pigalle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Hamngatan 2 | (Brunnsparken), Gothenburg 411 06, Sweden (Formerly Palace Hotell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

As hotel being renovated, the value was really good. Great room and breakfast at superb location. However, elevator not working and reception moved to old location. Can recommend the hotel as we paid less than 1,000 SEK for one night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
12
46
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First the good point - location ! Right in the centre of town and close to Central Station. Unfortunately thats the only good thing going for this Hotel in its current condition. It is being renovated at the moment so hopefully when its finished it will be a big improvement, because it needs to be. The room I had was noisy, small and the bathroom flooded when showering, the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, the mattress being a very thin cover over the main bed frame. Hardly slept and im just thankful I was only staying for one night. Would avoid until the work is complete !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I'd wait until summer '13 - construction noise at 7am spoiled my stay. Room was bit rough too. Upgraded parts of the hotel look lovely (including the very nice bar) so after that's finished it should be a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We didn't actually stay here but the hotel bar area is lovely. We popped in for a drink and bar meal. The food was excellent and of restaurant quality. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for and it is an expensive city for Brits

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Now, judging by the other reviews I can imagine that the rooms vary quite a bit, and I have only stayed once, and did not book the room myself as I stayed for business so can't comment on value for money or what to normally expect. The room I had anyway was very spacious, and the bathroom was a good size and clean. The hotel itself has a quite worn look, and you could tell that the room had not been updated in quite some time either, but it was definitely okay. The bathroom must have been redone recently enough though. When arriving I was taken aback by the strong smell of paint and the ceiling in the corridor leading to my room had been removed from the inside exposing all the wires and pipes which wasn't very nice. Contractors were working on the interiors and it was all quite messy.

I was given a voucher to bring down to breakfast in the morning which felt a bit odd but whatever system works... In the end I did not have time to stay for breakfast before my meeting so I can't comment on the food.

The location is very, very central. It's stuck in near the main train station, and the main shopping areas of the city centre. There are a lot of things to see, places to go and restaurants and shops. It was absolutely fine for an overnight stay for business and for a city break with some shopping and sightseeing I would imagine it to be okay too but you want to make sure you get a room with its own bathroom as I know the cheaper rooms don't have their own.

Also the central location combined with the location of my room (facing the street) meant that it was a little bit noisy with the trams literally passing every 10 minutes just outside the window.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Close to shopping and trainstation. Not the best hotel, but pricey! I could stay here again. nice staff! the room was a bit cold, and the shower was not super fresh. but over all it was a nice stay! for the money you probobly wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pigalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pigalle

Address: Sodra Hamngatan 2 | (Brunnsparken), Gothenburg 411 06, Sweden (Formerly Palace Hotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pigalle 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pigalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pigalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.