We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drottningtorget | Box 11175, Gothenburg 40425, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% discount
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night, stopping off on a train journey from Copenhagen to Oslo, so the location, right outside the main railway station was ideal.

The hotel is clearly an old building, probably as old as the station itself, standing alone in the square, surrounded by the railway station, the tram terminus and a busy road. First impressions on entering reception were that the interior is as dated as the building, and we were not wrong! The Receptionist, however, was very helpful.

We were give a room on the first floor, overlooking the tram terminus, and with a small balcony with a small table and two chairs. Rather ominously by the bed were two sets of earplugs! There is no air conditioning, so the only way to cool the room is by opening the windows or balcony doors, but this comes at a price as the noisy trams continue until midnight and start early in the morning. Wifi is available within the hotel but as soon as you move onto the balcony the signal becomes very poor.

The standalone bath is okay, but without a screen or shower curtain the bathroom floods easily when taking a shower. There are no drinks in the room but a small area in Reception where flasks of coffee and water can be found (but I don't know how hot or fresh these are, as we have a travel kettle).

The restaurant area is quite dark and dismal, with a central bar which also serves as the breakfast buffet. There is, however, an outdoor seating area overlooking the square. The buffet breakfast was fine.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to the station then this is fine, but not somewhere you would wish to be for a prolonged stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square and tram terminus are noisy, so ask for an inside room if a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
15
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely spacious hotel, of historical value. It looks rather old fashioned, but welcoming and the rooms are at half the price one would pay at the Radisson Blue across the square. Very friendly and helpful Swedish staff on reception, excellent breakfast, perfect location close to the railway station, a nice park, the harbour, canals and lots of restaurants and shopping malls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

They do an "ok" job but the old claw foot tub with only a hand-held shower wand for me was just unacceptable. A very old hotel but not as modernized as it should be. Large rooms. Great location. Staff and breakfast was fine. Pricing is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights because of its location and history. Big mistake. It was extremely expensive, but unfortunately, I did not have time to shop around and had a colleague staying there. First the positives. The hotel has lots of characters, and I was delighted by the huge room, antique furniture and persian rugs. While a bit dated, it did not bother me as the character more than made up for it. Until it was time to go to sleep. Despite being on the higher floor, the noise from the people, the trams and the street kept on going until 2 in the morning. I also think there must have been road works as the noise sounded like a pneumatic hammer. I finally fell asleep at around 2am, and got four full hours, until the traffic and noises started up again at 6am. Sound proofing windows these days is an easy task. When complaining, the manager used the excuse that the hotel is in a listed building. Absolute rubbish, proper insulation and sound proofing can be done even in listed buildings. The following night, got moved to an interior room. Much smaller, and not as nice, and in dire need of a makeover. But at least, it was quiet. Despite the lower standard of the room, no refunds or rebates. The manager says they do not differentiate between the rooms! This is not the service I would expect towards a diamond best western card holder. There are lots of hotels around this one, if you have the time, do a quick search and yourself a favour (If you want to sleep, that is).

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the inside, it will be small and dark but at least, you get some sleep as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip, looked for at hotel close by the train/bus station as I was arriving late and leaving very early for the airport. The hotel was a last minute booking, so I had no expectations but the location.

My cup of tea is the more modern, contemporary scandinavian style, but as the last reviewer wrote - the cigarette smell in the elevator - which has carpented walls - somewhat had a charm. Since I just barely checked in and out (and slept a couple of hours in between - in a comfortable bed) - I don´t have a deeper analysis to present, but my impression is that it is a bit overprised, compared to the finish here and there (and to a nearby hotel I stayed in on my way home). For instanse, the wooden floor in the room had lot of wear and tear, the TV-set was old and awfull, and when I looked at the small bathtub (sitting style, I think), I saw cracks. I got an explanation for that the following morning, as the shower is all old-style-heavy-metall, but where you attach it is definetly not - 70s-plastic-fantastic and not fitting at all. So it fell down - and I understood the cracks.

I think this hotell suits people that wants just this style, and the location by the train/bus-station. But there are other hotels whitin 1 minute walk for a better price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed in single room. Nice bathroom. Room was a bit too old-fashioned as for my liking. It is well maintained though.
In elevator still could feel smell of cigarette smoke, probably from times before smoke ban.
It is very central, close to central station as well as to shopping places.
Staff at the reception was very nice and helpful. In the lobby there are fruits and selection of coffe and teas for guests - nice touch.
Breakfast was very good in restaurant with view towards Drottning Torget - square.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here alone in late July on a puppy-viewing trip; Staff were quick, friendly and professional.

The hotel is a traditional square building with an open center, with solid, old-fashioned decor and furniture. I had a small single facing the courtyard. It was quiet; the bed was excellent, the hot water instant and consistent. The furnishings were attractive and solid - the easy chair was really comfortable, for example. The reading light gave plenty of light to read by. The bath towel were large, but rather thin and worn.

On a muggy day at the end of July the room was very stuffy, and there wasn't much air moving in the courtyard - and no air conditioning. Electric fans were available in reception, however.

The hotel is right next to the Central Train station, and very convenient to a large mall, Nordstan, and to a beautiful (free access) botanical garden with both rosarium, glass house and a lovely walk along the canal.

Don't choose this hotel if you are driving a car and have small children and their paraphenalia to manage, or lots of luggage. The hotel lists itself with "parking for a nominal fee" but the parking is in the garage of the nearest mall. It is a bit complicated to find by car from the hotel, and if you miss a turn you may be funneled on to a motorway and take an involuntary 15 minute drive. Once safely parked, it is a bit of a trek requiring a trip in a lift, a walk through part of the mall, and several streets to cross before you are back at the hotel. You are also advised to leave no valuables in the car and the glovebox open, as Gothenburg has a high rate of thefts from parked cars. On the plus side, there are a few free spaces right in front of the hotel where you can put the car while you check in; the desk personnel are happy to show you where you can leave your luggage - or let you put it in your room before you move the car - so you don't have to carry it all, and you can of course reverse the process when you check out.

Breakfast was a well-assorted scandinavian style buffet, in a rather gloomy high-ceilinged room - but you could also take your plate right out the door to cafe tables set out on the busy square.

I especially appreciated the fruit, water, tea and coffee set out in the lobby for guests to help themselves.

Room Tip: In summer, I would ask for an outside room, rather than one that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers

Address: Drottningtorget | Box 11175, Gothenburg 40425, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gothenburg
Best Western Eggers
Gothenburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Eggers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.