We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gothia Towers to your Saves list
Gothia Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Kopervik, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in the hotel two nights. The room had high standard and the bed where where nice. Went to the top floor resturant and the food there was top class and the view was amazing. The hotel staff where very frendly and the service above average.

Room Tip: Executive room towards city center recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    378
    158
    50
    23
See reviews for
169
222
46
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in room 2238 for a long weekend to see the Melodifestival heat at Scandinavium as a Valentine’s treat for my husband. I booked a Sky Room, and we were most impressed. The room had a lovely view of Liseberg, the Universeum and the swimming pool which juts out from the 19th floor in the East Tower.

Getting to the hotel from the airport was probably the easiest thing we’ve ever done – it’s the first stop (Korsvägen) and you really can’t miss the hotel on the other side of the street! We bought our bus tickets online and the bus was waiting for us outside. A lovely rainbow logo made us feel right at home!!!!

The staff at check-in were very friendly indeed and we were in our room within no time. I was delighted that my request for non-feather bedding had been sorted! The glass lift gives a lovely view of everything lit up at night, but if it’s busy, there are three other lifts just across the way. Being British, the first thing we did when we got to the room was to put the kettle on, but we were also treated to some Toblerone and free sparkling wine in the room! A wonderful touch! There were also bathrobes, slippers, an umbrella and a huge shoe horn to make our stay more comfortable!

As it was late, we had a look at the TV channels – not a huge selection and to be honest, none of the films (which are free for Sky guests) really impressed us, but it had been a long day, so we were soon asleep in a comfy bed!

The next morning, we went up one floor to the breakfast in Heaven 23, overlooking Scandinavium – it’s joined to the hotel, but there’s no way to walk through. This comprised everything you could wish for. My husband was very much at home with the muesli counter, whereas I overdosed on the smoked salmon, prawn cocktail and of course, various herring (the one in crayfish sauce was fabulous!) There was also a gluten free section, home made jam, meat, cheeses, etc…! The hot section could have been a little better, especially for my veggie husband, but we didn’t have that much room for it anyway! And for me, it was fun to have meatballs for breakfast! We didn’t try to use the waffle machine, but enjoyed watching the people trying to make it work!

Gothenburg is a wonderful city – everything was in walking distance, although we did get tired and took a tram back to the hotel at one point (we got tickets from Pressbyran at 25kr each which lasted 1h30). Before going to the Melodifestival heat, we ate at a little Thai restaurant up a little street over the road, nothing fancy, but the food was excellent and the price wasn’t that much different to what we’d pay here. Afterwards, we treated ourselves to a glass of wine at Heaven 23 for £8.50 each, which wasn’t that much different to prices elsewhere!
Avenyn is a couple of minutes walk, you simply mustn’t miss the splendour of Le Pain Français – just pop in for a coffee and you’ll see what we mean!

We would have used the spa, but at around £40 each, thought it was excessively expensive, especially as we didn't have enough time to really enjoy it. It did look busy (we could see it from our room!)

I really wish we could have stayed in Gothenburg a bit longer, hopefully we’ll go back again soon and would definitely stay at the Gothia Towers again!

Room Tip: Obviously we don't know what the regular rooms are like, but we did enjoy the perks of being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of business trips. Everything fine, from booking to check-out. Rooms are ok, been once in one of the cheapest with no view and the other time on a high floor with a great view. Never tried the restaurant or bar as preferred to get outside and choose between one of the many nice restaurants around the corner. The room was always well equipped, pillow and mattresses also very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here on business with a number of colleagues. The whole experience was fine, nothing exceptional but clean and adequate. Cost was a little high considering what it was, views were high but unspectacular (not that this is the fault of the hotel). The food was also nice but nothing to get blown away with. Conferencing facilities were good, having all the relevant electronics, space to present etc. In summary, I would come here again on business but probably wouldn't for a personal stay. Staff were always polite and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were three families with 3 kids stayed the Christmas days in this hotel and I must say that were pretty satisfied. Clean and tidy large rooms. Quiet. Nice breakfast. Spa was nice. Highlight was the open air pool on the 20th floor with the glass bottom. Indeed it was an open air pool coz it was built stretching out of the main building structure. Awesome. Sauna was nothing special.
Heaven 23 restaurant was a bit too much. Over priced for the taste it offered. My friends 4 year son ordered an ice cream the kids menu and got a plate of beautiful ice cream 'decoration'. Well presentation was excellent for an adult. Boy's first expression was 'What is this? '.
Friendly staff. Very helpful.
Overall it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I might be a tad harsh here because if you do away with the fact this is a major Conference Hotel, the rooms, layout and decor is first class but unfortunately the hotel is a major Conference Hotel and this is its undoing!
The sheer size of the hotel and people means its hard to find an intimate corner.
It also means the lifts where you wait forever and end up having to miss them because they are crowded is frustrating (and this was after 2 nights).
The breakfast was a nightmare - too many guests and impatient at that trying to get food and drink.
I spent longer getting my breakfast than eating it!

So that is the bad points out the way.
The view from the room over Lisberg is stunning. Obviously the higher the better.
The rooms are of a decent size and furnished well with Wi-Fi included and the comfort was high.
Location is good and convenient for airport with bus terminal opposite and main tram junction.

So would i recommend it?
Not if they are hosting a Conference - go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over New Years with my fiancé for a romantic getaway. While the stay was ok, the hotel is not at all what it's cracked up to be (by themselves).

The base rate is super expensive. The breakfast is included, but beyond that everything you want is an additional extra. Room higher up in the hotel? That's extra. Room not facing the building equipment. That's also extra. Access to the gym - also extra especially on the weekend. It's like using a budget airline but without the low cost.

The pricing model aside - the rooms are adequate. I think our maid had a bad day and forgot to clean the kettle, leave enough towels and remove the trash from previous guests. Another annoyance is the constant hotel ads on the tv. The room is also very noisy. All the neighbors around us can be heard and there was some kind if sporting event going on during our stay, so there were hundreds of kids running around, hitting the doors, screaming in the hallways and so on. It felt like we were staying under a gym floor. Constant loud noises and the bed was actually vibrating every time a door slammed somewhere on the floor. This is the kind of thing I would expect from a low end motel, not a hotel in this price class.

Another annoyance is the elevators. There are not enough, we waited for 15 minutes to get to the lobby during check out time. We ended up walking from the 14th floor.

The breakfast was really good and well organized though. The staff was friendly too. But I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have over 700 rooms and 4 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothia Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.