We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, with impeccable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gothia Towers to your Saves list
Gothia Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stylish, with impeccable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was in Gothenburg for a conference, taking place in the attached Gothenburg conference centre. My 13th floor room was bijou but perfectly functional and comfortable. Free WiFi was very fast, so I could keep on top of things from afar. The breakfast was included and was really excellent, with every conceivable need catered for. I had forgotten my European adaptor, but guest services lent one to me without a quibble. I sampled Incontro (Italian) and West Coast (sea-food), and received the same impeccable, friendly service. Food was very good, without being exceptional. Location is great, with plenty of shopping and dining possibilities close at hand. On my last morning, I strolled into the centre - a 15 minute walk - along wide boulevards, with elegant tall buildings (just follow the tram tracks). Everywhere, I found people to be friendly and welcoming. Gothenburg is a great place!

As other reviewers have mentioned, a third tower is being added, but once inside the hotel, you would never know any building work was afoot. I'm amazed that the hotel needs so many rooms!

If I'm in Gothenburg again for business or pleasure, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    473
    197
    61
    27
See reviews for
214
342
52
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here again on business as the airport bus stop is right outside the hotel. Took the bus from Landvetter for SEK99 (much cheaper than a taxi) & got off outside the Hotel to find the place is still a building site, however once you are inside you wouldn’t know.

The rooms are decent enough, the less you pay the lower the floor & the worse your view, although I think most are pretty much the same inside i.e. functional.

Had a drink & sandwich in Heaven 23 which was very good, this was followed by dinner in West Coast which was OK with a limited menu.

Wifi was free & service was good.

Would probably stay here again on business if the prices remain acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times recently for business trips. It is a big hotel (and getting bigger) and can feel rather impersonal because of that. Staff were friendly and helpful when needed.
Breakfast is good but on one day when there must have been something on in the conference centre it was very busy early on.
There is a great gloass elevator overlooking the amusement park, and if you have a head for heights check out the glass floor on the walkway on the 20th floor. The Heaven 23 bar is also worth a visit for views over the city. Although not so close to the main city centre, it is well located with some bars and restaurants within a short walk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Regularly stay here on business, it's a smooth operation for a very big hotel, expanding to be even bigger (not that the building works disturbed me). If you come for a convention at Svenska Mässan you can't go wrong staying here. Walking distance to Avenyn; crammed with bars, shops and culture (just watch out for the trams!). Staff very happy to give directions. Excellent amusement park Liseberg is just across the road, as well as a family friendly science museum. Airport buses to Landvetter stop pretty much outside. Pharmacy (Apoteket), good supermarket (ICA) and state run liquor store (Systembolaget) very close walking distance, again, ask the staff for directions.
Not much character to the decor, but comfortable and clean. Breakfast buffet very good, don't miss out on the liver paté. Friendly staff without being overbearing.

Room Tip: I like to stay in the West tower, floors 20+, as you get to have breakfast in the top floor restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Used once for a bisiness trip. Its not the closest to the city center but there is an easy access thru Tran number 5 that stops just in front of the hotel. It's the best in Gothembug whe it come to comfort, Don't lose the opportunity to go to the 23th floor and take a shrimp burger. It is delicious and you have an amazing 360 degree view of the city. I'd lived in Gothemburg arround 2010-2011 and use to got up there on Haven 23 just because of the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Here for a Conference meeting, for three nights.
POSITIVE: the staff makes an effort to cheer up this large, dispersed place. Breakfast and cathering were fully satisfactory. Price is reasonable considering that Gothenburg is more expensive than Swedish average. Very nice 23rd floor bar and restaurant. Definitely worth a visit.
NEGATIVE: rooms' furnitures could fit in a 3 stars of average EU standards. Large rooms facing the elevator have 2 double beds and large bathroom, with view on the Liseberg amusement park. Other double rooms are too tiny to be comfortable. They attempted making this whole place homy and comfortable by using soft lights -the result is that you can't have any strong light in your room -except the bathroom (actually quite disturbing). The price for Laundry service is outrageous (15€ for a shirt). Amenities in the bath are minimum. No hair dryer. Next room noise is an issue.
The venue for the exhibition is a positive asset. They tried to decorate several corridors with caprets and colorful furnitures, but still large part of your walks will be like in the hangar of an Airport.
CONCLUSION: come here if you have to go toa Conference, to the Stadium or to the amusement park. Otherwise there is no point of inflicting yourself this big walks place with cheap looking rooms. The blame must be on the architect, not on the staff (positive spirit was shown in all compartments)

Room Tip: Rooms facing elevators are large an with the best view. But you may hear the bell of the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lobby and restaurants could fool you, the standard romms in the West Tower have the standard and the charme of a hostel. Tiny, cheap, with a bathroom like in a hospital. You hear the music of the neighbour's TV, every step of the neighbour above (wood floors) and the entire room and bed shake when your neighbor's door slams close.
Lunch at the West Coast Restaurant was excellent though. The cod totally fresh and very tasty. This is the only reason for my 3* rating. It would have only been 2 otherwise. The breakfast restaurant has again the same feel of hostel.
I stayed for a Convetion. If I have the choice, I will not stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have over 700 rooms and 4 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothia Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.