We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gothia Towers to your Saves list
Gothia Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The location is obvious though given its size plus addition of a third tower service is not up to par.
Arriving at the hotel with a car I'd say odds are you will have trouble finding a spot even if just to drop of your car.
A bonus, as we have kids, was the breakfast restaurant which had a play corner set up. To be honest this is the only hotel in Sweden I've seen have this and it certainly helped!
A minus for poor soundproofing of walls as you could hear conversations in the hallway far too good as well as the placement of an ashtray directly in front of the main entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    373
    156
    50
    23
See reviews for
165
215
44
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montvale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our "king" room was much larger than I thought it would be. We had a spectacular view of the fairgrounds and skyline. The bathroom was large as well. The only issue is if you aren't going to air condition the rooms you MUST make the windows open more than 1/2 an inch!! Nothing in the room to move what little air there is. The room was stuffy.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. I stayed in the East tower which is still under construction, so it's very noisy with building work, and during the day, only one lift is in operation. The rooms are OK, pretty basic. I agree with other comments that this suits the business traveller more than to holiday traveller, but it will probably be nice when it's finished.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Location was key when booking this hotel since I was visting the fair. Liked the big room but I really felt that the rooms need to be refurbished. The room had a obvious 90´s look. The breakfast was a big plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hmm ... I was at a conference, and stayed five nights in this hotel. It is huge, and is getting bigger. Convenient if you are at a conference - the hall is attached to the hotel, and the business things - wi-fi, telephone connectivity, etc. - are excellent. The room was a decent size and comfortable ... but. The cleaning of the room was sporadic and not good, the food was OK, but in an hotel of this sort I do not expect scrambled egg at breakfast made from powdered egg (it was, at best, disgusting). The Heaven restaurant was expensive and very ordinary (but the wine list good), the bar on the ground floor soulless, and the other public areas VERY full of all sorts of groups - either there for a conference or visiting the theme park opposite. AND the hotel laundry charged 50% more than the advertised cost on the list in the room (it was removed when i complained, but no apology was offered). So, a mixed bag - efficient in some ways, but overall hardly an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Gothia Towers in June '13 as I was attending an event at the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre.

I booked a queen size room, and it was decent sized and had a nice view of the Liseberg amusement park. The room was clean except for the fact that the kettle still had water in it filled by the previous occupant.

The bathroom was fairly spacious and clean, but the décor looked like it was done in the 80's. The bathtub had a chip in it, and the soap dispenser case was broken. Amenities (e.g. cotton buds, sewing kit) are not supplied by default and need to be asked for.

I was most impressed by the selection of lactose and gluten free foods at breakfast. There was soy milk, oat milk, lactose free milk, lactose free yogurt, gluten free bread, gluten free muffins, gluten free biscuits, and a toaster dedicated to the gluten free bread. They also supply takeaway cups so that you can take a coffee/tea with you when you leave the breakfast area.

Although the hotel is near tram and bus stops, it is a bit outside the city centre, so I couldn't recommend staying here unless you were attending an event at the convention centre. I guess it would also be a viable choice if you were intending on spending a lot of your time at the amusement park and science centre across the road, but I don't think it's a cheap hotel to stay at.

Overall I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

When we were going to Gothemburg and asked friends for a good-priced and well-located hotel, the Gothia Towers was the one recommended by many. Located right across both Liseberg & Universeum, it was perfect for us with children. The hop-on hop-off bus stop is also right across the street, which was great for the family adults who wanted to do some sightseeing. The breakfast buffet was huge and had a large variety of food. The only minus was that the parking garage was located so far away from the hotel and no valet-parking was offered, which forced us to walk many blocks back and forth when we had to park or pick-up the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have over 700 rooms and 4 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothia Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.